We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Lodge itself is absolutely superb, the layout, location and overall design is fantastic. I visited with my partner in the middle of July, and it had been snowing in the recent past which I think added more to the experience. Seeing snow and ice laden throughout the lodge made it even more beautiful... so if you are one that can brave the cold (it was -2degrees at night, but 5-6 degrees during the day) then you must visit in the winter...!
The Tavern Bistro where we ate had a great feel to it, meals were reasonably priced, similar to what you would pay at a decent quality pub for a pub meal. The meals themselves were of good size, and tasted fine, no complaints!
The guest lounge was very warm and inviting, the sofa's and recliners very comfortable.
The lodge is superbly located for those who will visit the area on foot, a number of shorter and longer walks leave directly from the lodge, and the famed Dove Lake Circuit is a five minute drive away into the national park.
We stayed in a Contemporary Spa Cabin, generously sized, with a gas log fire which warmed the room well. The spa bath itself let the rest of the room down though in my opinion. I assume that most couples whom book a spa cabin, would intend to share a spa with their partner, this was not possible as the spa was too small for us (I am approx 190cm, 95kgs and my partner 170cm, 60kgs) so normal sized people could not share, plus the tap for the spa was poorly placed, right in the middle of one end, sticking out into the bath which made sitting up that end comfortably, impossible!

If this issue can be rectified then the room was superb, better than most I have stayed in.

The staff were amazing, particularly our Nightime Wildlife Spotlight tourguide, Ben, very knowledgeable and great conversation was had.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and that you enjoyed the location, meals and Lodge facilities. Thanks also for your kind comments regarding the staff and I have passed on your comments to Ben.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 2,558 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a lovely time here - the park is so close and the trails are breathtakingly beautiful. Staff are lovely, knowledgeable and attentive. The food at the restaurant was fairly nice, not amazing, but quite nice.

However there are some significant downers - mainly being with the technical issues. There was a lot of confusion about when payment was taken (at the start of your stay you need to place the the entire payment on credit charge - then when you check out you are required to pay the actual balance then, and your original charge is refunded in 5 days time). This method of payment seems inefficient and is very frustrating, given we weren't explained that essentially you need to have the funds available for double the amount you will spend (which is okay, but at the end of a holiday it could be an issue for some people).

All in all lovely place, but beware the fund trap!

Room Tip: Watch out for off peak special deals (weekends are much more expensive, as is summer).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Something4Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are please to hear that you enjoyed the location and staff.

Just to explain the payment process, on arrival we take a credit card pre authorisation for the full amount of your stay and a small amount extra per day to cover meals, etc, on departure we then use the authorisation code to approve the payment - as long as you are paying with the same card. If you are paying with a different card the original pre authorisation will drop away after 5 working days depending on which bank you are with, as this is the banks process.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our 5th or 6th Visit and each time we enjoy ourselves a little bit more, This is the 2nd time we have stepped up to the King Billy suite and we thoroughly enjoyed it, We were greeted by a bottle of Bubbly with a nice Card welcoming us back, we decided to treat ourselves with a 3 night stay (my 40th Birthday) we also visited some local attractions (Devils @ Cradle and Tasmazia) and had a great time, We ate at both the Tavern and the superb Highland restaurant. The Tavern Menu is a due for a bit of an overhaul, but the Highland restaurant was truly excellent as always. As I said in my last review, it really isn't a child friendly resort, there is not a lot for them to do.
The Wildlife is always close by, in fact the Pademelons would greet us at the Door each morning.

Again like last time I only have one minor little issue, and it really is minor, the little roads within the Lodge grounds were getting pretty pot holed and torn up.

But overall a very positive experience, we will be back....again!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to take your own drinks and nibbles, the Mini bar is pretty pricey, they do have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mkey7250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback on your recent stay.

We are pleased to hear that this was your 5th or 6th visit, being from Tasmania has many benefits! Happy 40th and pleased to hear that you treated yourself to a King Billy Suite and enjoyed dinner in Highland Restaurant.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had one of the spa cabins furthest from the lodge and it was wonderful. Spacious, clean and the wood fire made it so cosy (we stayed middle of winter). Had wildlife at our back door (literally) every day. Dinners at Tavern were great, as was buffet breakfast. Perfect location for visiting Cradle Mountain or just relaxing in a quiet and beautiful environment.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and that you enjoyed your Spa Cabin, breakfast, dinner in the Tavern, our location and the local wildlife.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We love the lodge breakfast wonderful but housekeeping needs some attention bed sheets did =not look clean room not fully serviced every day milk, toilet paper. this is the first time we have had this problem as we spend a few days several times a year here, also spa bath O.k. for one person, bathroom needs better cleaning, but we will be back , as the lodge is like an old friend , , and hope these problems were just a oversight.,.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your recent stay.

Thank you for your kind words regarding breakfast. I have passed your feedback on to our Executive Housekeeper regarding your room and please accept my apologies.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We've been to Cradle many a time but this was the first time in a while and the first time since Peppers took over the lodge. The lodge itself offers great facilities for families by way of a games room, books, big comfy armchairs and coaches, open fires etc. All very lovely when watching the snow falling outside. The cabins have been refurbished relatively recently (or at least the Pencil Pine cabin we stayed in) and was warm and comfortable, nothing flash but more than adequate considering the amount of time you will be spending in them with so much to do, even if it is just relaxing in the Lodge during bad weather. Cleanliness was a bit of an issue on our arrival and I suspect that the beds had been changed and nothing else done as we had dirty windows, glasses bathroom and benchtops. This may have just been an unfortunate oversight as the cleaning the following day was faultless. The included buffet breakfast was excellent, one of the better we've enjoyed anywhere. Evening meals in the (cheaper option) tavern were not particularly good with the chef/cook deciding on his own variations on the menu without any explanation as to why - and they were not successful combinations, also particularly poor given the possibility of allergic reactions. Even the waitstaff (who were excellent) expressed their dissatisfaction as if it seemingly happens regularly. I'm sure the actual restaurant would have provided a far superior dining experience but with two kids, the tavern environment was far more suitable. This may seem like a harsh review but realistically the overall experience was great with just a couple of hiccups along the way, still gets four stars from me!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudTassieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

Please accept my apologies with regard to the housekeeping on arrival and the Tavern Chef. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper regarding your room and also the Executive Chef as we had a new chef on who has since be retrained.

Thank you for your pleasing comments regarding our facilities and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Once again we had a fantastic stay.....we come here just about every year and we find it the best place to get away from it all......if you like walking there are a multitude of walks close by, from easy to difficult. The lodge is great the rooms are all you need.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank appycampa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are pleased to hear that you find us the best place to get away from it all, this is an experience that we do try to provide so it is pleasing to receive the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,064 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
760 reviews
38.2 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: £140 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification logo means that you are guaranteed an experience that helps to care for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing