We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freycinet Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Edge of the Bay Resort(Coles Bay)(Great Value!)
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Freycinet Lodge(Coles Bay)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$2,113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swansea Motor Inn(Swansea)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachfront Bicheno(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wintersun Gardens Motel(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
90
17
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaltwater shackgravel roadeco studiofriendly beachesmarine farmminute drivedusk and dawnbreakfast bareco friendlyfreshly baked breaddegree ocean viewsstudio cabintake your timewell equipped kitchenettecooked dinnerluggage rackheated floor in the bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This is a lovely spot in an idyllic location. If you like being amongst nature, this is for you - the birdsong is fantastic and as you go up the majestic 4 kilometre drive through the trees, wallabies and possums cross in front of you. (Even in our tiny hire car, we had no problems).
The lodges fit into the natural landscape and are very comfortable with all the mod cons.
The view from the lodges is spectacular down to the Hazards and Great Oyster Bay.
The owners are friendly and helpful and there's lots of info in the lodge.
It's a great base from which to visit the fantastic Wineglass Bay and Coles Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxfordMandymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Virginia and Phillippa have created a relaxing and warm environment. We loved the decor of the room, it had everything we needed, even a washing machine and detergent! The views were lovely, we could watch wildlife from the living area, kitchen, bedroom and huge back deck. The service was friendly and kind. We did not watch the TV or videos, but it was nice that they were available. This is just the place to be if you want to relax and enjoy the quiet!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We have just returned from a long weekend spent at Freycinet, and thought the accomodation at Mt Paul was spectacular. The views, the serenity, the room, were all exactly what we needed. Freycinet itself was fantastic, we walked the wineglass bay/hazards beach circuit and did the twilight sea kayaking - both highly recommended. We are planning to climb Mt Amos next time.

Mt Paul is a short distance out from Coles Bay, and even our little rental car made it easily along the unsealed path to the lodge. The lodges, whislt next to eachother face different directions so you don't even notice the other there. The view of Freycinet was amazing, as was the starlit sky at nightime. The room was simple, yet warm and cosy. It had everything you need, with a full kitchen and laundry facilities. As a side note they also provide a lot of information about things to do in the area and restaurants to visit as well as DVDs to watch and even binoculars.

I would also recommend getting up at dawn toview all the wildlife, which you can do from the decking area - we were woken by a wallaby actually on our decking, and when we went outside we must have seen a dozen wallabies.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

If I lived in Tazzie I would want to stay at Mt Paul at least once a year. Spotless accommodation with a breathtaking view. Perfect for those looking to propose : )

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrett777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed in the Saltwater Shack in Mt Paul in the Freycinet National Park. We felt a world away from anywhere as we listened to the frog song from the wetland next to the shack. The Shack itself is very comfortable, although the bathroom is fairly basic - only a minor point as the location is what you go for. Sitting on the beautiful balcony, overlooking the wetland, coast in the distance, bird song, sipping a local sauvignon blanc and eating oysters from the shop at the bottom of the road - this was just heaven.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freycineteco, Owner at Freycinet Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2015

Apologies to any guest who might be considering booking a few nights at Saltwater Shack. This cottage is, unfortunately, no longer available. Although this has been a very popular cottage with guests, as a result of an expansion of the business, we have turned Saltwater Shack over to accommodate our own staff team. However, this also means that we are now able to offer more accommodation in the form of some stunning Eco Studios located on the same 1200 acre bush property, and with an even more expansive ocean view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews