We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do you beat perfection”
Review of Saffire Freycinet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saffire Freycinet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Well Saffire can.

This was my second visit and if you rad the previous review you'll note I was pretty darn happy.

This time……

I don't know where to start. Room type doesn't matter, you are all equal and that equals perfection. Dietary requirements…. not an issue… share table… a special dish for you.

Experiences (no they are not tours) The guide suits your needs and thanks to Daisy my confidence to walk again grew so I ended up doing more challenging walks at Cradle Mountain than i may have before Saffire. Ashleigh's mixology is about to cost me a lot of $$ to stock the bar (but his awesome sense of humour is another gem…. he also assembles an wonderful pineapple and wagyu skewer ;)

Food….. Hugh oversees a knock your socks off kitchen and those oysters… Zane and Kelly's cooking lessons

the question is not will i return it is how soon can i get back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

There are some events in your life that require a celebration. That you recognise the importance by doing something out of the ordinary. My wife and my visit to Saffire was such a celebration. When we parked at the entrance a staff member was already waiting for us. She knew our name, our car was whisked away with our luggage and we accompanied are hostess into the stunning main building for sparkling wine welcome. The building sat extremely well in the landscape allowing us magnificent views of Muirs Beach and the Hazards. After our welcome we accompanied our host to our villa.
Our luggage was already there. Our villa was spacious with extensive use of Tasmanian Timbers and hand crafted Tasmanian furnishings which whilst being things of beauty were blissfully comfortable and warm. From the seats to the lounges to the bed comfort and beautiful design went hand in hand.
It was lovely to just immerse yourselves in this " cocoon".
So much did we enjoy our room that we cancelled the organised wine tour and spent the afternoon sitting on the private deck enjoying the changing moods of the hazards and the extensive complimentary mini bar.
Not withstanding to buildings and the environment I think the biggest asset of Saffire are the staff. They are most professional across the board and have that innate ability to know when to engage in detailed conversation or just pass.
The meals were simply outstanding and where ever possible reflected local produce and wine in a world class way.
We didn't want to leave and nobody seemed in a rush to get you out so we sat in the main building and just chilled (as my son says)
When leaving our car was already at the front entrance with a little complimentary travelling pack. Which was a lovely touch.
I think without a doubt that it was the best hotel experience that I have ever had and we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms look beautiful. Do not overload your program and take advantage of the room. Allow time to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank billea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We are not unfamiliar with luxury accommodation yet were still absolutely astounded with Saffire. It is pricey and we had wondered if we would feel it did not meet the price. In no way did it not absolutely exceed all expectations. The staff were superb. All of them. There was no task that was someone else's domain, they all worked seamlessly and effortlessly to ensure our stay was perfect. They offered advice, were completely flexible with our plans and could not have done more.
The food-sublime, truly. The chef deserves special mention here, every meal was unbelievable. We ate like royalty. Only down side now after 4 nights we must hike 10 miles per day to work it off!
I would say if you can stay at least 2 nights so you don't feel rushed to do everything and get to relax.

Room Tip: There are only 20 and I don't think you could go wrong, we chose the superior room and were amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmajb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Saffire Freycinet Resort in Coles Bay Tasmania is an experience that can only be experienced and not described. The amazing staff headed by Justin transports you to another level in service and comfort. Starting from their huge, well stocked and comfortable lounge at Hobart’s airport to the personalised greeting on arrival at the resort you know this is going to be different to anything you have experienced before.
Saffire does nothing in half measures from the quality of their food & wine to the level of friendliness of their staff, to the ambience of the whole complex, to the hot water bottle at the end of your bed when you return after a magnificent meal at night. Even when it was time to leave Justin escorted us out to our car to farewell us, a personal touch I have never received before from a General Manager. As we drove off my wife & I felt like they had mistaken us for celebrities but in reality very guest is a very important person.
Thank you Justin and your staff for an experience I will treasure forever.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lee747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From the minute you drive up to the entrance you know it is going to be special.
We were met at the front by someone who already knew our name, we left our car went to reception then taken to our room and our bags were already there.
From there on everything was outstanding - the setting is perfect, surroundings like a painted backdrop, the rooms were amazing.
The food is all local produce prepared to make it shine.
The unlimited number of activities and options from walking on the beach to flying over the bay and the mountains, from a nature walk to an oyster farm and so much more made it a fantastic few days.
Treat yourself for a very special occasion or just because you want something special.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband & I were lucky enough to spend 2 nights here in January (without children which makes it awesome to start with!).

We received a fabulous welcome & champagne on arrival, our bags were retrieved from our car and made it to our room before we did.

The rooms are massive with views to die for.

The food was out of this world, and pairing with wines, etc was just fabulous.

We thoroughly enjoyed our cooking class with one of the chefs, and a tour of the kitchen afterwards.

The staff were so friendly and accommodating, although quite a few of them were very new in their position. I have a feeling it may be difficult to employ and retain staff given the remote location of the resort.

We sampled the spa as well, which was just fantastic.

Would have loved to have stayed just a little bit longer although I'm not sure my waistline would have been happy about it!

A once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serenity444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Saffire for our honeymoon in April 2013. After the first night, we were so impressed that we extended our stay by one night. The food is fantastic and the servers and kitchen staff are happy to accommodate requests. We made up our own tasting menu each night from the a la carte offerings are the wine pairings were always spot on. The property has exceptional architecture and design. You really feel like you're outdoors at all times. Finally, the staff goes above and beyond to make you feel special, taken care of, and pampered. This is the epitome of 5 star!

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there is a bad room as the property is so well designed and intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
473 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
380 reviews
17.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,114 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffire Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffire Freycinet

Address: 2352 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range: £1,187 - £1,582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saffire Freycinet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffire Freycinet is Australia’s luxury lodge on Tasmania’s East Coast adjacent to Coles Bay and overlooking the Freycinet Peninsula, famed for the iconic Wineglass Bay. Delivering sophisticated and intimate style and an inspirational experience, our Tasmanian accommodation blends mankind and nature with breathtaking beauty. Featuring 20 luxurious suites, exclusive day spa, restaurant, guest lounge and bar, this five-star plus luxury lodge experience is a celebration of the art of service, internal and external wellbeing, local culinary delights, ancient landscapes and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saffire Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffire Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Saffire Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing