We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our single night stay at the Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village was great. We had chosen a spa cabin and when we arrived on a wet and cold afternoon we found the room heated and cosy. The cabins are set individually in bushland setting and are heated by two heaters, a gas fire in the living area and a bar type heater in the bedroom. The comfortable beds are also fitted with electric blankets however the heaters are so efficient we didn't need them.

A central, circular double spa bath separates the living and sleeping areas and it was a perfect place to warm up after a trip out to Dove Lake.

The cabins have basic cooking facilities and a huge breakfast basket was also provided - bacon, eggs, tomato, toast, spreads, cereal and juice.

Seeing some of the local wildlife at such close quarters was fantastic, we had birds sitting quite comfortably on the verandah, and the pademelons are so friendly that they will approach you, perhaps looking for something to eat although it is recommended that you don't feed them.

The hosts were friendly and helpful, and also provided us with a few recommendations for places of interest for our onward journey. All in all, a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shanell59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent a night here and a night at Cradle mountain Highlanders bushman hut. We preferred the studio at the wilderness village!!! It was spacious with full kitchen facilities, microwave and tea and coffee making facilities. The room was really clean and being able to park right outside the room was fantastic! Upon arrival at the reception, we told the lady how we got lost and she immediately gave us a free wifi voucher which was really nice! The room heater was already turned on when we went into the room. The kitchen, sofa, dining table and queen bed was in a room whilst there was a single bed in another room and the bathroom in a separate room. The sofa was comfortable with a huge tv. The only complaint was that the bathroom was not ensuite but it was due to the extra single room. There was a file on all the relevant information of cradle mountain which was helpful. There was a light switch right above the bed which was really convenient especially during bedtime. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MelE06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Short overnight trip. Stayed in a 2 br cabin ( a more basic one). Slept very well as very quiet and restful. Basic facilities, warmed by 2 heaters and electric blankets on all beds. Beds more comfortable than first expected. Kitchenette facilities quite able to cook a good breakfast and boil or microwave for tea. Water is discoloured but very safe to drink. No taste associated with discolouring (tannins) Breakfast hamper available at reception but we brought our own food. Internet available for a price but for short stays what is available on your phone is good enough. Very good mobile phone reception. TV good. Couch quite uncomfortable. Unit clean and adequate supply of towels etc.

Room Tip: For a special occasion choose a newer spa unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GingerRose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June and absolutely enjoyed it. After a lengthy trip, 2 flights and a long drive (slight detour due to GPS) we were greeted by the friendly receptionist who offered a map with proper directions for our return:) She gave us a quick brief about the place and we went to our cottage to rest. We had the spa cottage which was really nice and located at the back of the property.

We were told the water was a brownish colour but very natural and very safe to drink. We really loved the taste of the water and I have a very weak stomach and had absolutely no problems with the water.

It's true it looked a bit strange in the spa tub, but we put a bit of the shower gel in it which made it look more inviting.

The fireplace was great and very efficient.

The restaurant on site (Hellyers) was excellent for a steak dinner with wine.

The pub at Peppers was average at best and the café at the tourist centre was barely edible.

We went for a few hikes during our stay and also visited the Tasmanian Devil tourist centre (Devil's a Cradle).

Dove Lake was really pretty and worth the trip. Definitely take the shuttle bus up there. Driving would be scary since it's single lane and you keep meeting the shuttle buses!

Make sure you bring any food you want with you, because there was no way we were going back into town to get supplies. Way too far from everything.

We didn't have any mobile phone service both through Optus and Vodaphone. I believe Telstra would be the only provider working out there.

That being said, it was nice to disconnect for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelbuzz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent 2 nights in the 2 bedroom spa unit. It was very clean, new and we were impressed. When we arrived the heaters were on, and it was lovely and warm. You can park the car out the front (convenient with kids) - they told us to back in, to make it easier in case on snow. Overnight it snowed, but it was still very comfortable and toasty inside (3 heaters on) with the doubleglazing. We borrowed one of the free dvds from reception, but also watched the foxtel movie channels.
The water is brown stained (but perfectly clean and drinkable) but stained due to the gum leaves when it collects in the rainwater tanks. If you aren't from Australia, it could be a shock (but reception warned us).
The unit comes with everything (even a bbq on the verandah), and we were impressed. The only thing we missed was an oven (but there was a microwave) - we had bought a lasagna and quiche with us.
When we checked in, they warned us to book if we wanted to eat at the restaurant. Sure enough, the next day, there was a sign saying fully booked.
Overnight a brand new hotel car had slid off the entry road at slow speed - you need to be careful driving in and out. (and these were hotel staff).
We thought it was a peaceful great location. We would also recommend going to the Gallery in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCoulson-555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The spa cottages in the Wilderness Village are all they say they will be. We were welcomed by friendly and attentive staff who were willing with suggestions and any directions. The gas fire in the long single room was so effective we turned it off for a while to cool the place down a little. Our daily visitor came to the little balcony, a pademelon. The spa, tinged with tannin that enriches the skin and with the epsom salts we added, revived our sore muscles after a day of walking the mountain. This would have been Perfect if a couple of soft warm robes had been available. It is just these little details which keep this lovely place at four instead of five stars. Our three night stay included a daily continental breakfast hamper which we collected from the main reception or restaurant. The best way to describe the breakfast is - unimaginative. It was generous but it is a shame that Tassie's lovely food was not used. The hamper just contained white bread and basic packaged cereal and condiments, as well as OJ and yogurt. Again, plenty but plain.

Room Tip: Choose a luxury spa cabin and use the spa despite the water colour - its wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you are looking for comfort and value in Cradle Mountain, the Wilderness Village is certainly the place to go. My wife and I stayed in one of the Spa Cottages which are placed at the end of the property and thus have the most excellent views unimpeded by any unnatural objects. If you love native wildlife, we had the opportunity to see many different animals very close. The room itself was very well kept and had a serviceable kitchenette, which comes in handy especially considering the very limited restaurant options on Cradle Mountain. Would certainly recommend as a place to stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Reimanator31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,039 reviews
24 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
742 reviews
39.3 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Address: 3816 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: £127 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing