We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievably disgusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bronte Park Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bronte Park
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unbelievably disgusting!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were 2 couples travelling from Hobart to Strahn and stopped here overnight in one of the cabins. the holes in the roof should have been an indication of what awaited us inside. -a grubby lounge with stuffing hanging out, a armchair without any springs left and armrests so dirty that you would not want to sit down, a badly stained old and ripped carpet,the fridge was moldy and the antic ( haha!) kitchen cupboards had grubby hand prints on them , clearly not cleaned the last 10 years. the supplied cutlery and crockery has obviously come from a rubbish bin somewhere not 2 pieces matching! Not to mention the smell hanging in the air. old curtains - just rags actually -with holes hanging off the hooks where they were supposed to hang. The bath room from the 1905 obviously did not have mixer taps, Amazingly enough there were new Sheridan towels - as if one would ever have a shower in this desolate place. the bed linen was ok too. we covered the disgusting couch with the supplied blankets before sitting down. would have left the place if it would not have been so late and the place next door booked out! absolutely grotty and revolting!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerI6557BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    21
    20
    10
    33
See reviews for
23
48
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

This one I can't recommend the room assigned to us stunk of vomit and we couldn't wait to get out of there.the meal we were served for tea was great but you share your space with heavy drinkers and being a non drinker myself I found this a turn off.we tried unsuccessfully to wake the managers to find out how to check out and where to leave the key in a safe place but had no success much to our disappointment and ended up having to drop it at the service station slash grocery store down the road much to my dislike.will give this one a big miss unless you are a big drinket and can sleep with vomit dont do it.ps.every room had been left unlocked and anyone could enter the rooms from the verandah as we found out when we were trying to find someone to help us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertspier46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bronte Park hotels

Nerang, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed in the chalet and cannot therefore comment on the cabins?
The dinner we had was very good basic food and the fire in the lounge excellent.
The rooms have paper thin walls and we had a clown that insisted in knocking / banging on it at various times during the night and morning.
Hot water in the shower just stopped mid shower. Water got really cold really quickly.
Came 0800 next morning we tried to check out but everything was locked tight. Owner or manager or what ever finally appeared bare foot and chested wearing a towelling bath robe at 0930 mumbling that they had had a big night.
Breakfast was not served that morning.
Great way to run a business - not!

Room Tip: If you are hungry - eat there. If you are tired - keep driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The cottages are rather ordinary a shack would be the best way to explain them . But the lodge ' hosts and meals were excelent . But we did have a great night in the pub lots of friendly people . The host bill took a lot of time to make sure he made his way around and have a chat with all the guests . Thats uncommon nowdays . That was very nice and made the stay worthwhile

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazza1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My husband and I arrived at Bronte Park late afternoon on a Saturday. Friendly reception/bar staff. Ensuite room, clean linen, tea, coffee, toast making area. Amazing timber-lined walls, ceiling, etc.Honest pub meals. Warm and inviting bar, with great local atmosphere. Tariffs in Tasmania vary greatly for what you may expect or receive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We found ourselfs up in the hinterland on a weekend when all the hotels where booked out, we rented a cabin at bronte park. Amazing place so peaceful. Visited bronte park village tavern for a couple of meals, and a few drinks by the fire. Great home style Aussie meals, great friendly service.. This place and sounding area is an absolute must when u visit Tasmania. True country.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZandELT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We booked the superior chalet room and it was clean and cosy. The chalet overall had a really great atmosphere due in part to the generous communal spaces, bar and restaurant. The owners were very nice, friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant twice and the chef really tried to cater for my restrictive dietary requirements. On the library shelf were magazines with interesting articles about the nearby Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park and some vintage hard cover Jane Austens. We were made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Choose the superior chalet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte Park
0.6 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
13.9 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
362 reviews
13.4 mi away
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
#1 of 1 in Derwent Bridge
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Blue Lake Lodge
Blue Lake Lodge
#2 of 2 in Miena
20 reviews
15.0 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronte Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Park Village

Property: Bronte Park Village
Address: 378 Marlborough Rd, Bronte Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bronte Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bronte Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bronte Park Village 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bronte Park Lodge has heated ensuite budget motel rooms. Bars, dining room & guest lounge all have open fireplaces. Pool tables, Dinner served 7 nights and lunch from Thursday to Sunday. Village store: Diesel/petrol and basic supplies Local attractions: Natural beauty for hiking, best fly fishing (trout) in local lakes, The Wall, Power Museum. Good stop over point between Strahan/Queenstown/Devonport and Hobart/Launceston. Located in The Central Highlands of Tasmania - approx 2hrs from either Hobart or Launceston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bronte Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronte Park Village Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing