We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gee I love this place!!!”
Review of Ivy on Glenelg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivy on Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gee I love this place!!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at Ivy on Glenelg again for the 2nd time this year. This time I came with my mum and sister. They also enjoyed their stay and commented on the ambiance of the place and the lovely hosts, David and Irene.
Next time Irene it will be dinner at Zeps, I promise!
Do yourself a favour, you need to experience this warm, friendly and homely B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
39
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

On a short visit to Tasmania over the ANZAC Day weekend, we three adults booked this accommodation based on Tripadvisor's notes. I also telephoned beforehand to enquire about the number of steps, as one of us has limited mobility (only two very shallow steps, easily sorted). David chatted for half an hour, discussing travel and giving helpful suggestions about our stay, where to dine and other features in the area. He arranged for a booking for dinner at Zeps (very good) and provided a range of wines we could take as BYO. We arrived in the afternoon, in time to meet David and on his recommendation, two of us visited the nearby Lake Leather store, which had a very high quality range of men's and women's items. My mother purchased shoes and a handbag for travel overseas. Because we were staying at the Ivy, Irene gave us a discount but also talked through the benefits of different shoes and bags and what was suitable. The display of gloves, wallets, hats and accessories was very stylish and Irene's recommendations were terrific. We had a very enjoyable stay, eating a big breakfast before we left and were sorry only that we couldn't spend longer before returning to Sydney. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Lucky for us we couldn't find any accommodation on the east coast but there was a cancellation at Ivy on Glenelg for the night we needed. What a gem of a place - everything we could have wanted. Local produce was provided for breakfast, muffins were left for us and local wines were available for purchase. Every appliance you could want was available as well as books on the local area and its history. A beautiful historical cottage in a wonderfully historic town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joybells59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Ivy on Glenelg in October with friends. We stayed in the Turnbull Suite and it was simply divine. The attention to detail was amazing. Everything had been thought of. We felt like royalty! We had the best nights sleep in along time and will certainly be going back and recommending it to all of our friends. David and Irene were two of the most loveliest, genuine, caring people you could meet. True perfection!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffy0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I have stayed here regularly now for some years, this is coming up as my seventh year. I discovered it first as it was convenient to a work commitment I had but since then I have stayed not just on business trips but also for personal relaxation, it is my favourite TAS B & B.
I stay in Dry Cottage and it is truly a delight. Everything one requires is immaculately clean and available even to DVDs Irene think I might enjoy following previous conversations about shows viewed!
The provision of breakfast and the little extras are always plentiful, beautifully presented and extremely tasty. The eggs home produced, the jam home made, the nibbles and extras most likely also. David & Irene always greet me with warmth and go out of their way to ensure that I am comfortable and well looked after. They are delightful hosts who genuinely care and want their guests to enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassie-ite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My friends and I have visited Tasmania at least 6 times. In the beginning we would pretty much "wing It" re accomodation. Now its Ivy on Glenelg as our home in Tassie,
Each time Irene and David have done something different to make the stay just that extra bit special. Bedding, appliances, furniture.. all in keeping within a beautiful heritage setting and maintaining an air of luxury and simplicity at the same time. Fantastic ambience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This would have to be the fifth time that my friends and I have stayed here. mainly staying in the Doctors Wing. Like a good wine, it just keeps getting better and better. On each stay I have found that Irene and David have made subtle improvements so that their guests feel so welcome and feel right at home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Campbell Town or surrounding areas as I have truly found my home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell Town
7.4 mi away
Man O' Ross Hotel
Man O' Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ross Motel
Ross Motel
#1 of 3 in Ross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lake Leake Inn
Lake Leake Inn
#2 of 5 in Campbell Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
0.0 mi away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy on Glenelg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy on Glenelg

Property: Ivy on Glenelg
Address: 9 Glenelg St, Campbell Town, Tasmania 7210, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Campbell Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Campbell Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy on Glenelg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doctors Wing, sleeping up to six people with two bedrooms, (2 Queen Beds, 2 Singles), full kitchen, sitting/TV room with 94cm flat screen LCD TV, (2nd bedroom has its own TV), wood and electric heating, and private bathroom with heated towel rails. The second (Dry Cottage), comprising of Bed/Sitting room (Queen Bed), full kitchen, electric heating and en-suite bathroom with heated towel rails with disabled facilities. The third (The Turnbull Suite), consisting of Bed/Sitting room (Queen Bed),electric heating and private bathroom with heated towel rails, all areas having access to large, sun drenched courtyards. The in-house room (Tuscan Room) features Queen Bed, flat screen TV, DVD, CD player, wonderful breakfast room with Wood Heater and private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ivy on Glenelg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing