We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunset Bay Escape

Modern Architecturally designed glass facade to soak up the magnificent view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern Architecturally designed glass facade to soak up the magnificent view
Relax on the rear Deck Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Modern Architecturally designed glass facade to soak up the magnificent view
Relax on the rear Deck
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Third Bedroom
Third Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bathroom
Fully Self contained Kitchen
Comfy leather recliners
Dining area
Large open plan living area
Large open plan living area
Large open plan living area
The large main deck
The large main deck
View from the main deck
Main deck
Entrance and rear deck
Glass facade overlooking Sunset Bay
Glass facade overlooking Sunset Bay
Magnificent sunset view
Try fishing from the Jetty, a short drive down the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bruny Island, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beccymays...
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we walked in and the classical music was playing to welcome us, we were blown away. The view is amazing! The house was spacious and meticulously tidy. It was five star hotel standard with gowns and slippers for everyone. The kitchen was well stocked and everything had been thought of to ensure a pleasant stay. The deck was a perfect place for afternoons chatting and drinking in the sun. The house was also conveniently located within a five minute walk to the shop[, pub and beach. There is literally nothing negative I could mention. Thanks so much Mandy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed the house and our special touches. We make every effort to make our guests comfortable and provide something special for them. Thank you for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddlerso...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Definitely a Keeper - great design, great comfort, great facilities”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our few days here. The welcome was fabulous - doors open to the view and fresh breeze, music playing, spotlessly clean and space to spread out. We loved cooking in the kitchen, sleeping in on the comfortable beds and watching the wildlife scuttle past the deck on dusk. We were given great tips on what to do and where to enjoy what the island has to offer - took the guesswork out of it.TIP: two nights is not enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the modern design
Liked least: sun on a hot day
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure welcoming your beautiful family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libster19...
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I live in Hobart but thought it would be great to bring my two interstate guests to Bruny Island for a, couple of nights. They had visited Tassie before but not Bruny Island. I began doing my research a few months prior to their arrival. I've stayed on Bruny many ti Es but never at Alonnah. Once I saw Sunset Bay Escape on the net I knew it was the place for us. It's even better than the photos on the website. We arrived on the hottest day this summer so wining and dining on the front deck with its beautiful and tranquil views was a given. We brought our own provisions but a lot of the basics are supplied. Including tea, coffee, milk, bread, butter,pasta flour and lots of oils and condiments. The general store and pub are just down the road. The general store has a very limited range. The kitchen is well equipped and toiletries are supplied in the three bathrooms. My adult daughter and her partner joined us on the second day and they too were in awe when they stepped inside the front door. My friends had the main bedroom whilst I took the other bedroom overlooking the bay. These bedrooms are at either end of the house so lots of privacy. My daughter and her partner had the other bedroom at the front of the house. The only negatives I found was that the bathroom next to my bedroom didn't have a proper vanity or any power points. What bathroom doesn't have at least one power point? Also there is plenty of heating but no cooling in the second and third bedrooms. Ceiling fans would be great. It was a very warm night on the first night and there are no insect screens. There is air con in the living and kitchen areas. Plenty of DVDS CDs an IPod dock and books and games. All in all it was a little bit of paradise. I will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
Thankyou for your wonderful review.

I apologise for not having a power point in your bathroom, we have recently done renovations to that bathroom as it prviously only had a toilet and vanity, the shower is a recent addition. During the reno the existing power point was removed as it was in a bad spot and now we are still waiting for the tradesman to return to install the new power point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen_l...
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect luxury escape with friends or family”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as 3 couples, each with a small baby, and this house was absolutely perfect for us!

With 3 large bedrooms, each with its own bathroom, there was plenty of room for us to spread out and relax. The house is beautifully designed and fitted out, with comfy sofas, music, and a full kitchen.

Mandy and Justin went out of their way to make us comfortable, and made sure that we had the best possible time in their house.

I recommend this place to any group or family wanting a luxurious place to get away from it all on Bruny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan O
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! What a find.”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us gathered at Sunset Bay Escape for our annual group get together. Getting to Bruny from Hobart airport was quick and easy. The short ferry trip across the Channel signalled the beginning of what was to be a memorable 4 night stay for all of us. The house is modern, scrupulously clean and comfy plus. It's been well designed to catch the sun in the afternoon (lovely when the weather is cool outside) and the views across the channel are to die for. The house has been cleverly put together with all the spaces integrating yet offering discreet nooks to sit and watch telly, read a book, gaze at the view or whatever. The pantry contained all those essential starters / cooking basics so often missing in renters. The pub down the road does a very good dinner too if you don't feel like cooking. The beds and the linen were high quality and superbly comfortable.
The kitchen was 'fully' equipped and contained everything you could want to cook up a storm - even a wok! Our party of six thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the house as well as many of the delights of the Island.
It's obvious Mandy pays close attention to all the little details. We needed a bit of help on our first night and after a quick text to Mandy, help arrived in minutes.
We honestly wanted for nothing during our stay and would highly recommend Sunset Bay Escape to anyone of discerning taste who relishes the good things in life. Thanks Mandy. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the house itslef
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Than you very much for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure having you stay. We look forward to your return. Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
night2853
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable easy house and convenient location”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

House was a great house to stay in for a holiday. The weather was cold but the house with the log fire was always warm to return to and the central living meant it was easy for everyone to relax and enjoy each other's company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: large windows, beautiful view, access to amenities
Liked least: Minor point but it would have been good to have more than 1 towel per person.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thankyou for your wonderful review, we are glad you had an enjoyable time. Thankyou for your suggestion about the extra towells, I will review this for future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chappyMel...
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fantastic escape”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sunset Bay escape is a wonderful, spacious and comfortable house. The views from the vast expanse of glass walls are magnificent over the bay and the sunsets wonderful. There was plenty of wood supplied for the cosy log fire, and there is split system heating/cooling as well.. There is a surprisingly well stocked pantry and a well equipped kitchen. There are lovely walks nearby and the island to explore. we also enjoyed delicious foods from the artisan producers on the island. Mostly we enjoyed the comforts of this wonderful home. Mandy and Justin are excellent hosts. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thankyou so much, we really appreciate your wonderful review. You were our very first guests since taking over the Property in May 2014 and we are glad you had such a great time. We look forward to welcoming you again one day so that you can experience some of the ongoing improvements we are making to the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing