We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe needs a shake up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake St Clair Lodge
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cafe needs a shake up!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Pausing at Lake St Claire for a coffee we recalled that 10 years earlier we had enjoyed our time there. This time however, despite many cars in the car park and lots of walkers, the cafe was nearly empty. We found the food display cabinets practically empty; not a cake to be seen and when we ordered our drinks we waited for a long time for no apparent reason. When they finally arrived, despite messy presentation, they were of reasonable standard. This place has the location and the audience to do extremely well but it is obviously lacking the management required.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerod32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are not in a position to determine the authenticity of this review, but we do find ourselves scratching our heads in relation to it.

People travel to Lake St Clair to walk in the national park, therefore, dependent on the time of day that you visited, it is not unusual for the carpark to be full as people go about their days activities. The carpark is also used by people storing their cars for return from the Overland Track.

As to the cafe and its stock. All display cabinets, shelves and fridges are restocked on a daily basis. Cakes, sandwiches etc are available, but are ordered at the register from the menu, and then served to the guest at their table.

It is unfortunate that you did not find the presentation of the drinks to your liking. Perhaps you can send us an email directly with suggestions on how this can be improved so that we can take it on-board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    95
    53
    49
    60
See reviews for
57
181
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We we driving back from the west coast and decided to stop at the lake st clair cafe/restaurant for lunch. On arrival the room was full of smoke. The door to the fire was open. Not sure what this was about? There was a line of about four waiting to order. We stood in line, waiting, waiting waiting. The staff seemed to take an order, go and make it and come back! After waiting 20 minutes or so, we made it to the front of the line. Ordered a soup from the menu... "sorry thats not available today".... ordered another item "sorry thats not available today"... We were about to order the $17 burger and $5 orange juice x four but then decided that this place didnt need our business. Service - terrible, ambiance - terrible, value - terrible. This place should be a goldmine. What a disappointment. We headed back up the road to the something wombat cafe and we all had magnificent burgers for about $12.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

We are genuinely surprised by the comment that you have posted, particularly because the account put forward does not reflect facts. We do not understand the motivation for this misinformation, but we would like to correct this account in a number of aspects:

a) at no time is the cafe / restaurant area full of smoke. The middle fireplace is always secure, unless it is being lit. Both of these fireplaces produce a very small volume of smoke on lighting, which quickly dissipates.

b) during the easter period (including public holidays) there was a minimum of four waiting staff on in the cafe during the period concerned. One took orders, one made coffees, one ran food to customers and one cleared tables and looked after the bar. These were in addition to the two receptionists at front desk. At no point in time was an order taken, made and then the next customer served.

We do recall the service provided and note that when you entered the building, you went straight to the POS counter and were served. There was not a cue in place at that time. You did request the chicken noodle soup, but unfortunately we had already gone through all of those servings for the day, however other soups were available. We have no record of you seeking anything further from the menu. We are proud to advise that we make all items such as soup fresh daily. The consequence of this is that once an item has been run out, it is no longer available.

As with all cafes and restaurants, our pricing is based on costs for production and quality of the meal.

We are however glad that you did manage to find a meal to suit your budget and tastes in the local community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We loved our stay at Lake St Clair lodge over the Easter weekend. Though it was absolutely freezing in the cottage when we arrived (perhaps worth turning on the heater a little while before the guests arrive?), we were pleasantly surprised to find cozy warm beds upstairs and a lovely warm shower with brilliant water pressure. The Molton Brown shampoo and conditioner were a lovely touch. The setting is just amazing and it was quiet and cozy in the cottage. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There appear to be newer cottages and older cottages. We were staying in one of the older cottages b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madelineyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Sincere thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad that you found our offerings to your liking and have passed on the feedback to housekeeping. We look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very expensive for what you get. The real lowlight of the Lake St Clair lodge is the restaurant. $17 for a burger that has very cheap store bought burger patties. It was almost inedible. Dinner in the restaurant was a very slow affair over 90 mins from ordering to mains being received. Almost impossible to get attention of the one waiter to get a drink and then tried to charge almost double the correct bill - his response on being corrected "it is easy to make a mistake" No its not if you know what you are doing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We appreciate your feedback about your recent dining experience. We are glad to hear that the staff were helpful to you in rectifying any misunderstanding but I apologise that some aspects of your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Being a public holiday some delays can be expected due to the remote location and consequently general lack of availability of casual staff. However we will take into consideration your feedback for future staffing level planning on public holidays.

We pride ourselves on utilising fresh tasmanian produce to deliver our cafe and restaurant menus and will commit to discussing this feedback further with our meat supplier. Hopefully this will prevent a similar experience occurring in the future. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory dining experience if you choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have recently had the pleasure of staying here for 3 days and yes, it is well worth the money. The cabins are beautifully designed in timber and they have double glazed windows and doors to cleverly complement the peaceful surrounds but still give you the ability to see the amazing scenery from your room. Every little detail for an eco-friendly design has been thought out and the rooms have an amazing ability to retain heat. The furnishings are modern and tastefully done. The natural materials, furnishings and in-room amenities lend to a very warm and luxurious feel.

The lodge area was a café by day and a restaurant by night. All meals were fantastic and full of flavor - this was set of by really friendly staff that went out of their way to make sure everything was to our liking.

Wow what a place! We found our stay simply divine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoonRider_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for noticing the lengths to which we have gone to to ensure that the cabins and accommodation is just right to the beautiful environment in which they are situated. We are all grateful for your comments and look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Staff were all super friendly and made our experience of Lake Stclair one of memory. The lodge and cabins were beautiful. Very cosy! The food was delicious. Overall our time at lake Stclair was very relaxing and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly furbished/built cabins. They were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madi1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Our team certainly try to go out of their way to make the experience of each guest positive and memorable. We are glad that you found our cabins cosy and relaxing. We look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

New management is immaculate. Their attention to customer service made up for the expensive prices of food and beverages. Occasional freebies were a bonus and all in all we felt absolutely relieved of sitting next to a warm fire after a speedy trek through the overland track. I definitely recommend a stay or visit of this lodge because the atmosphere is quite scintillating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre-Alexandr... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Our team certainly try to go out of their way to make the experience of each guest positive and memorable. We are glad that we were able to serve you and you found our atmosphere scintillating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
41.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
40.3 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
41.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
41.0 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake St Clair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake St Clair Lodge

Property: Lake St Clair Lodge
Address: Lyell Highway, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake St Clair Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Tasmanian World Heritage Reserve. We welcome you to tranquility wrapped in outstanding natural beauty. Located on the shore of Australia's deepest freshwater lake. Our home has a serenity which promotes a connection with this wild and globally significant World Heritage Area. So hold your breath, open your eyes and enter a world away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lake St Clair Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake St Clair Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing