We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cabin for the night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 with 2 friends from the mainland for a catchup! I found the 2 bedroom cabin to be clean, comfortable and well fitted out in the kitchen. I slept in the Double bed which was comfortable! Lovely location and the cabin we had was overlooking the water, with a nice deck! It was perfect for our needs! The cabin park looks to be well maintained and neat and tidy and the staff were friendly! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ethelrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

This spot would be great for young family on tight budget, NOT older couple. Bed only double , lumpy and old. Shower trickles pathetically. Furniture old and a little gubby. Great seaside location, we had waterfront cabin. Long way into town to dine, was set up well for self catering. Not really suited to us, need to clarify with our travel agent.( Funny because rest of accomodation during our tassie stay was good.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koo8882, Manager at Discovery Parks - Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our park. We appreciate the time you have taken to outline the areas for improvement. All feedback from our guests is important to us, should you like to further discuss any particular areas of concern with us please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights and absolutely loved it. We have stayed in holiday parks all over Australia and this by far was our favourite. We were in a standard cabin and it was lovely, very cosy and extremely clean. The playground and jumping pillow was fantastic for the kids. The spirit of Tasmania terminal was a close distance, 5 min drive or 15 minute walk which was very handy. I have no complaints about this park. We would definitely stay again. Fantastic job to all the staff there!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Lara Jayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Get there to find all I could see was shipping containers, then walk into the cabin to find that there was one small seat for three of us, son had to sit on a pillow on the ground. Go into the bedroom and see the beds are not made. Then turn on the tv and notice there is no austar as advertised everywhere (excuse was too many people complained about too many channels). Go to make a cupper and there's no water coming out, after five minutes with the tap on finally water comes out but it's nearly black and not usable had to leave all taps on to try to get water clean enough to use, apart from all that there's a good pub up the road with great meals

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koo8882, Manager at Discovery Parks - Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative and we are sorry to hear that your recent stay at Discovery Holiday Parks did not meet your expectations. Should you wish to discuss your comments further please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We camped here for 5 nights using this caravan park as our main base. We travelled to Stanley (The Nutt) took 1 1/2hrs, Cradle Mountain took 1 1/2 hrs, Launceston 1 hr. The facilities in the camp kitchen were wonderful very equipped and clean. Also a large digital television. The only problem that we found that it can get very windy as the park is fairly open with no wind breaks around. It is ideal for campervans and caravans.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Pro:
1. Next to beach
2. Walking distance from Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal
3. Park maintenance was good
4. Kids playing area good
5. Outside gross
6. Price was good
7. Clean fridge and appliances

Cons:
1. Mattresses were poor. Body pain everywhere on next day morning
2. Old cabin
3. Basic toilets
4. Rusted Air conditioner

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onlyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The last stop of our 2 week holiday before boarding the ferry for Melbourne. We stayed 2 nights in a standard cabin (6 berth). Very clean and tidy. Double bedroom with double sliding doors and big windows. Kitchen with full fridge and full gas stove. Good sized bathroom with shower screen (not curtains) and separate bunk room (not required by us). Full linen supplied and fully equipped kitchen. At $158.40 for a couple for 2 nights (on-line 20% deal) it was well priced. Electric panel heater seemed to work only on maximum. Fortunately the weather was not too cold. The site is a bit windy (on the coast) and the wind shook the cabin a little sometimes, but not a worry. Not many trees or garden yet, but it isn't long since this site was a drive-in theatre, so time for that (if they don't blow away) We could have stayed here longer. We were very near the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay View Holiday Village
Bay View Holiday Village
#3 of 14 in Devonport
28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Formby Hotel
Formby Hotel
#7 of 14 in Devonport
73 reviews
10.3 mi away
BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Devonport

Address: 13 - 19 Tarleton St | East Devonport, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Devonport
Price Range: £64 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discovery Parks - Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Devonport Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing