We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location to get away from it all...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location to get away from it all...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Once again we had a fantastic stay.....we come here just about every year and we find it the best place to get away from it all......if you like walking there are a multitude of walks close by, from easy to difficult. The lodge is great the rooms are all you need.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank appycampa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are pleased to hear that you find us the best place to get away from it all, this is an experience that we do try to provide so it is pleasing to receive the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    711
    310
    117
    52
See reviews for
357
1,278
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Cradle mountain lodge this July holiday and were extremely lucky to experience snow on our last morning.
The place turned into a perfect winter wonderland and the memory will be with us forever.
The resort is made up of many wooden cabins. Ours was a spa suite family cabin. Made of one big room with king bed, small lounges, fireplace.No tv . Within this room is a very small bedroom with 2 single beds.The bathroom is huge and well fitted with a double shower, bath and so on.There is a small balcony looking onto a bushy area where pademelons gather..cute :)
We were very private as our cabin was freestanding and on its own.
Although the interior is far from luxurious and in need of good freshen up and some re-decorating, the place grew on us and felt homely quite quickly.
The bedding was very basic(hard mattress/ basic duna).This particular cabin would be perfect for a family with 2 young children. With teenagers, parents have a total lack of privacy.
The restaurant is lovely but tables need to be booked early ..like the day before !. But, there is also casual tavern serving lovely food.
Breakfast finishes at 10am and service is very prompt at having everything cleared out quickly. We personally think that for a Peppers resort this is a bit tough !! As there is no in room service, the breakfast hours could be extended a bit.
The staff was lovely and professionnal.
For us, the snow was what we had dreamt of and we got heaps of it, The whole place becomes what picture books are made of.

We took a tour to Cradle Mountain which was perfectly organised and informative(especially if you are interested in botanics !).
Couldn't try the spa as it was booked out.

Room Tip: Room 30 is freestanding. Good for a family of 3 or 4 with young children preferably. Not suitable fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pocahontasAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your tour, the Tavern, Highland Restaurant and that you managed to get snow on your last day. We have certainly had a lot of it lately!

You will have to return so you can try the Spa next time.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

i booked the King Billy suite with plans to propose to my partner while we were at the lodge. I thought that i would let staff know my plans before we got there and asked if they could replace the complimentary port with a bottle of champagne for the special occasion. instead of being excited for us and helping out all i got was an email with an amenities form attached so i could purchase something extra on top of the huge price i was already paying for 1 night! when i contacted the general manager Leigh Reid about this, he totally dismissed my proposal saying that they have around 50 proposals a year and 'IF' the proposal goes ahead and 'IF' its successful, then i should contact staff and they can oganise something. My now Fiancé and i went to the Grand Chancellor in Hobart for our 6 month anniversary, in a room that cost us $100 and even they gave us a complimentary bottle of sparkling when we arrived. i really wish i had of cancelled the reservation and gone somewhere more hospitable for this sort of occasion! General Manager Leigh Reid should have a good hard look at himself and his customer service as you are way behind the times!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, I would just like to clarify my response at that time which was, "Should the proposal go ahead and be successful please let either our Front Office Manager or Front Office Supervisor know and they will arrange".

To clarify this further we are happy to arrange additional amenities in a room prior to arrival at a charge, once we have been advised that a proposal has taken place and been accepted that is when we like to arrange something to celebrate the occassion to be sent to the room.

Congratulations on your engagement, our team were waiting on your advice during your stay however were not informed.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed recently as a family for 2 nights at the pencil pine room. Whilst it was confirmed that it was two rooms - it was in fact one separate room within one big room. As we have adults children - this did not provide any privacy and we wish we could have been told. It was also difficult to share one bathroom with 4 other people and we also wish we could have been told as we could booked two separate rooms.

As it was raining during our stay, we stayed in the room quite a bit and really did not find this lodge is accurately named as a luxury resort - location is great but rooms are very dated and we witnessed how they cleaned the room and was quite appalled by it. The bedhseets also had lots of stained which we found very disappointing if they charge as a luxury resort price.

Good thing was that the food was quite good. We were impressed with the the highland restaurant buffet breakfast and also the dinner.

Overall, it was highly overpriced and do not think we will return.

Room Tip: Although very expensive, I would recommend people to pay extra to room with private balcony as it se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipsyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

Please accept my apologies with regard to housekeeping and your room layout. I have passed your feedback on to our Executive Housekeeper. I am unable to tell how you have made your booking however for future reference all our room types have detailed listed on our property website.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding breakfast and dinner in Highland Restaurant.

I apologize for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is not so much a hotel as cabins next to each other. The cabins are spread, and the view from each cabin is nice into a wooded area (we did see some wildlife hoppin' around). Cabins are luxurious and very well heated.
Breakfast is good and the service of staff is very good. Free guided walks around the hotel

The locations is just perfect, just outside the entrance to the park.
Not cheap though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAO1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your recent stay.

We are happy to hear you are impressed with the location, view, wildlife, breakfast and service from our fantastic team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The ideal location if you are planning to make the most of the stunning walks at Cradle Mountain and Cradle Valley. We stayed three nights, two in a one bedroom cabin that comfortably slept four and one in a two bedroom with a spa suite and wood fire. Breakfast is outstanding a can keep you going for a full day of walking. We had a well presented delicious meal in the restaurant, with excellent service from the wait staff, including some great wine advice, and enjoyed a tavern meal which was plentiful. OK value for money as we had a special, at full rates you might expect more recently renovated rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast, meal in the Tavern and dinner in Highland Restaurant.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Awesome location. Awesome room (stayed in a spa suite). Awesome service. Awesome experience. Stayed here for 3 nights and the highlights were; lighting our own wood fire in our suite, the deep spa, relaxing in the lodge, the waterfalls walk and playing 8 ball in the tavern. The buffet breakfast is pretty impressive as well.
Service was really good, room got turned down each day and we had small plates of food left in our kitchen each afternoon. Ordering food from the tavern and having it brought out to the main lodge area while you're sitting on the couches next to the fire is cool as well!
Great experience, would have been perfect if it would have snowed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandalf_skywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with an "awesome" holiday, it certainly sounds like you enjoyed it. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for all your positive comments, I shall share them with the team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.2 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
41.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Property: Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. Road Closures: There are a number of road closures around Tasmania at the moment that are affecting accessibility to Cradle Mountain. The Kimberley bridge in between Elizabeth town and Railton on the B13 is closed until further notice as the bridge has collapsed. The C138 from Mole Creek to Gowrie Park is inaccessible as the road has been closed due to the recent flooding. The C137 however from Mole Creek through Paradise just outside of Sheffield is open and a good way to bypass around the closures. For additional information please refer to the Tas police and Kentish council websites to get the most up to date information. As mentioned, if this could be worded “Getting to Cradle Mountain” and on the first page of the website. For more information feel free to contact us on (03) 6492 2100. Drive safe and see you soon! ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing