We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of paradise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Freycinet Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Freycinet Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Coles Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A touch of paradise...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights at the Eco Reatreat recently, and cannot speak highly enough about the experience... Phillipa & Virginia are amazing, and provided great tips on things to do in the area (of which we did all!). The accommodation itself is nothing less than idyllic, with an incredible view and modern facilities... it really felt like a true escape from the world, a place of serenity where Wallabies and other wildlife jump right up to the back door. The attention to detail of the hosts was not unnoticed, from the music playing when we arrived, to the booklets and movies among many other things...thank you, we will definitely be back (Ps, we also loved the homemade bread and the beautiful log fireplace).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petebarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Saltwater Shack for two nights at the tail end of our ten day stay in Tasmania. The emails sent before you arrive are very helpful and really describe where you are well. Everything needed for a cosy comfortable stay is here and it is not far to the local area's attractions but so private that you are able to relax and unwind completely.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Perfect setting to experience the natural surrounds and the wildlife. I have always loved the sound of the ocean at night but thought the sound of the frogs was just as delightful. The fire was warm and cozy as it was raining the afternoon we arrived. The next morning was clear so we set off for Coles Bay, Bicheno and made the most of all this stunning area has to offer.

We did not see the wombat but wallabies were at the back door in the mornings and a deer crossed our path. We were in the first leg of our Tassie trip and found this beautiful private setting the perfect antidote to the everyday stress of the city. Our hosts were lovely and they clearly are devoted to their little piece of paradise.

I loved reading the story in the shack of their efforts and building experiences when they established their eco resort. A nature treat.

Room Tip: Saltwater Shack was lovely. Very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzieQoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed two nights at Saltwater shack & wished we'd stayed longer. It was a comfortable & peaceful location. We loved the walk up Mt Paul on the property & all the wildlife. It was so relaxing to sit either inside or on the veranda & listen to the frogs. We cooked dinner in both nights as we didn't want to leave. It's a perfect place to stay to explore the Freycinet area we had so much helpful advice from our hosts about what to see & do. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark and Roz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freycineteco, Owner at Freycinet Retreat, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Saltwater Shack, and the insights in your review are especially important to us as you yourselves run accommodation on the Great Ocean Road. As you know, we followed up with you to ask what could have made it a five star experience, and others may be interested to see your reply: "Yes, we loved our stay at your place. Just magic. In hindsight we should have given it 5 stars. Tried to change it but don't think Tripadvisor allows it."
Apparently people quite often ask to edit their Tripadvisor reviews or change their ratings, but currently the only way to do it is to delete the first review and then repost with the amendments - seems a bit cumbersome doesn't it?
We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Phillippa and Virginia took us under their wing at the start of our 7 Day stay, providing us with all the local knowledge of value experiences before we even set foot in Lodge 1. We booked 3 mths in advance (as celebrating our 25th) and could not have asked for a better location and hosts. From the time of first communication Phillippa was most helpful and sent a lovely guide to the local area which made planning our days all the more easier.
Yes, we paid a little more than the "going rate" (which is a subjective term at best) however privacy was assured and nothing too much for our hosts. It was so, so quiet - no kids running around and no road noise. Even when we ran out of tea light candles, which wasn't a large issue for us, Phillippa replaced them same day, left neatly on the microwave whilst we were out exploring.
Like the last review (from 'Boaster') the nature, wildlife and views are spectacular - plus for a couple this was our dream getaway from our large family - who were quite capable in our absence BTW. Weather doesn't really matter because there's a wood fire, movies and IPod loaded with relaxing music + surround sound.
Lodge 1 does have the better deck and you won't watch much TV - the views and frogs croaking gently in the reservoir below are better than TV. Full Kitchen facilities (Gas stove / electric FF oven) AND washing machine meant we saved on daily trips to restaurants/laundromats and could have our special meal at 'The Edge Restaurant' Coles Bay (which was also great). The 30 kph drive up the 2 klm gravel road to the lodges (tucked into the mountainside) takes approx 6 mins but it's worth it - especially at night - there are possums and wallabies everywhere. This drive slows you down and makes you realise that life is not about rushing.
Couples wanting a fantastic private getaway to re-charge the batteries - you WILL love this spot.

Room Tip: Lodge 1 has the longer deck but both looked equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsham
Level Contributor
437 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I research hard before planning our holidays and this accommodation stood out. Our experience did not disappoint. We liked the very positive comments and feedback on TA, the useful information and speedy response to all our questions before our visit from our hosts, the information and food pack that was provided to enhance our stay, the high quality accommodation(nothing was overlooked in terms of equipment) and of course the beautiful location looking across Coles Bay and the Hazards high above ( on Mt Paul) the main tourist path. Every morning we awoke after a very comfortable sleep, opened the curtains to a breathtaking view and watch the wallabies outside our deck. Like a safari we would walk at dusk and dawn to see and watch the wildlife - we saw many wallabies, birds and 2 echidnas. We made full use of the lodge - choosing to eat in and slurping local wine on our deck surrounded by natural beauty. It's a manically place. Whilst here we visited Wineglass, Sleepy, and Friendly Bays, Bicheno and it's esplanade, Milton vineyard and the Iron House micro brewery ( fantastic, top quality food to go with the beer tasting). Loved staying here

Room Tip: There are only 2 lodges - we were lucky and pleased we had lodge one with its extended deck that gav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at Freycinet Eco Retreat with my wife in August 2013. We absolutely loved it. The lodges are positioned to face the Hazard Mountains, which was spectacular to wake up to every morning. The woodfire kept us snug and warm and the deck was perfect for taking in the views and catching a few sun beams. A walk to the top of Mt Paul is definitely worthwhile, as is a trip down the road to the Freycinet Marine Farm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
11.4 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
427 reviews
13.0 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
361 reviews
13.9 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
386 reviews
5.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
996 reviews
3.5 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freycinet Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Retreat

Property: Freycinet Retreat
Address: 1799 - 1819 Coles Bay Road, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Freycinet Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freycinet Retreat is a 1200 acre, Lanf for Wildlife, bush property with fabulous views adjoining the Freycinet National Park. Two luxury eco-lodges and eight Ocean View Eco Studios offer comfort in style. Guaranteed wildlife, warm in winter, no doilies, mod cons, perfect for the independent traveller couples. Free high speed wifi in you room included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Freycinet Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Retreat Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing