We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Hotel Bruny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bruny
Ranked #1 of 4 Bruny Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We enjoyed a delicious meal at the Hotel Bruny. It was the perfect place to stop and warm up after a Bruny Island Cruise. There was a great menu choice with an emphasis on local seafood and produce. The seafood chowder was superb.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mewett_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have eaten several times at Hotel Bruny over the past 2 months while on the Island. Great service, friendly and welcoming. Beautiful fresh seafood. Good knowledge of gluten free requirements. The chef even whipped up some heavenly gluten free apple fritters. Thank you.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The units beside the hotel don't look like much, but inside - clean, functional and on the way to stylish! The bathroom had been renovated, but was very plain and parts
looked old. However, it was clean, and had everything you could need - including a hair dryer. Room has fridge, toaster AND a coffee plunger. We didn't bring coffee, but Dave the VERY helpful hotel manager ground some of the restaurant's beans for us free of charge. Hotel doesn't do breakfast, but you could BYO bread/basics. Otherwise some nice little cafés dot the island. We had a lovely reasonably cheap breakfast at The Hothouse Cafe (coffee not so good).
Best of all - the LOCATION!! Lying in bed looking across the D'entrecasteaux Channel, all the way to Mt Wellington.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepita_Kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the two motel rooms which are next to the hotel. It was newly decorated and nicely done, but there were a few things that could be changed to make our stay better... It was freezing and the heater didn't quite battle the poor insulation. The water in the bathroom came out white and tasted of smoke so we didn't want to drink it. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast and there isn't much on Bruny so you either have to bring your own, or get supplies from the General Store across the road. They sell individual cereal packs, but if you want toast it's a bit inconvenient to have to buy a whole loaf of bread, tub of butter etc just for one brekkie.
The owner was very welcoming and friendly and the dinner in the hotel was nice and they had a good selection of beer. It was freezing too despite the two roaring fires.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annastar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

There are two motel rooms side by side behind the bar/restaurant/bottle shop. The food at the restaurant is quite good, but pricey as to be expected. The view from the little motel suites was beautiful, the sunsets were breathtaking. It is basic accommodation... clean, nice, neat, anything you might need is there, but it is nothing fancy. In reading some other reviews, I imagine it might be a bit cold in the winter, but during our stay we were comfortable in the room and it was chilly outdoors at night. One is definitely paying for the location here and I think it is worth it.
You pick up your key at the restaurant and then you are on your own. We did not have any issues that required contact with a desk person so this was not a problem for us. We would (will) return again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed a couple of nights on a recent visit. The motel complex comprises of two rooms and the bar/restaurant/bottleshop. The location is good, and useful for touring on Bruny. The view from the room is also good across the sea. However the place could do with a good scrub and proper maintenance. The renovation appears to have been cosmetic, so the bathroom suite is ageing and in need of replacement (the shower was particularly grotty). Agree with other reviewer that it was drafty- there was no window in bathroom and the front window was broken. I did report this to the lady who checked us in on the first night however it was not dealt with. In general the staff were quite standoffish which was a shame. We ate in the bar both nights, the food was good pub grub and the portions were huge.The bar seems to be a very popular place to eat. The only downside to the bar menu was the lack of a healthy options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikingbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Only a couple of basic motel rooms but the location is perfect.
Much of the accommodation on the island may have greater style but at the same time lack the views.
We enjoyed our couple of days (probably enhanced as Lynn found the rare forty-spotted pardalote) and having the bistro in the same complex was so much easier than driving to the other side of the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruny Island
4.9 mi away
43 Degrees Bruny Island
43 Degrees Bruny Island
#1 of 2 in Adventure Bay
259 reviews
5.4 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Park
Captain Cook Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Adventure Bay
159 reviews
11.1 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Adventure Bay Retreat
Adventure Bay Retreat
#2 of 10 in Bruny Island
47 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tranquil Point Retreat
Tranquil Point Retreat
#1 of 1 in Deep Bay
11 reviews
10.6 mi away
Woodbridge Hill Hideaway
Woodbridge Hill Hideaway
#1 of 2 in Woodbridge
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bruny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bruny

Address: 3959 Main Road, Bruny Island, Tasmania 7150, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bruny Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bruny Island
Price Range: £74 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bruny 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bruny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing