We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gerat views”
Review of Saffire Freycinet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saffire Freycinet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Gerat views”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A great room with modern facilities, a large private terrace and stunning views. An excellent spa with friendly staff. The Hotel is situated on a very long sandy beach which is perfect for a good long walk. The breakfasts were great with a good choice, lunch was very casual in the bar area with a lovely selection of salads and a choice of two cooked dishes. Dinner was great and you do not have to stick to the menu ask the chef what he has fresh as well - no excuse for oysters with the oyster farm down the road. There are quite a few steps so this is really only suitable for the reasonably fit and not for wheelchairs as it would be difficult to get to the beach. Great place to completely get away from it all.

Room Tip: They all face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
406
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We arrived with high expectations and these were exceeded. From the welcome at the end of the drive to the water and dried fruit sent with us when we left, the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Location is superb with a view to die for. Rooms are stunning too, with everything you need for a relaxed stay. Spa offers all the pampering you could imagine. Gym is small but there is so much else to do you might skip a visit. Food v good and highlights local ingredients. Wine list is extensive and global but lots of local entries. We are already thinking of excuses to return for a longer visit. Oh, and don't forget to take at least one of the Saffire Experiences led by an in house guide

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonOzbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This place is just amazing. If you want truly superb food, wonderful service, amazing views, to be treated like royalty and to leave with the feeling of having your expectations exceeded; then look no further. Book your stay.

You need to stay in a place like this at least once in your life. The Saffire Freycinet is absolutely worth every single cent. The Staff are all such wonderful pleasant people, The Spa was the best massage both myself and my wife have ever had, the architecture is magnificent, the views are to die for, the rooms are stunning and the food is incredible. We treated ourselves to the in-room dining service that comes with your own personal chef. Our chef (Tim Cahill look alike) was such a pleasant gentleman and cooked us the most divine 5 course meal (matched every course with a wine) we have ever had. It was just spectacular and it is an experience we will never forget.

We would like to thank the entire Staff at The Saffire. We would especially like to thank Micah who looked after us from the first moment we spoke. You were the sole reason we decided to stay at The Saffire and we can't ever thank you enough for all the above and beyond extras that you did for us. THANK YOU again and take care of your lovely Wife. Also, a big thanks to our Chef & His Gorgeous Pastry Chef Partner, Ben, Mark, Ashleigh, Jess & Justin (hope you guys have a fantastic wedding!), Toby & Partner, Russel, and anybody else who we dealt with or spoke to during our stay.

J&D

Room Tip: Treat yourself and get a private pavillion and in room dining for at least one night. Ask for the Ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Without doubt, in this world you get what you pay for.....
At Saffire you get an awful lot more than you have paid for.
From the moment the staff sense your arrival at the entrance gate to the moment they bid you farewell nothing is too much trouble. Every detail is perfect. Every meal exquisite. This is quality Hospitality, their can be nothing finer.
And when you do leave and head to Hobart Airport Elise is on hand at
the Saffire lounge to attend to your every last minute need.
What a wonderful way to spend a special birthday. Thank you one and all. You really have set the bar very high and deserve your success.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmsloAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Saffire has definitely met our expectation as one of the luxury accommodation in Australia. We liked the exclusiveness of the resort with only a small number of guests. Service was excellent, friendly, welcoming and well catered (especially for I had special dietary requirement). Almost every member from Saffire remembers your name.

Excellent location with short rides to some of the walks and point of interest. We liked the guided tours to the Wineglass Lookout and the Marine Farm. Though it is located close to the beach, the water was way too cold for a dip (found out the average is below 10c), even at 30c heat during the day. It would be nice if there is a heated pool.

Saffire has made our Tasmania trip stand out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our time at Saffire was without doubt one of the finest experiences we have ever had. From our initial contact to the moment we left (and beyond!) the Saffire team treated us wonderfully. Our room was magnificent and when I flagged the problem with the boiling water tap at 6am , Mel was on our doorstep with a kettle within minutes.

Their attention to our dietary requirements was superb – we would never normally eat a degustation menu but presented with such fabulous courses , what choice did we have? Breakfast and lunch were equally amazing. Perhaps a minor criticism - the wait between courses at dinner was too long.

We really enjoyed our activities – James is to be especially commended for his patience with us on the quad bikes. And I really enjoyed my treatment at the Spa.

We will definitely go back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 2 nights stay at Saffire with our 4 month old baby. 'Luxury' and 'baby-friendly' don't often go together but Saffire somehow manages to get it very right.

Room: We stayed in the private pavilion which had a separate bedroom which meant when bub was napping, we were able to enjoy that gorgeous view and a drink in the living/dining area. The dining area also meant we were able to dine in without the hassle of bringing bub to the restaurant.The kitchenette was extremely handy for heating up and sterilising bottles. The private plunge pool, though small, was all we needed for a quick dip and splash around.

Food: We had breakfast at the restaurant one morning and had it in the room the next. On both occasions, the food arrived promptly and tasted great. The poached eggs on our eggs benny was perfectly cooked and topped with the most delicious crispy pancetta ever. Saffire had organised a babysitter for us for both nights. So while bub slept, we were able to duck out for a romantic dinner at Palate restaurant while watching the sun set. The food at dinner service was phenomenal. The chef worked his magic with the fresh local produce and created some of the most delicious dishes we have eaten.

Activities: We went on the Marine Farm tour which we highly recommend. So much fun and of course eating freshly shucked oysters right where they are grown is quite the experience!!

Service: Excellent. There is nothing we can fault about our stay at Saffire from the airport lounge to check out. We are very grateful that guest services had organised such lovely babysitters for us and had set up a cot for us on arrival. All our needs were met promptly and with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinTKing, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Tricia K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, and what a pleasure it was to have you with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Freycinet is such a special area to us, and we love to share it. The marine farm has become an iconic way that we can do this, so I am happy that you enjoyed the experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant so much. I have passed on your praise to the entire brigade and they very much appreciate the kind words.
Finally, thank you for your warm and gracious comments about the team. We are very lucky that we have such a wonderfully dedicated group of individuals who simply want to make your visit as enjoyable as possible.
Tricia, it means so much to us that you chose to share some time at Saffire. We very much look forward to welcoming you back!
Warmest Regards
Justin King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
17.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffire Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffire Freycinet

Property: Saffire Freycinet
Address: 2352 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saffire Freycinet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffire Freycinet is Australia’s luxury lodge on Tasmania’s East Coast adjacent to Coles Bay and overlooking the Freycinet Peninsula, famed for the iconic Wineglass Bay. Delivering sophisticated and intimate style and an inspirational experience, our Tasmanian accommodation blends mankind and nature with breathtaking beauty. Featuring 20 luxurious suites, exclusive day spa, restaurant, guest lounge and bar, this five-star plus luxury lodge experience is a celebration of the art of service, internal and external wellbeing, local culinary delights, ancient landscapes and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saffire Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffire Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Saffire Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing