We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great secluded base into Cradle Mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great secluded base into Cradle Mountain”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

What a great spot. The cabins are cosy and tucked away, right in the bush. No views of Cradle Mountain from our cabin (#37) since the only ones facing the mountain are up to #19, but it really didn't matter. "Fully equipped kitchens" don't include an oven, but I managed to nicely roast a whole chicken one night on their supplied electric kettle BBQ. The heater is efficient and the whole space really works well. Wish we'd known about the in-house honour system bar earlier though, since it had a great well-priced selection. Given the quality of "fine-dining" around here self-catering is definitely the way to go.

Room Tip: Ask explicitly for a view of Cradle Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jctomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    335
    65
    15
    7
See reviews for
191
424
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage for a night and then a spa chalet for 2 nights. We preferred the set up in the cottage as we have a 12 month old baby and the baby was further from all activity. The floorplans online are very helpful.
Very impressed with the feeling of isolation even though we were only a stones throw away from everything.
The staff were extremely helpful and very welcoming of children. On the way to the cosy lounge area a staff member shared his knowledge of the wildlife. I had never heard of a pademelon before so was delighted to hear more about this little creature. We have a menace possum at home so it was lovely to stay here and not have possums running over our roof!
We are often on holidays and always read reviews. After staying in dozens of places, we felt writing a review was in order. Value for money. Recommend staying in a 2 bedroom cottage instead of spa chalet. Save the difference in cost and treat yourself to eating out. We didnt eat out as had bought fine food and wine prior to arrival. Kitchen basic but functional unless you are cooking for a dinner party. No oven just stovetops. Shop for groceries before you arrive at major towns. IGA in smaller towns are expensive.
Do not walk around Cradle Mountain (Dove Lake) with a pram no matter what they tell you at the Visitors Centre.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Prior to our travel, I browzed through the dozen reviews posted on TripAdvisor for accommodations in the vicinity of Cradle Mountain. I must admit that Cradle Mt Wilderness Village had the most positive feedback posted by fellow travellers before me. Although I was quite sceptical about the reviews but decided to book a studio cottage for our 2 nights stay in Cradle Mt. We were certainly not disappointed with our find. The hotel was easy to locate and it was quite near to the Visitor Centre (2 mins drive away). The cottage had a very comfortable queen size bed as well as a double decker in another room. Bathroom was clean and warm with good heating facilities within the entire cottage. The kitchen was well equipped although no food items were provided, except coffee, tea, sugar, salt & pepper, but we came prepared with our own groceries purchased from Launceston prior to our travel to Cradle Mt. as we had been fore-warned of the limited eateries and its pricey menu...
Although there was a balcony, we did not make use of it as the view on the outside was not too easy on the eyes.., our cottage supposedly faces a pond (hidden from view by bushes - thank goodness for that) and a play area with a BBQ corner.
We did have a visitor in the early morning and evening - a wallaby came by to greet us.
The lounge at the Reception was very cozy and welcoming - we had our sandwiches and rest there after returning from our walk and complimentary coffee/tea were available to guest.
During our stay, the weather was perfect - hot and windy, making the 2-hr walk round Dove Lake a breeze...but, as the Receptionist mentioned the weather is very changeable and the day prior to our arrival, it was raining - so be prepared with raincoats.
Overall, it was money well spent - expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RakunSoshiteRisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This place is great.

Our apartment was warm, comfortable, clean and well appointed. The price was considerably less than the lodge and the chateau.

The booking experience on the phone was friendly, hassle free and excellent.

There are no meals here but there was a basic kitchen in the apartment. We headed 1.5km down the road to the Tavern at Cradle Mountain Lodge and had a great meal, beer, and relaxed atmosphere.

Taking a walk around the grounds after dusk displayed a great range of local animals.

There is a communal lounge with a wood burner, comfy couches, internet, music, amazing views and a well stocked and reasonable priced honour bar. The reception service (limited hours) was friendly and fine.

I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Wilderness Village - yes, it may be pricey, as some have said in their reviews, but when you see the remoteness you can understand why. Our cabin (19) was nice and clean and it's just so lovely and quiet! It was nice to see the wildlife up close, but we were glad not to have possums running across our roof in the middle of the night! Loved the communal lounge, and the staff we dealt with were great.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepncow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Fair-sized cabin in isolated, natural environment. Bedrooms just about big enough, especially if a a lot of luggage to cope with as well. Could do with a lot more coat-hooks to hang things up. Toilet is in the bathroom, so may need to plan bathroom usage especially if one or more in the party spend a lot of time in the bathroom!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed in January 2009. Peaceful location, even got a fright of the possums running all over the roof during our first night. Lots of animals you can see outside the cabin, especially kangaroos. Accommodation (cabin) was average, thought we would get better given that it was almost $200 per night. Probably won't come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
984 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
434 reviews
39.2 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
407 reviews
41.4 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Property: Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Address: 3816 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing