We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saffire...a gem!!”
Review of Saffire Freycinet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saffire Freycinet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Saffire...a gem!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Saffire Freycinet Resort in Coles Bay Tasmania is an experience that can only be experienced and not described. The amazing staff headed by Justin transports you to another level in service and comfort. Starting from their huge, well stocked and comfortable lounge at Hobart’s airport to the personalised greeting on arrival at the resort you know this is going to be different to anything you have experienced before.
Saffire does nothing in half measures from the quality of their food & wine to the level of friendliness of their staff, to the ambience of the whole complex, to the hot water bottle at the end of your bed when you return after a magnificent meal at night. Even when it was time to leave Justin escorted us out to our car to farewell us, a personal touch I have never received before from a General Manager. As we drove off my wife & I felt like they had mistaken us for celebrities but in reality very guest is a very important person.
Thank you Justin and your staff for an experience I will treasure forever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lee747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
406
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

From the minute you drive up to the entrance you know it is going to be special.
We were met at the front by someone who already knew our name, we left our car went to reception then taken to our room and our bags were already there.
From there on everything was outstanding - the setting is perfect, surroundings like a painted backdrop, the rooms were amazing.
The food is all local produce prepared to make it shine.
The unlimited number of activities and options from walking on the beach to flying over the bay and the mountains, from a nature walk to an oyster farm and so much more made it a fantastic few days.
Treat yourself for a very special occasion or just because you want something special.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband & I were lucky enough to spend 2 nights here in January (without children which makes it awesome to start with!).

We received a fabulous welcome & champagne on arrival, our bags were retrieved from our car and made it to our room before we did.

The rooms are massive with views to die for.

The food was out of this world, and pairing with wines, etc was just fabulous.

We thoroughly enjoyed our cooking class with one of the chefs, and a tour of the kitchen afterwards.

The staff were so friendly and accommodating, although quite a few of them were very new in their position. I have a feeling it may be difficult to employ and retain staff given the remote location of the resort.

We sampled the spa as well, which was just fantastic.

Would have loved to have stayed just a little bit longer although I'm not sure my waistline would have been happy about it!

A once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serenity444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Saffire for our honeymoon in April 2013. After the first night, we were so impressed that we extended our stay by one night. The food is fantastic and the servers and kitchen staff are happy to accommodate requests. We made up our own tasting menu each night from the a la carte offerings are the wine pairings were always spot on. The property has exceptional architecture and design. You really feel like you're outdoors at all times. Finally, the staff goes above and beyond to make you feel special, taken care of, and pampered. This is the epitome of 5 star!

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there is a bad room as the property is so well designed and intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Saffire this past May. We had a lovely stay. Below are a list of what we liked and what they could improve.

Likes:

1. Food was really great. Classic French cooking but with local ingredients. We especially enjoyed the variety of local fish and the oysters. Breakfast and dinner are a la carte. Lunch includes a salad buffet as well as a la carte meat dishes.
2. Service in the dining room was very good.
3. Oyster farm tour was awesome.
4. Room was quite luxurious.
5. The Hobart airport lounge

Suggestions

1. Get nespresso machines! Plunger coffee in the room is verey messy.
2. There was a note in the mini-bar that items were for on-site consumption only and that if you didn't leave wrappers evidencing such consumption, you would be charged! Keep in mind the rate is ~1850/night.
3. Drinks menu in dining room was confusing. It listed package included wines but did not separate out the other drinks. The wines in the room was not available in the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My partner surprised me with a weekend away to Saffire where he proposed. I was completely blown away by the entire experience. The view, the staff, the food, the rooms - I couldn't fault it. Thank you so much to the whole team for making our weekend so special. I couldn't recommend this resort highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spent 5 nights in January 2014 and it was an amazing getaway experience, from the welcome glass of champagne to the signature experiences everything was perfect!!! The food well that is on another level again. not once in our 5 night stay did any of the meals served were repeated!!!! praise to head chef and all kitchen staff. We have been back a few months now but i still cant forget the wonderful experience.

Thank you Justin and Hugh and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
17.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffire Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffire Freycinet

Property: Saffire Freycinet
Address: 2352 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saffire Freycinet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffire Freycinet is Australia’s luxury lodge on Tasmania’s East Coast adjacent to Coles Bay and overlooking the Freycinet Peninsula, famed for the iconic Wineglass Bay. Delivering sophisticated and intimate style and an inspirational experience, our Tasmanian accommodation blends mankind and nature with breathtaking beauty. Featuring 20 luxurious suites, exclusive day spa, restaurant, guest lounge and bar, this five-star plus luxury lodge experience is a celebration of the art of service, internal and external wellbeing, local culinary delights, ancient landscapes and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saffire Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffire Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Saffire Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing