We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coles Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Coles Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

My family and my friend's family went to Coles Bay together on 30/12/2012. They booked " Pelican Bay B&B" online in advance. However,they found that their 3 years son could not stayed with them together over night as they checked in because Pelican Bay's insurance policy does not cover the children. The owner couple of Pelican Bay Linda & Graeme were so nice and made full refund to them. Meanwhile they helped them to call the accommodation my family booked in. The host Alan & Margrat from Sheoaks were extreamly helpful and arranged my friends family stayed in our house "Ar Lan Y Mor". The house was very comfortable and they offered all of cooking instrument even included sugar and table salt. The location was very convenient and it just take 3 minutes walking to the beach. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngfeng71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed at Sheoaks B&B with a friend last week and we shared a twin room (the other two rooms have double beds). The location is fantastic, a short drive from the small town of Coles Bay and a short walk to the beach. We were impressed by the design of the house, which is modern, beautiful, very light and airy with terrific views. We only met Alan on the first day, Margaret we met at breakfast the following day. I was a bit apprehensive to be honest based on some of the previous reviews but we found both to be welcoming and helpful. Alan went out of his way by offering to wash out my friend's jacket which had got juice spilt on it during the journey.

The room was plenty big enough and as it was cool in the evenings, the electric blankets in the beds were very welcome. Breakfasts were a highlight, the choice of cooked breakfasts including vegetarian was excellent, if I stay again I will definitely give the evening meal a try. The guest lounge has a large collection of local and natural history books, a fridge and complementary biscuits and port.

Room Tip: The double room closest to the lounge seemed to be the most light filled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toodlepippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We spent 2 memorable nights with Alan and Margaret, Sheoaks warm and hospitable owners, in mid-October 2012. We cannot wait to return! Theirs is a very distinctive B&B in that it was purpose designed as one, not converted from a residence or other building type....and it is a brilliant design indeed. Kudos to their architect and to their taste in furnishing it. The B&B takes its name from the trees that surround it.

The room was superbly comfortable with great views over Great Oyster Bay and the mouth of the Swan River. There is a very comfortable guest lounge (whose slow combustion stove we were very grateful for one wet and cold afternoon) and deck. The breakfasts are simply terrific! Margaret does great scrambled eggs you can have with smoked salmon or bacon?sausages from the butcher at Bicheno.

Room Tip: Try to get the king size room, it has a "bay" window and really fine views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V581ZSdonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent a night at Sheoaks recently, and were very impressed by the warmth and hospitality of our hosts, Margaret and Alan. The bed and breakfast is in an excellent location, overlooking the water and the interesting geology of the Freycinet Peninsula on Tasmania's east coast. There is immediate access to the beach below the house.
The accommodation is designed and built to maximise the comfort of guests and the meals are excellent. As well as a full breakfast you can also have dinner with your hosts and other guests. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary-Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We chose Rumah Kita for its size as we had 7 people, and thought we would treat ourselves in our last days of our trip to Tasmania. The high price of Rumah Kita mislead us into thinking it would be a comfortable holiday house. It is large, but instead of high end accomodation it is more like a student house lived in by a bunch of 20-somethings. A lot of the fittings were broken, and one room was just out of bounds as it smelled like something was dead in it. My childrens' room next door also had a strange odour to it. There is a big fireplace upstairs which is capable of heating the sitting room, and small heaters in each bedroom, but in general the rest of the house such as the kitchen and dining room, felt cold. I read that it had underfloor heating but despite the many notices around the house there was nothing about how to turn it on. I ended up contacting the people at Sheoaks who are in charge of this property, and was told how to put the heating on, but that it would take at least 6 hours to warm up. Considering they knew we were coming and that it was cold I thought it would be a no brainer for someone to pop down in advance and turn the heating on, so we didnt have to freeze for the first day of our stay. Upsides of this house is that it is close to a path leading to a rather lovely windswept beach, the sheets were clean (thank goodness) and the bathrooms were clean. Oh, and it has a great view. But I'm sure many other Coles Bay properties do too. I would give this place a big miss.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Welltravelledlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

In view of some of the damaging comments in previous reviews of Sheoks I just wanted to say how much my husband and I enjoyed staying for three nights with Alan and Margaret at Sheoks.

We found the accommodation and facilities to be more than adequate and for a pleasant change I appreciated lying on a decent bed compared to others we experienced during our tour of Tasmania. Our room overlooked the sea and we made use of the beach access for one of our walks.

Margaret is a fantastic cook and the choice for a cooked breakfast was amazing, better than anything else we encountered during our holiday. The fresh fruit juice prepared was incredible. The food was nicely presented and was even on a hot plate! Alan deputised as cook one morning and also did a very good job. On the day we had a picnic lunch prepared by our hosts and it was enormous and very enjoyable, so much so that we didn't want dinner that night! We were always asked to nominate the time we would like breakfast and everything went according to plan like clockwork and thoroughly enjoyable.

Maybe the previous derogatory comments came about because guests did not take the trouble to engage in appropriate conversation with the hosts. We found Margaret especially passionate about improving tourism in Tasmania and overall we had a most pleasant and relaxing stay and would welcome the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: We only experienced Room 1 which as previously mentioned had an excellent bed - well two singles to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 207Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Very modern, comfortable accommodation in a well designed B & B.Our room was spacious with a comfortable king sized bed. It was good to be able to open the window at night and hear the sea. The guest wing leads to a guest lounge with bar fridge and then on to an open deck. The beach can be accessed from the rear of the property.
We stayed one night. The previous evevning our hosts had been in Hobart receiving an award at government house for their B&B.
Margaret provided an excellent meal for dinner, using local ingredients while Alan shared his knowledge of local wines. Breakfast was outstanding - try the bircher muesli and french toast with liqueur soaked prunes and yoghurt.We were asked our preferred time for breakfast .
Access to Freycinet peninsula and the national park, with panoramas of Wineglass Bay was only minutes away by car.
Off the main road so no traffic noise at all.

Room Tip: Our room had views out to the water. Not sure if all did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrygirl8050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
403 reviews
3.3 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eagle Peaks at Freycinet
Eagle Peaks at Freycinet
#4 of 5 in Coles Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
434 reviews
8.6 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
315 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast

Address: 47 Oyster Bay Ct, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coles Bay
Price Range: £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sheoaks Bed And Breakfast Freycinet, Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing