We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Hobart
1 review
“Wonderful.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I often need to travel to the North West Coast for business and recently stayed at the Murchison Lodge. It was quite a relief to find this little gem. Beautiful setting on the Cam and very close to the beach. Very friendly and accommodating staff. The food in the restaurant is superb along with a very warm atmosphere at the bar at the end of a long day on the road. Will most definitely be back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    49
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
34
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at Murchison lodge Burnie for a couple of nights, as one of our stops travelling around Tasmania. We stayed mostly at Best Western motels as we found them to be a good budget motel chain that offered comfortable accommodation and great service.

Our stay at Murchison lodge was very welcoming, the owners were very obliging making sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable night sleep, nothing seemed to much trouble. Could not fault the service we received.The room was warm, dark, quiet and clean with a comfortable bed allowing us to get the best night sleep, just what we wanted after our day travelling. The bathroom looked as if it was recently renovated. Yes the Murchison lodge is older, but that is part of the Tasmanian charm.

Would stay there again, location is perfect for sightseeing, day trips and morning walks alongside the river and beach were relaxing.

Thank you for our stay.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

On our recent family holiday to Tassie, we used Murchison Lodge as a base to all our day trips around the area, including Cradle Mountain. It is in a lovely location next to the River, great for walks and close to shops. Its nice and quiet at night, great after a long day.
This is an older hotel that is very well maintained.
The rooms were neat and tidy, beds comfortable and the bathrooms were fresh and clean. Our rooms had good sized TV 's and a great range of DVD's to use at no expense. Free WIFI was a bonus with teenage children.
The restaurant attached to the hotel is well worth a visit, our meal was delicious.
I have stayed at Murchison Lodge more than once and have been very happy with the rooms and the service I have received each time.
This is a very friendly family run business, the owners go out of their way to make the stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
They have a great knowledge of tourist spots and also out of the way places that might be of interest. Nothing was too much trouble. Happily stay there again and recommend to our friends.
Jane B

Room Tip: For a great meal make sure you try the restaurant. If you like nature ask at reception where you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here based on these reviews.....well, we must have been given an OLD unrenovated room. Advertised as a family room, but what we got was DISGUSTING. There were only 2 beds. (Double & single) We had to move all the furniture in the room so we could get the dusty smelly squeaky trundle bed out. The room was SO small it was disgraceful, there was not even room for bedside tables, just a plank of wood nailed to the wall. The doona covers smelled, the spare blanket in the cupboard stunk and the curtains were dirty. The beds were old, sheets looked old and the table, chairs and tv were antiques (not good ones).
My poor kids stood crying in the corner when we arrived (at 10pm) because they didn't want to sleep in the cold smelly room.
We booked for 4 people but there was only 2 proper beds and 3 towels.
The only thing that was sort of true to the advertising was the bathroom renovations, although even they were very cheaply and shoddily done. Did I mention the hair on the floor and in the shower? Yuk.

BUT here's the clanger: on the envelope left for us with the keys in it (we arrived late) there was a message about the room being "tight" and after the 2nd night, we could move. SO WHY did we have to pay SO MUCH if you knew the room was too small for a family? Why book families into such a small room at all? It is clearly only big enough for 2-3. Also compared to the photos of the other rooms you have available, this room is clearly not renovated and should not be priced the same as the others.

My son has an severe allergy to dust and believe me the poor kid was medicated up to the eyeballs that night, I even had to check his breathing several times in the night. NEEDLESS to say we hightailed it outta there at 7am next morning. My kids were in the car before I was even dressed!
Shame on you ......old dusty EXPENSIVE and pathetic excuse for a motel. I've stayed in hundreds of hotels, motels and accommodations over the last 20 years and yours is just pathetic. Maybe you all need to get out more and see what family rooms in other motels look like and cost.
We were in Burnie for a funeral and you made the weekend even more horrible especially having to find new accommodation at the last minute.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, check to make sure there are enough REAL beds ( not a dog bed) and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Wow - where do I begin to respond to this review? I am disappointed that we have obviously not met your expectations, especially given the circumstances for your visit, and also that you did not bring any of your concerns to our attention before this point. I do agree that a standard motel room is small for 4 people although it is advertised on Wotif as a Standard Double with a Double & Single bed plus a roll-away. We do find a lot of families prefer to pay the $140 for 4 people in preference to the much higher rates for 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. I am sorry you were not happy with the other beds as the double is less than 12 months old and is the top of the range commercial bed available. The 32" flat screen TV is also new and the linen company we use are constantly updating their sheeting, we will, however, continue to monitor this. You mentioned that you found the room to be cold yet we had turned the heater on before 5 pm that day. While we are an older 3.5 star AAA rated Motel, we pride ourselves on our high standard of cleanliness, our good beds and our friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munno Para West
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband & I recently stayed at the Murchison Lodge in Somerset. The hospitality we received here was excellent. The motel itself is fairly old and dated but the owners were very friendly & helpful. When we checked in we were offered free WiFi, free DVD’s (recent titles too), a newspaper, we were booked into their restaurant for dinner & our continental breakfast supplies were organized for us while we were browsing the DVD titles. They had booked us into an upstairs room originally but when we said we would prefer downstairs as we had some heavy suitcases, we were immediately switched to a downstairs room. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The rooms were fresh & clean (if dated) & were very quiet and comfortable. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The stairs could be a bit difficult for some people to negotiate, especially if you need to carry up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We love that you enjoyed your stay and trust you had a safe trip home. Hope to see you again! Cindi & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel on my return from a recent business trip around Tasmania. I was looking for a quality sleep. It was my last night before flying back to the mainland. Altho the rooms are not modern, they are exceptionally clean, very well maintained, warm and provide all that you need. Because this hotel is away from the main highway, the rooms are very quiet. The televison is large flat screen and there is an extensive dvd library. The staff could not have been friendlier. Bed was firm, but I like that. The mobile internet reception was also slow. Overall a lovely place to stay. This will be my choice from now on when in Burnie area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review. The things you have mentioned such as a quiet, clean room with a good quality bed, are those we try to focus on - although we need to keep working on the internet access, sometimes great, sometime not. Looking forward to welcoming you when next in town. Cindi & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed as part of a group of about 20 people and did not hear anyone say anything bad about the hotel. We arrived late and left early so did not have time to appreciate the location but it is attractively situated next to the Cam River. The staff were welcoming and happy to meet our requests. The rooms were small but warm and comfortable, which was appreciated in mid-winter and after a 4 hour drive. The beds were fine, the plumbing worked, the lights and TV worked, and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorHooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope you can stay a little longer next time and
enjoy the local countryside. Kind regards - Cindi & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
3.6 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#5 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
3.4 mi away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#4 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Address: 9 Murchison Hwy | Somerset, Burnie, Tasmania 7322, Australia (Formerly Best Western Murchison Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, quiet location opposite a scenic tidal river. On the edge of the Tarkine wilderness, near Penguin rookeries, Makers Workshop, Hellyer whiskey distillery and the tulip farms of Table Cape. A short drive to Stanley, the Tarkine Wilderness Experience and the majestic Cradle Mountain. Only 10 minutes from the Burnie Airport. Be sure to try the fresh local cuisine in our renowned onsite 'Jetty Licensed Restaurant'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn Burnie, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing