We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“motel and restaurant overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“motel and restaurant overpriced”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Overpriced old rooms. No lifts. No offer to help. I have given this place enough chances. Seems to get enough business from corporates and govt. Should reinvest in cleaning and refurb. Restaurant is even more of an absolute rip off. Staff are pleasant enough however they felt it necessary to yell from the kitchen door, compliments about the food. This was obviously aimed at us as we had complained about the quality and price. The seafood food is out of boxes and sauces from bottles. $17 entrees are quite honestly laughable. One conselation the steak was tender and cooked as requested. The accompanying chips were out of a box. Not even house fries for $36 !!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a differnt motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snail9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    64
    41
    15
    13
See reviews for
18
54
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed here for one night my room was at the bottom across from the main street, My room had normal wear and tear which did not bother me, The checkin staff attitude could of been better, The location is great, with the Beach right across the road and had dinner at a fish and chip place across the road which I highly recommend, Then a very loud clunking noise at 4:00a.m. thought it was some truck crash and then the same noise at 5:00a.m. I had then found out by the next day that it was two freight trains going trough at different times..

I would put another star if the checkin staff attitude was friendly... Overall my stay was good just bear in mind that freight trains do go by this Place around 4 meters away on the opposite side facing this place early in the mornings..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller69692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have absolutely nothing good to say about this place or the ignorant receptionist ..

I, like the previous reviews I've just read, paid for the privilege of the upgraded 'beach front views' room that was supposed to have been updated in decor...pfft! Drab, terrible colours out of the early 80's and glowing, flickering signs outside at night and SHUNTING (I could change the spelling of shunting slightly) trains all night. NO SLEEP! I have to drive a lot and no sleep was not good. I paid $145 a night for this privilege & the woman at the desk the next morning had the audacity to ask me if I slept well & any complaints?

This place should be bull dozed....

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SassMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Burnie hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Unfortunately not. This is my 3rd stay and this time I have a room looking over the Esplanade. This comes with shunting trains that make the floor vibrate. The room has had a makeover but the bathroom is straight out of the 80's. I take the cover off the bed and see 2 long, dark, curly hairs. Not hard to guess which part of the body they once belonged to. I am not coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were "upgraded" to an Ocean View Room with balcony. We were only staying one night. The room looked great.
The first freight train pulled up outside at 3am. Not just pulled up but shunted backwards and forwards for an hour as the freight depot is just down the road. The noise level is unbelievable! No double glazed windows. It wouldn't matter if there was as the whole room shook. The train finally left. We thought we could get a few more hours sleep before checkout. Then the next train arrived at 6am!! Same thing. Honking, shunting back and forward for an hour.
No one would be able to sleep with this level of noise.

The hotel staff know that these rooms have this problem. They "upgraded" us to that room knowing full well what we were going to experience. There was no warning. In fact the receptionist said that she was putting us in that room to avoid any noise from a band in the hotel over the road. Completely deceptive behaviour in our opinion.

So what you have is staff that you cannot trust to advise you of any issues and rooms that you can't sleep in. Why would you stay at all? Find a different hotel is our recommendation.

Room Tip: Under no circumstances should you accept a room on the ocean side of this hotel. Our recommendation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramjet308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed elsewhere before staying here and wished we had of stayed here the whole time. Lovely motel. Clean, comfortable and great location. Restaurant is nice as well. The only thing was the bath in shower seemed a bit stained in a certain spot from people standing there. It wasnt too bad and wouldnt stop me staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Situated directly opposite the Burnie waterfront and on the edge of the CBD The Voyager provided a great place to spend the weekend. There is plenty to do and see (e.g. the local crafts workshop complex and the Hellyers distillary with its tasting and cafe) and other towns are within easy driving distance. Though there is a trainline in close proximity it did not take away from the enjoyment of our room with balcony. The room itself was spacious and clean and staff were friendly and helpful. The Voyager will be our place to stay on our next visit to Burnie.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacas4652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#5 of 6 in Burnie
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
142 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#4 of 6 in Burnie
49 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
2.3 mi away
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn

Property: Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
Address: 9 North Tce, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn Burnie, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing