We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, courteous & knowledgeable staff with pleasant, clean & comfortable rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have stayed here for 2 weeks & am greatly impressed with service, knowledge & helpfulness of the staff. They are friendly, respectful & courteous & helpful when needed.
Also room service has been great & unobtrusive - I have been very impressed with my stay here.
Truly value for money when you stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisomJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

This is what we aim for - thanks Alison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed one night on the top floor. Room was basic, but clean. Noise wasn't an issue at all, either from inside or outside.

Staff were friendly and helpful. There is parking out the back, but not secure in the sense it is a lock-up.

Perfect for what it is - a 3 - 3.5 star basic hotel. Would happily stay again. Rates were very reasonable (picked up s special - $125 for the night including continental brekkie and a midday check-out.

Room Tip: The higher the better, to avoid noise of traffic, pubs, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

See you soon, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we had a stay for five nights and asked for a room that is not too noisy; we got one room away from the elevator with view over the industrial part over the harbour; at first glance the hotel and the room looks ok, however this changes if you stay more than one night. The hotel has one of the oldest lift I have experienced in the last 10 years of travel over the world. The frig in the room could be from a museum for old technology. As there were regular bus groups arriving for just one night, this caused a lot of noise and movements several times during our stay. Why do these groups get rooms around people staying longer ???
On 2 nights there must been a party in the floor below us, as the noise level was quite high (however reception has been already closed, so you could even not complain). The restaurant was closed due to Christmas and for 2 nights the room was even not serviced, nobody mentioned that during check in.
Would we come back to this hotel: NO for sure not;

Room Tip: try to get one in the highest floor to avoid noise as much as possible
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank falke1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your comments & apologise you feel we did not meet your expectations. I am happy to say that our major renovations are starting in the next 2 weeks and this will include a new lift, new room appliances, new reception & café/bar which will be open everyday. We have made significant upgrades to the property since we have taken over, unfortunately this all takes time, but we are confident we will solve the problem. We do not often have tour groups as we are largely a corporate hotel, when we do we are a full hotel, however I will keep in mind your comments about not placing them near leisure guests when possible.
If you encounter a noise issue such as this in your future travels you can usually dial '9' and you will be put thru to an onsite night manager or service, I would've liked the opportunity to rectify this for you. Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is close in town if you want to go to pubs clubs restaurants good location, But be aware the mini bar i had in my room was not right the beer was half full but looked like never opened,went to management all fixed, but always look out, the restaurant downstairs i waited for 45mins for entree cold garlic prawns, then another wait for steak vegies 50mins then again it was cold very poor service especially when there was not a lot of people around in bar or meals area, definetly avoid this bar.You will get better faster service at maccas across the road and it will be hot too. car park nightmare here very few parks available best to get in early,dont come late or park and walk to motel. Overall i stayed here 2 nights tues & thurs not sure if stay here again, leave this one up to you read all the reviews. staff where helpfull and room was clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thankyou for your feed back. It is disappointing a previous guest had tampered with the mini bar, I am glad we were able to fix this quickly for you. I also apologise for your dining experience, this seems highly unusual, and we may have had a number of rooms services, however I have taken this on board. Look out for our new café/bar opening 2014 - I am confidant it will exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I would definately stay here again if I visited Burnie. I had read on previous reviews about the hotel that it could be very noisy on the weekend. As I was going to be there over a weekend I rang the Comfort Inn and explained this. I was given a room on level 4 over looking the road, which was a very quiet room.
The room was very clean and comfortable and serviced daily. Free parking and I didn't need the car whilst in Burnie as I could walk everywhere. The hotel was very easy to find when you got into Burnie, which I think is another bonus.
Helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank ratnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are working hard to minimise past noise issues and it is working. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Clean & comfortable. Being on the top floor the room was quiet. Free parking which was a bonus. Could walk everywhere. Friendly staff. The complimentary tray was restocked daily. You wont go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: A room on level 4 on the side looking over the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Brilliant Phillip, I'm very proud to read the great staff reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed for one night in August and we were really happy with our experience. Friendly staff, complimentary late checkout, very clean rooms, delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant, free parking, free wi-fi, and Velocity points for the stay.

The rooms have been refurbished since our last visit - new TV, new heating unit etc. Very comfortable. We had a room near the lift on a Saturday night so there was a bit of noise with guests coming and going, but nothing too bad.

This was our second visit to this hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Burnie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

See you again soon, keep an eye out for all of our coming changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
0.3 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
144 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#4 of 6 in Burnie
51 reviews
2.4 mi away
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Burnie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Burnie

Address: 139 Wilson St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia (Formerly Bayside Burnie)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range: £81 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Burnie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel is situated only two blocks from the city centre and is a short stroll to the beach and waterfront. Located in the heart of Burnie, the recently refurbished Hotel is the perfect base for business or pleasure. Burnie is located on the coastline of Tasmania’s central North West Coast and is an ideal base from which to explore surrounding towns and major tourist destinations. Guests can choose from 55 comfortable rooms with 3.5 star rating and lift access to all floors. All rooms are air conditioned with a private ensuite, digital TV, Foxtel channels, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, microwave’s are available on request. Free wi-fi and access to our onsite gym available for all guests. Breakfast is served daily and guests can enjoy a drink, a meal or a flutter in the Townhouse Bar, Restaurant, Lounge and Gaming room. If you are looking for Burnie accommodation and function facilities, look no further than the Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Hotel Burnie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Burnie Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing