We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation
Ranked #3 of 14 Devonport B&B and Inns
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy and relaxing”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our bub recently in the garden view suite.
As soon as I walked in I felt at home. It was so clean, warm and inviting and the garden outside was immaculate! Our little bub loved the greetings by the cats in the morning. We wanted to stay another night but they were booked out. Such a shame! Would definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FreqFlyers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
A pleasure always to make people comfortable, encourage them to relax and enjoy our pleasant facilities and surrounds at Birchwood, Devonport self contained Accommodation.
Being in such a wonderful Mersey river parklands setting, being able to watch the beauty of Spirit of Tasmania passenger ferry sail past at least twice a day is so enchanting and exciting.
There is so many relaxing things to do in Devonport and surrounds, stroll the river / ocean landscaped walking paths, take in the beauty of The Bluff beach and headland with the landmark lighthouse, where you have a view of Devonport & surrounds with Mount Roland as a beautiful background.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
36
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for 1 night only and didn't book ,but loved the look from the outside,So in we went and met our Host Rex who was only too happy to show us what was available for the Night.
We decided on the apartment with the river views and was tastefully appointed throughout for a great quiet sleep. The gardens are beautifully maintained by Rex's wife and was so nice too wake up to all the colours in the garden.Would certainly recommend a stay there! Rod and Michelle,Melb.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rod I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Yes Devonport and surrounds is a great place, centre of the North west coast and easy travel distance to some of the best Tasmanian attractions, Cradle Mountain, the Western Tiers and Mount Roland, Lake Barrington world class rowing course, Tasmazia Lower Crackpot village and pancake parlour, Sheffield town of murals, Latrobe a wonderful historic and antique mecca.
The Cradle coast tasting trail is wonderful, local wines and fare - products of Raspberries, Strawberries, Blueberries, Cherries and so much more, award winning cheeses and local and exotic farm produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a great stay at Birchwood, Rex is such a lovely guy!
The apartment was massive with great views, and it is in a awesome spot right on the water.
We were really happy with everything.
Would definitely recommend. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannijscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Yes, we at Birchwood Devonport self contained Accommodation are so lucky to live in such a lovely natural spot, some units have a view over the Mersey River and Victoria Parade park lands, where you can watch Spirit of Tasmania sail past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It is nice when you are away on business to stay somewhere that feels a bit like home. Birchwood on the river is certainly just like this. The apartment is homely, comfortable and clean. Rex is a very friendly and only too eager to help. You can enjoy a peaceful and relaxing walk along the river or admire the lovely garden at Birchwood. Birchwood is well located on the Mersey River and is reasonably priced. I intend to continue to stay on my twice yearly visit to Devonport in the future.

Alan - Victoria

Room Tip: The Garden View Room is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
It is always rewarding to have regular business people return to Birchwood Devonport self contained Accommodation, it indicates we are doing things right.
We are keen to ensure our high standards are maintained and we enjoy comments on our gardens as we like such a lovely hobby of seeing mother nature at work, bringing beauty and colour into our gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield Park, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

How surprised were we when we arrived at our destination for the night. It was a great when we were shown where we wee spending the night, wish it was more as it was like a home awayfrom home. Close to everything that we wanted and Rex & Julienne were so lovely.We take our hats off to them because it was a great experience, would really recommend Birchwood on the River to anyone wanting to stay at Devonport. Please if you go to Devonport give them a ring ad you will be very surprised. Thanks Rex & Julian
From Ann & Jurgen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Yes we have a lovely spot in Devonport, we meet some lovely people / guests who visit us at Birchwood Devonport self contained Accommodation, we endeavour to make a home away from home welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

An excellent place to stay with views.of the river from the upstairs apartment,the owners Rex and Julianne do everything to make your stay enjoyable and their garden is superb .Birchwood is only a pleasant walk along the river to Devonport and an easy drive to the many other attractions .We have stayed at birchwood previously and hope to do again.T&E

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nambucca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Our close proximity to Devonport Qantas airport and Spirit of Tasmania ferry birth is great and easy to find us at Birchwood, Devonport self contained Accommodation.
Devonport is a good central base for any potential tourist / guest to explore and do day trips to Cradle Mountain, The Nut at Stanley and some of Tasmania's most scenic attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

How good is it to have a really nice apartment only 10 mins drive from the airport and less than 2 hrs to beautiful mountains. Across the road a cyclepath/walkway up to lookout points and lighthouse, 5 mins drive to a steam train! A nice 10-15 min walk to shops, cinemas, supermarkets. We went up the coast to Wynyard and found great scenery, coffee and markets, inland to see Sheffield's mural public art streets, Alum cliffs,a chocolate factory, cheese factory and a raspberry farm with great food. All in 3 days. The apartment was roomy, the bed comfortable, the shower hot and the kitchen had everything we needed. Great welcome from Rex and Julianne. We are fussy when it comes to cleanliness and nice'feel' .. this gets a 5 from us, we'll be back. Liz and Ron

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Our aim is to provide a homely welcome and assist tourists / guests to get the most out of their visit to our lovely Tasmania.
We have a chance of a lifetime to bring enjoyment to others who visit Devonport, a beautiful place to live.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 14 in Devonport
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation

Property: Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation
Address: 31 Victoria Pde | 31 Victoria Parade, Devonport, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchwood, Devonport self contained self catering accommodation. Spirit of Tasmania sails past Birchwood Accommodation daily, Qantas Devonport airport 10 minutes away. Ideal base - place to stay in comfort to explore Tasmania, the wildlife, wilderness, clean air and relaxing lifestyle. Great for long or short term accommodation,for corporate or holiday guests in private modern facilities. Ideal base for guests to explore Northern Tasmania, lovely gardens, walking / excercise / jog / bike track adjacent, park lands and ocean / river views. Easy to do day trips for business or visit TASMANIA's most scenic attractions, Cradle Mountain, Stanley, wildlife, wilderness to enjoy relaxing and home away from home experience in Tasmania all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood, Devonport Self Contained Accommodation Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing