We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I,m telling you this is very good Indian food”
Review of Indian Affair - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Indian Affair
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I,m telling you this is very good Indian food”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Food is good tasty service is fast and efficient ,staff are friendly
good choice of beers ,what more could you want

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rascalsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wont Go Again”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I am sorry but the food does not taste Indian, the chef is a Sri Lankan who has given Indian name to the restaurant, however, the food is less than ordinary. I have never tasted such a bad butter chicken in my life, and the paneer matter was worse, topped with green peas which was taken out from the fridge and the paneer is melted cube of curd. For the price of $18.50 each dish, I think you deserve something better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Suresh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I'm not sure who has written the previous reviews but my experience was far from excellent.
Yes the Naan were very fresh & enjoyable.
Yes the waiter was very friendly, perhaps even a little too friendly.
But it all became very disappointing from there.
The main course was served on a metal tray reminiscent of a camping experience.When the Aloo Chicken was served I searched for the pieces of chicken......I could find no obvious pieces of chicken meat.The only discernable pieces of food were potato.
The Dahl was a similar experience ....it was difficult to find discernable Lentils this time.
To rate this restaurant 4 out of 41 in Devonport is quite misleading. The others must be absolutly terrible.
I will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Prema and his lamb make it a local treats”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great value from the lively chef/maitre'd/ bottle washer Prema, The spices lamb chops are excellent and the curries to follow are an interesting mix. An unobtrusive treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Triquii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Oh gosh, I have to say I have to get my indian food fix from this place at least once a month if not more, I love it! I've been working my way through the list of curries and also going back to some favorites. also if your game try the mango yogurt drink! delish!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybdagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Affair also viewed

 
Devonport, Tasmania
 
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing