We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location and a culinary heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffire Freycinet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saffire Freycinet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning location and a culinary heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

My wife and I are dedicated admirers of the Baillie Lodges (Capella and SOL) and visited Tasmania and Saffire at their suggestion. We were certainly not disappointed!

I need not describe the fantastic setting and ultra-modern new buildings- they are just as described on the website- except to say that the view of the Hazards from the restaurant and rooms has to be one of the best in the world. The room itself (number 14, a mid-level suite) was spacious and well-appointed. Some guests have remarked about lack of privacy of the bath and the need for drapes on the upper windows. We found neither to be an issue- in fact we always leave all of the blinds up anyway! We had one day of rain and spent it relaxing in the room with champagne from the mini-bar. The only thing missing was an Ecosmart fireplace (as at SOL).

We had a private one-day guided tour with Veronica (who we knew from SOL) of the nature park (the wombat is to die for) with a plentiful lunch at Frecinet Winery and visit to several beaches. This was a most memorable day and the weather was lovely. Due to our short stay (2 days) and rainy weather we did not partake of the many other possibilities (boat trips, fishing, mountain biking, hiking, etc) and will leave them for next time. We had massages at the spa upon arrival that were probably the best we have ever had- a great cure for jet-lag.

The food at the restaurant was another highlight. Service was friendly and efficient and the servers were very knowledgeable about the local wines (which flowed quite freely). Although we usually do not do tasting menus, we tried it the second night and were so impressed we had it again the next night. The tasting menu changed every two nights so we had a different menu each night. Portions were significant (but not too large) and the food was highly imaginative. We allowed the server (usually Byron) to pare Tasmanian wines with each course and they just seemed to get better and better (large pours helped of course!). We had been in London the previous month and there was nothing that compared with the food at Saffire! We highly recommend the all-inclusive package (all meals, wine, etc.) as there is probably no restaurant in Tasmania that could compare, let alone locally. We noted that the dining room was full on our last evening and we can understand why.

Matt, the GM, was present every evening and was a welcoming host. He was very interested in our impressions of the hotel and noted our comments about the fireplaces. As the hotel is only one year old we are sure they will sort out this kind of issue in the future.

It would be hard to match a Baillie Lodge but Saffire comes close. Like Capella and SOL, Saffire is expensive to be sure. Given the remote and stunning location, fantastic architecture, professional level of service , and with virtually everything included, it seemed like a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KauaiRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
397
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I spent two nights here in January. The resort was amazingly designed, with attention to detail and the most amazing room/suite. Food was beautiful with some wonderful wines included in the tariff. I highly recommend having the meal inclusive tariff, as it makes dinner a much more relaxing affair. We loved the more casual gourmet BBQ for Australia Day!
Try and book your activities and spa sessions prior to arrival - I highly recommend a massage with Felicity and the oyster farm trip.
We really did feel that nothing was too much trouble. Next time I'll stay for longer!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stayed at Saffire to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We wanted something exceptional and memorable that would do justice to such a special event. we were not disappointed. The accommodation was very high class - at least 5-star plus. The value was outstanding with most things included in the price of the room. The staff were friendly. efficient, courteous and unobtrusive. The location is stunning and no photograph can do it justice. However, the real highlight was the food and wine. I had the best dessert I have ever eaten - a panacotta that was out of this world. The rest of the food and wine we enjoyed was stunning. The degustation dinner is a must. In summary, the three days we spent at Saffire were worth waiting 40 years for. You won't be disappointed either.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripperTomTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

"In this place where the cerulean sky collides with the azure ocean, Earth’s fire brought forth precious blue stones which were found scattered amongst the pink hued granite. The Freycinet sapphire. Inspired by the blue flame burning within these stones, and the glorious fiery peaks of the Hazards, Sapphire has risen from its surroundings as a sanctuary that is truly in touch with the beauty and depth of nature." This is the inscribed legend which greets you on arrival and if you can swallow this imbecilic guff matched by equally pretentious room names "Alpha Centuari" and "Lichen" (what is wrong with 5 and 11?) you may enjoy the experience. The rooms are spacious, the staff friendly and the equipment high tech (including the Bugatti kettle which did not come with the explanatory CD which the manufacturer provides with each one sold) and the food is good and sometimes better than that. However, with the degree of hype with which every new venture in this field feels necessary to promote itself, there is always the danger that you will ask, "Is this it." To build a reputation it is better to under promise and over deliver.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
383 reviews
375 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Saffire Freycinet

Pros
1) spacious stylish comfy rooms with wall to wall ceiling to floor windows, with fantastic views of the Hazard Mountains and the sapphire blue water.   
2) good service/ friendly staff: enjoyed the chats with the various staff.
3) where else can you be in Tasmania after a cold cloudy morning of kayaking with black swans followed by a sunny hike to the Wineglass bay, knowing that you could look forward to a hot luxurious bubble bath with panoramic views of the beautiful landscape before downing some fine pinot noirs with your six course tasting menu (loved the Panorama and Freycinet pinots)
4) short stroll to the lovely beach with lots of pied oyster catchers, lovely long days to enjoy the beach (it was bright 615 am to 815 pm when I was here)
5) had a great massage at the spa, my therapist was Felicity, and I thought only HK spas " get it " (deep tissue is best done via pressure points using thumbs, not elbows)
6) found it interesting a previous tripadvisor reviewer commented you'd get bored after more than one night here?! We must have been at different hotels. There were a variety of activities (guided, non guided) and the food menu changed all three nights I was here....( did the tasting one night and ala carte the other two), between spas, hikes, the beach, the kayaking, the vineyards, I spent three perfect nights here, not too rushed, just the right pace (there were other free guided activities I didn't have time to try ie the Oyster farm, cooking classes etc), plus you could easily drive off to see other parts of Tas.  

Cons
1) was at Wolgan Valley two months ago, Saffire Freycinet would be that much more perfect if SF had swimming pools.... and yes, two way heated fireplaces as well
2) rooms were bright in the morning but... Well I never sleep with my blinds down at home
3) not cheap but after three weeks in Ethiopia (bedbugs, no shower/ water) I needed this indulgent break.  

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at Saffire Lodge in January 2011 and were completely blown away by its impeccable service, location, and overall style.

First and foremost, architecturally, this resort is outstanding. The detail and craftsmanship that has gone into delivering such a high-end product is really commendable. The main building is a fantastic blend of modern design with warm earthy tones and natural materials. This is carried through to each of the guest rooms effortlessly and I really could not fault anything the team there have delivered.

I particularly loved the extremely comfortable beds, the general size of the guest rooms (huge), and the gadgets. Lighting and external louvers in the rooms are all electronically controlled and apart from being user friendly and practical, they’re a heap of fun to use. We did however experience an electronic glitch one night, but ultimately it was handled so professionally, I will not even bother mentioning it detail.

The mini bar is all included, which I think is a great touch. Sure, your stay is far from cheap, but you really feel like they offer you an abundance of food and wine.

The hotel’s restaurant cannot be faulted. From breakfast lunch and dinner, every morsel of food we ordered was perfectly presented and better than most fine-dining restaurants we frequent in Melbourne. Pre-dinner ‘Managers drinks’ are also a lovely touch. At no stage did we ever feel that the staff were under-doing the food or wine, and if anything, we had more than enough. It was lovely to feel like you were at someone’s home – just a really well catered one.

The Spa is just as you would expect in a high-end hotel. They’ve achieved a very restful space and the staff are professional, friendly and well trained.

The location is stunning. Very quiet. Very picturesque. There are also some fabulous (world class) walking tracks nearby to walk off all the delicacies you will have consumed during your stay, and the direct beach access means an evening stroll is effortless.

We simply could not fault this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clumsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed for two nights at Saffire and wished we had more time there. The service was generous, friendly and relaxed in a very polished way. Gorgeous rooms with many decadent touches that provided beautiful views accross water to The Hazards.
The food & wine was a highlight, we tried the 5 course tasting menu and the a la carte dinner menus and both were excellent. Breakkie & lunches & pre dinner were also top notch. Whilst there we ventured out to a marine farm, for oysters and sparkling like never before, the quadbike tour to a gorgeous beach as well as a winery tour & tasting. My welcome massage at the spa was very welcome, whilst hubby took out a supplied mountain bike for a ride that came complete with maps, water and even a phone! Congrats to Matt & the team on putting together a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmk251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
17.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffire Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffire Freycinet

Property: Saffire Freycinet
Address: 2352 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Saffire Freycinet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffire Freycinet is Australia’s luxury lodge on Tasmania’s East Coast adjacent to Coles Bay and overlooking the Freycinet Peninsula, famed for the iconic Wineglass Bay. Delivering sophisticated and intimate style and an inspirational experience, our Tasmanian accommodation blends mankind and nature with breathtaking beauty. Featuring 20 luxurious suites, exclusive day spa, restaurant, guest lounge and bar, this five-star plus luxury lodge experience is a celebration of the art of service, internal and external wellbeing, local culinary delights, ancient landscapes and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saffire Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffire Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Saffire Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing