We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem of a cottage”

Devonport Bed and Breakfast - Cameo Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devonport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devonport Bed and Breakfast - Cameo Cottage
Ranked #9 of 14 Devonport B&B and Inns
canberra ACT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Little gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is an older style cottage which has been very charmingly redecorated and furnished. As our previous accommodation had been motel style, it was a pleasure to walk in and to see that there was an entire cottage at our disposal. The living room is a pleasure to sit in and has a very cosy gas fireplace. Bed linen, towels were all excellent quality and all the beds have electric blankets. Apart from very generous breakfast supplies, we enjoyed the choice of teas, coffee and home made biscuits. There is a widescreen television, DVD player and CD player. The owner is very welcoming and helpful. And it is spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanbluecanberraACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Cottage is situated within the city area and easy walking distance to town. Nice and clean with lovely linen. Loved the lilac and white colours in the main bedroom. Plenty of crockery and kitchen implements available. Thoughtful touches like laundry powder and washing basket make cottage suitable for more than over-night stays. Would recommend to other travellers and will use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mintie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My daughter and I loved staying at Cameo Cottage. Our only regret is that we didn't stay there longer. The house is beautifully decorated in light colours, with lovely decorative details like the "painted egg tree" (we loved it!!). The fresh linen and abundant fresh towels were perfect. For a clean freak like me this was heaven. Every cup, glass and saucer was impeccably clean. The breakfasts were delicious; fresh bread, eggs, homemade biscuits, chocolates, even walnuts and a nutcracker! The host arranged smoked salmon for us when she found out we don't eat bacon. Deborah, the host, could not have been more welcoming and attentive. It was lovely and peaceful and the beds were incredibly comfortable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Cameo Cottage was a treat to stay at. Very pretty and spotlessly clean. The free port, biscuits and lollies were a nice touch. It would be a great place to stay for a week and because it has a separate bedroom with two single beds great for a family. My husband and I enjoyed our stay here very much and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell_37_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeton, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed in this delightful cottage for three days. Just behind the row of houses next to the river, It was quiet, spacious, clean and very well appointed. Deborah was very welcoming on our arrival but then left us to enjoy the cottage in peace. We appreciated the little "extras" provided such as the jar of home-made cookies, plunger coffee, wide range of quality teas, a decanter of port and glasses, free-range eggs (rather than cage) and lashes of bacon. The house was also filled with beautiful fresh roses. The bedrooms(2) were large and comfortable and the bathroom/laundry combination was also large and functional with a new and modern washing machine (washing powder also provided). A well-maintained and slightly perfumed cottage garden surrounds the house, giving privacy and a feeling of tranquility. We were invited to make use of the garden and to pick whatever flowers we liked.

We used the cottage as a base to explore the surrounding region, visiting the wineries, chocolate and cheese factories of the area, exploring the Cradle Mountain national park, and travelling to the north west to Stanley and the Nut. The accommodation suited us perfectly and we felt very much at home. I would love to visit Tasmania again and I would definitely book Cameo Cottage for at least a week. It was also the best value for money that we found on our 12 day trip!

Room Tip: Suits couples or families of up to four. Wheelchair accessible. Stay for up to a week - its a wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leetonozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at Cameo Cottage for a week because of the death of a close relative so were not really holidaying but found the accommodation suited our needs and would be suitable for a range of purposes. Very clean, well appointed and the service was unobtrusive but excellent. Cottage was serviced once during our stay at our convenience. Breakfast provisions were generous and varied. Nice little extras included fresh flowers, chocolates, nuts and port. The bathroom was adequate but the finish perhaps not quite up to the standard of the rest of the cottage. Large bath, plenty of hot water and good water pressure made up for this. Would highly recommend for a few nights and as a base to explore the area. Devonport itself is not that thrilling but it is in the midst of some of the loveliest countryside you will see anywhere. Easy day trips to Cradle Mountain, Deloraine, Stanley and many other Tassie attractions.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suvahousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2006

We stayed at this charming cottage for a week. It was very clean, nicely decorated and had a lovely garden, with a BBQ, which we unfortunately never got around to using. There are two bedrooms, a lounge with fireplace, a nice kitchen and large bathroom with a clawfoot tub/shower. It was quiet and close to the river where there is a very good walking path, you can go for miles.

Helpful?
4 Thank Call_us_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 14 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonport Bed and Breakfast - Cameo Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonport Bed and Breakfast - Cameo Cottage

Property: Devonport Bed and Breakfast - Cameo Cottage
Address: 27 Victoria Pde | Access cottage at the back via Walpole Place off Nicholls Street, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameo is a 2 bedroom, self contained cottage which you will have entirely to yourself! Breakfast is included in the overnight price. Enjoy the cottage style garden and the relaxed setting, close to the CBD. The fully equipped kitchen means Cameo is a perfect base to locate yourself while touring the North West Coast of Tasmania. Enjoy a night in with plenty of DVD's to select from and settle in with a complimentary glass of port, toffees, nuts or freshly baked biscuits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devonport Bed And Breakfast - Cameo Cottage Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing