We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exceptional”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Brilliant escape from life and be able to relax and indulge. Exceptional service, comfort, views and nature, the food was amazing.
Limited mobile coverage, telstra is fine. Limited internet and tv, adds to the indulgence. The wildlife was amazing, spent many hours watching them from my deck. Came across a large wombat one night as I walked back to my cabin, he continued eating while I watched him in awe. The spa is wonderful, I treated myself to Highland healing massage and facial and added a milk bath to it; it was the most devine few hours, and I am still enjoying the effects of the relaxation. I personally can not wait to return

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service, the views, the wildlife and Waldheim Alpine Spa.

Being a local you will have to return soon as it isn't too far away.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    787
    353
    127
    64
See reviews for
391
1,459
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Queensland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We only had one night here and I wished I had booked more. We loved the cabin we had. It was warm, cozy, nicely appointed and I really didn't want to leave. We had dinner in the tavern: the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was great. My mother pronounced it the best breakfast she had ever had. I loved having no TV or phone or internet. Just nature.
Our room overlooked the lagoon which is lit up beautifully at night. We saw lots of wildlife from our window including wallabies and a wombat. The walk along the enchanted trail is absolutely soul inspiring, even more so when I saw a wombat on the track. Would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMNorthQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such fantastic feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, although next time you must stay for longer than one night!

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your cabin, dinner in the Tavern, the wildlife and the walks. It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed having no tv as that is the feedback we receive from most of our guests as it truly encourages them to enjoy the surroundings more. Also please pass on my thanks to your Mother for her thoughts, "best breakfast ever"!

We hope to see you return soon to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I were super excited to arrive at the last destination of our holiday, thinking that we are going to stay in a little place of luxury (considering how much money we spent for the room and that the lodge is "supposed to be 4.5 stars").

The room was not like the pictures on the website. The room needs a refurbishment and cleaning. Some of the amenities, fixtures and fittings are in real need of updating. There was no TV in the room. Not little extras for all that money you are paying per room/per night.

We went to use the WIFI in the main lodge, which you had to pay for, and then found out the service was down. The buffet breakfast was average, I've had better. And the staff need a lesson in service.

All in all quite disappointing establishment, we had heard good things of the Peppers chain and were really looking forward to the experience.

The only good thing was that you were amongst nature and there were lots of cute native animals and beautiful vistas that helped your forget how much money you just wasted!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

Reading through your review I believe the main reason for your discontent is the pricing, I am unable to check when you stayed but I would think it was probably during one of our peak periods. I would recommend returning during the week in Winter times when you may find our pricing more to your liking, keep an eye on our website for our Winter pricing.

With regard to our pictures on the website these are very much a representation of our room types as they are actual pictures of our rooms. Unfortunately if Telstra goes down as happens on occasions so does our wifi as they are the only supplier in Cradle Mountain for this service.

We are actually very proud of the fact that we do not have tv's in our rooms as most guests find this a positive as it encourages them to enjoy the natural surroundings more than they necessarily would if a tv was available.

Once again thanks for your review.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had two nights in a Pencil Pine family cabin. The cabin was very nice with a separate bedroom, living room with gas fireplace and a decent bathroom. Indoors was always warm and cosy, while outdoors was getting quite chilly. Only flaw in the cabin was that we missed a bigger fridge and that housekeeping was a bit sloppy. We also would have liked complimentary wi-fi. (But it's not as big a problem here as in a city or on a business trip. After all you go to Cradle Mountain to get away...)

Breakfast is really great with something for everyone. Food in the Tavern also very good, but the star in the show is obviously the Highlander restaurant. Our meal there was wonderfull, food and service both.

Service at front desk was very good. Excellent information and advise on walking trails etc. We also appreciated the free guest laundry and the store were you can rent gumboots (saved our feet!). Staff in the shop also very friendly and helpfull.

And nedless to say the area and surroundings are stunning. Spectacular views. Animal spotting. Fairytale forests and waterfalls. All this is right outside your cabin door. Just do yourself a favour and bring enough warm clothes and waterproof shoes. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that we were able to provide you with a memorable holiday and appreciate your comments concerning the cabin, breakfast, Tavern, wildlife, walks and our staff and service.

With regard to Highland Restaurant being the star of the show, you will just have to return again soon to have another meal!

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Lovely cabins, clean, with a good view and a very comfortable heater.
No TV and wifi in the room so you can enjoy the natural environment to the max.
Short walks close by and the Dove lake is approx 15 min drive away.
Breakfast was superb and dinner in the Highland restaurant was great too, though a bit pricy.
The private sanctuary was VERY good though again, pricy. The outdoor hot pool with jacuzzi was superb, especially if you are in the mountain on a rainy day (unfortunately) like I did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janjantong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear your positive comments regarding the cabins, breakfast, dinner in Highland Restaurant, the Sanctuary at Waldheim Alpine Spa and the short walks around the property. You are absolutely correct why we have no tv's in our rooms in that it encourages people to enjoy the natural surroundings more than they would if a tv was available.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in the pencil pine rooms that faced the forest and were able to sit in our lounge chairs by the gas log fire and watch wallabies hop by. Room was warm and comfortable which is what you need after the long walks around the park. Breakfast is great and staff very friendly

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the serenity and don't mind the walk to restaurant ask for the outlying roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandLou720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such fantastic feedback to us.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location, wildlife, cabin, breakfast and staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed as a foursome with friends in April 2014.
Some of he Australian staff were not up to a standard that is expected in that quality of hotel and the price you pay.
Rooms were not cleaned properly and some restaurant staff esp breakfast were in attentive and bordering on rude.

Room Tip: Rooms were well sized and pleasant. Insist on quality cleaning daily if not up to standard expected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Please accept my apologies that your stay was less than ideal with us.

If possible could you email me with further details so I can personally speak with the staff involved, my email address is leigh.reid@peppers.com.au.

Again please accept my apologies as this is not up to our usual standards as you will note from this website.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
975 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
706 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Property: Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing