We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak Lover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mallee Grill

Mallee Grill
Ranked #15 of 72 Restaurants in Burnie
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Steak Lover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was my second visit to the Grill. The size of the meals is good and quality and cooking of the meat is good. The Salad bar is somewhat an after thought and needs to be updated.
I tried on this visit some BBQ pork ribs that were very tender but dry. The waitress did check with me on how they were as they were a new item on the menu.
The pricing maybe a little step for some.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    16
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Great salad bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Has the pleasure of eating here with friends recently, and I was very impressed overall. The food is excellent, with a self service salad bad made for a lovely meal. I would highly recommend eating here, great steak and lovely views.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolores D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steaks that make us come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

My partner & I are regulars at the Mallee grill coming at least every 2 months sometimes more frequent for the last 2 years. Never have we had a bad experience! Being a Chef by trade am quite fussy with how I like my steak cooked (between blue & rare) I always get the eye fillet & my partner the scotch fillet and every time it has been spot on! The pork kassler is also one of our favourites! The steaks are costly but we don't mind spending money on a good meal! Keep up the good work and we will keep coming back :)

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonFromTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

always a good steak restaurant to eat in. Good ambience. Good salad buffet. Steaks well cooked with a variety of types and sizes to choose from. Staff are always great. Across the road from the water. Good place to eat in midweek when the restaurant is quiet

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Bad mistake, even read the trip advisor reviews before hand”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Where do you start?

The menu reads well however $45 for a scotch fillet with two potatoes should be the best steak in the world. How wrong it was, the meat was cooked very well which is quite funny, however the quality of the steak was dreadfull. In parts the meat was stringy and chewy and it even had a thick grisle line... Not too many scotch fillets seem to have this, especially not this 'high' quality.

The kitchen looks dirty, why open it up for people to see inside if it is not going to be clean. Bar staff by far the rudest in Tasmania, we might as well have spoken German, actually probably would have got more reaction.

The salad bar tasted like two day old chicken shop salads.

The only upside was our waiter, he must be new after reading past reviews, he was excellent, could not be more attentive and friendlier. When complained to about steak he almost had the expression of, not again.

best bet to stay clear.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Aussie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mallee Grill also viewed

Burnie, Tasmania
Burnie, Tasmania
 
Burnie, Tasmania
 

Been to Mallee Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing