We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We had heard Cradle Mountain Lodge was a great place to relax before we went but nothing prepared us for how perfect it was. The staff were all friendly and really helpful and our cabin was perfect. Every day our fire place was re set and the turndown service was so sweet. We came back to a warm room with candles and music which was nice after long walks in the cold. Make sure you go on as many walks of the property to make the most of the beautiful surroundings. It was a lot colder then anywhere else in Tasmania so pack warm but the wildlife was amazing. Warning, there are no tv's except one in the bar and no phone reception but u can purchase wifi in the bar. This made it more special for us but some people didn't enjoy that. Highly recommend

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EddieOates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for such wonderful feedback.

We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with a "perfect"getaway and thank yo for your kind comments with regard to the staff, housekeeping and the local walks. Also great to hear that you enjoyed the no TV experience as we certainly believe it encourages our guests to enjoy the natural surroundings more.

We hope to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    740
    327
    119
    58
See reviews for
375
1,336
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

25.09.2012: OK, disclaimer! This was supposed to be a romantic holiday, unfortunately it went utterly, completely awry, indeed it got down right ugly.

We had arrived in Tasmania for a 3 day respite in Hobart, bit of dining, a wander around the local attractions and a bit of down time. Or so I thought... My travel buddy had in fact booked - seriously unbeknownst to me - a 14 day tour of the Apple Isle, eeek right?

Oh it gets worse, 3 days into our holiday, my partner had an almost complete emotional breakdown - recently divorced - sobbing continuously, barely coherent, definitely not in the mood for love and adventure.

I know... Why am I telling you this, because the wonderfilled team at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge managed to make our holiday more than bearable, they failed at resurrecting any romance (that's gone for good, thankfully) However, their patience, diligence and professionalism put a golden spin on what might have been a disastrous vacation.

The story of Cradle Mountain Lodge is far more romantic than my own pity-filled tale. Gustav Weindorfer, an Austrian, emigrated to Australia bought part of his wife Kate’s brother’s farm - Lauriston - spending their honeymoon camping atop the mountain, the pair, both dedicated botanists, sheltered in a canvass tent as Gustav went about building a modest lodge, super romantic right?

My travel buddy and I drove the two and a half hours from Launceston - a town I'd spent some time in decades ago - crawling winding roads, through the most stunning Tasmanian countryside, Cradle Mountain - St Clair National Park stand out as one of the most stunning nature reserves on the planet, covered in snow, with grey outcrops of rock, hardy foliage and an untouchedness, it's truly unique in Australian landscapes.

As we approached the lodge, my travel buddy sobbing, my temperature began to rise dramatically, I'd come down with the flu.

Cradle Mountain Lodge had literally just months before joined the Peppers Group as part of their exclusive retreats collection, so imagine the disquiet on the faces of the newly installed staff from Peppers as this odd couple, she sobbing, me wrapped in a blanket and sniffling miserably checked into their much lauded hotel.

We checked into the King Billy Suite - named for a tree, not a king - and the pampering began. The Peppers staff were simply amazing, nothing was too much trouble.

The room was incredible, it's double sided fire place, king size bed and luxurious bathroom were exactly what the doctor ordered (the staff also order an actual doctor, who insisted on bed rest) The huge windows looked out onto the most amazing wonderland, snow is such a brilliant surround when your ill. The huge veranda has it's own hot-tub and the room was laden with complimentary Tasmanian fare, port, canapés and cheeses.

Today a replica of the old lodge 'Waldheim' sits as the Weindorfers’ left the original. The old lodge is well worth a visit, it’s rough timber walls, tiny rooms and open veranda is a museum, houses records of the early days of Cradle Mountain and the Weindorfer’s efforts to create the National Park we all enjoy so much. Every New Year’s Day a memorial service is held at Waldheim to pay tribute to this inspirational vision.

Room Tip: The King Billy Suite is the most expensive accommodation the Lodge offers, it is however worth every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelcourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your most entertaining feedback.

We do remember you and your story advised to Reception due to it's uniqueness.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the circumstances you were staying under. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the King Billy Suite and staff.

We hope to see you return some day soon with a partner who will enjoy it with you.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is our umpteenth visit to Cradle Mountain Lodge, and it added to our special memories of a place which we've seen gently evolve over 25 years. To enter the very comfortable room looking directly into the softly lit temperate rainforest immediately led to relaxation and a sense of peace. Then within minutes to be on the King Billy track in the last fragments of daylight reconnected me with this wonderful environment. Our meal that night at the restaurant was world class - fine Tassie fare complimented by excellent wines. The Lodge was then a great, comfortable base to further walks the following day - all easily accessible. I can't wait to book our next stay at the Lodge. Also need to mention the very friendly team at the Lodge. They make us feel very welcome and nothing's too much bother for them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Lodge Lake, or alternatively a room at the "back" of the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay.

You certainly must have seen a lot of changes over 25 years at the property. I have been here for almost 7 years and have seen a lot in that time. Thanks for your kind comments regarding the walks and our friendly team. I will pass on your comment that the food in Highland Restaurant and wines our world class to our Kitchen and Food and Beverage teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

we were well looked after on our stay here. staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The location was perfect so close to the Park Entrance. Our cabin was warm and cosy. Our disabled family members found their special cabin facilities excellent. We opted for the tavern meals - they were reasonably priced and ample but would try out the restaurant next time! Don't miss the beautiful Enchanted walk around the creek and waterfall just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzeed49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and that you enjoyed the cabins, Tavern, local works and our staff. Being from Launceston you aren't far away so you will have to return to try Highland Restaurant soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a magnificent place to stay. The Pencil Pine cabins are well appointed and clean. But it's the public areas of the lodge itself which makes you wish you could stay forever. You have to experience the wonderful lounge with its roaring open fire and traditional leather furniture. The bar is a more intimate room, but still has a wonderful open fire where it is sheer bliss to sit and have a couple of drinks. The bistro is very friendly with its wood heater and billiards table. The prices of meals are reasonable and the quality of the food is good. Breakfast, included in the price and served in the main restaurant overlooking the small lake, is full hot and cold buffet - a fantastic variety ranging from cereals and croissants, through to bacon, eggs, hot cakes, cooked tomato and baked beans etc., - finishing up with fresh fruits. There are several magical shorter walks around the lodge and along the bubbling Pencil Pine river. On site, there is also a store where a large selection of local produce and souvenirs can be purchased. A short drive from the lodge takes you to the Cradle Mountain National Park visitor's centre. From here a pass into this magnificent National Park can be purchased. Dove Lake, the destination of most, is breathtaking in its beauty. For relatively fit people who are well prepared, the walk around the lake, past the historic boatshed, is a must. I have stayed here before, and I cannot recommend Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, and the surrounding National Park, highly enough. This destination should be top of every visitor's list.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy-Wanderer1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

I completely agree with your review title - One night is not enough! We are located in a world class destination where people travel from around the globe to stay with us and one night is definitely not doing the area justice!

Thank you for your comments regarding the Pencil Pine Cabins, Lounge and Bar areas, open fires, walks, breakfast and food. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed staying with us even if it was just for one night.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

After only spending one night here, I wish it could have been more. Our room was warm, clean and cosy. No tv which I thought was actually really good. This place definitely encourages couples being together and spending real time with each other. The spa offers couple packages which we unfortunately didn't have time for. You're able to relax with a drink in the lodge by the fire on comfy leather couches or play a round of chess. Breakfast offers everything from bacon and eggs to plain simple toast and cereal and a range of teas and coffee. The walks you're able to do are great, we did the Dove Lake walk, took us 2 hours to walk 6kms but was fun. Scenery is lovely and although some parts are the walk are steep and full of steps, I still had fun and definitely felt it in the legs the next day.
Would love to go back for a two night stay and experience a relaxing massage or bath. Just beautiful!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback on your recent stay.

Living not far from us you will have to return for longer than one night next time! Pleased to hear that you enjoyed not having a TV, we certainly believe it enhances the experience here. Thanks for your pleasing comments concerning breakfast and the local walks.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is not only right on the doorstep of the Cradle Mountain National Park but it was a lovely place to stay to boot.

Room was clean, comfortable and well decorated but the main feature of this place (for me) was the restaurant. Oh my god... the food was to die for. The chef was a genius. Never had dishes that the flavours went together so well in my life.

If you want a TV in the room then this is not the place for you BUT in saying that I never missed it not even once (and I do like a TV in the room usually).

FYI on Telstra seems to get mobile coverage so either get yourself a Telstra SIM if you need mobile or turn off and enjoy the peace. Hotel wifi is a bit expensive in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and room. Thank you also for your fantastic feedback regarding Highland Restaurant, I will pass your feedback on to our Executive Chef and his team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.2 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Property: Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing