We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Freycinet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Freycinet Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night. The cabin was fantastic, the spa was fun, we loved the view. It was disappointing that the bar and resteraunt were out of action. We ate in the bistro from the restaurant menu. We had mixed feelings about our meal. As a vegetarian I thought it was a bit expensive for the pretty, but very small serving. Probably about $4 of ingredients for a $32 meal 4 pieces of asparagus, 2 baby beet roots, 2 quail eggs. My husband enjoyed his meal

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of our property, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our unique location, and that you were happy with your cabin. I am concerned however to hear that you were unhappy with your meal. I wish to assure you that we take all our visitors comments to heart, and your feedback will be passed on to the Food & Beverage team for review & action.

Please also accept my apologies for the temporary closure of the bar & restaurant. We identified areas within the restaurant that required upgrading, and unfortunately that lead to the temporary closure of the bar & restaurant while renovations were completed. We understand the inconvenience this has caused our visitors, and again we apologise for the disruption of your holiday plans.

Yours sincerely,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    370
    154
    61
    14
See reviews for
174
650
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed only one night in a Deluxe Spa Cabin. We wish we had booked in for longer. Started our afternoon with a huge hike, one of many available. The view of Wineglass Bay and the views in every direction were spectacular. Greeted in the carpark on our return by the local wildlife (wallabys) happy to say hello. Then after the huge hike the big deep spa with a view straight out over the water was perfect. Room was terrific, service great. Just wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Spa is a definite bonus after a big hike or mountain climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you anjoyed your stay, and thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with a review. I'm particularly glad to hear that you found our service to be "great", and that you were able to encounter some of the very tame wildlife we have around the lodge. We'd be delighted to welcome you back if you ever return to the area.

Kind regards,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have been better. Large, warm cosy cabin right on the water. Well stocked minibar, comfy bed and great view from the spa bath. A minute walk to the restaurant where we enjoyed local oysters and crayfish.Only downside was we only had 1 night. Did 2 great walks but will certainly be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We'd be more than happy to welcome you back if you ever do decide to return to the area.

Yours sincerely,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just had a very enjoyable couple of nights at Freycinet Lodge staying in a Deluxe Spa cabin, well appointed with a spa bath, a well supplied bar fridge and the peace and tranquility one would seek in a National Park setting. Given the wet weather we experienced, I felt rather like we were staying in Cabins at Cradle Mountain, an area we have stayed at several times before. This was our first stay at Freycinet, although not our first stay in or near the Freycinet National Park.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Spa cabin was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of our property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walcha, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We have just had two nights here and arrived latish on Sunday night, and were greeted with soft relaxing music, and dim lights in our cabin. Started relaxing immediately, as no tv either!
But yesterday morning the ambience changed in the main lodge when painters had moved in with ladders etc., drop sheets everywhere and areas cordened off--- so no tv/games room, or bar and we had to eat where we'd had lunch in the bistro in the evening---no atmosphere with bright lights and noisy floor boards---loud with kids etc. we'd had such a quiet and enjoyable meal the night before. Some things not on menu and we weren't told when we sat down. We thought we'd take our wine, after dinner up to fire side sofas, but taken with kids or had to sit in more bright lights! Quite a strong paint smell also, so had to leave, and glad not there this week, as no compensation, warning or apology!! We may have changed our dates if we'd known. It kind of ruined our last night in Tassie.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lligla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay. While I'm delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, I do apologise that our renovations adversely affected your last night at Freycinet.

We did attempt to personally contact all guests who would be staying in the property, and I apologise that we were unable to contact you before your stay to notify you of the wortk being undertaken. We understand the inconvenience this has caused our guests, and again, I sincerely apologise.

Kind regards,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Loved the comfy cabins in the Freycinet National park. Ours had beautiful views of the bush and the sea glistening in the distance. Careful positioning means from your bed or balcony you can see no other cabins.
The restaurant offers top class fare showcasing Local Tasmanian produce. Wonderful seafood platter one night, superb Cape Grim steak the next.
Don't forget to try a Tasmanian wine tasting presentation.
Hope that next time we come the Wineglass to Wineglass bushwalk and gourmet lunch as well as the cruise to the oyster lease will both be back on the activities list.
Bush walks are spectacular and offer a range of challenges to suit all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zebrasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to pass on some feedback about our property, I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Freycinet Lodge. In particular I'm delighted to hear that our restaurant met with your approval, and I'll definitely pass your kind comments on to the chef and the rest of the team.

Kind regards,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Very restful and serene location. The views were great and quite inspiring. We took a couple of the easier walks which made for pleasant light exercise. A thoroughly enjoyable stay. The restaurant was elegant and offered tasteful and tasty choices.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenngbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and will pass your compliments on to the team at the restaurant.

Kind regards,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
11.7 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
18.0 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
19.0 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
5.7 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freycinet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Lodge

Property: Freycinet Lodge
Address: Freycinet National Park, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Freycinet Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a spectacular waterfront location at the foot of the Hazards, just inside Freycinet National Park, Freycinet Lodge is a superb base for exploring the Freycinet peninsula. A world of hidden comfort, the Lodge is living proof that communing with nature does not have to mean roughing it. It's a place to relax and rejuvenate. To experience nature's wild harmony without sacrificing your creature comforts. Stylish yet simple, the cabins are designed to impart welcoming familiarity and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freycinet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Freycinet Lodge Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing