We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and helpful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coles Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Coles Bay B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant and helpful”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in the Waterline for a couple of nights recently. It's a lovely place; clean, with a well equipped kitchen and a great outlook.
We had no complaints about Alan and Margaret. They were pleasant and helpful.
Margaret sent us detailed information when we booked, recommending some great things to do and see on our way up the coast. Most helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    24
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
7
74
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My friend and I have just enjoyed a 3 night stay at Rumah Kita where we grabbed a winter special - a last minute decision. After I’d booked, my friend found a dreadful review on TripAdvisor. As it was too late to cancel we went anyway. Besides, the hosts had already replied to all my questions, e-mailed travel and food shopping info and told us where to pick up a map on the way. Our flight was badly delayed. We rang from Hobart airport to say we’d be late. Not a problem. They would turn on the underfloor heating, leave a light on, the key under the mat and some food in the fridge so we wouldn’t starve. We arrived after 9.00 pm and were delighted to find home-made mushroom soup and heat-in-the-oven rolls for supper, plus muesli, bread, butter, Margaret’s mandarin marmalade and milk for breakfast. All good! When we looked next morning there were a few cobwebs way up in hard to reach spots and windows were splashed with salt spray. Rumah Kita is absolute waterfront. We accepted that as par for the course. It certainly didn’t ruin our holiday. While a uni student I cleaned holiday houses each summer. Windows definitely weren’t cleaned after each stay. For what we paid for Rumah Kita it would have been unreasonable to expect that. Everything else was perfectly clean, there were plenty of nice glasses, crockery and cooking equipment. Our beds were comfortable and the electric blankets worked. The lounge room furniture was new. There was wood for the open fire. Things like washing up and laundry detergent were provided. All we needed was food for the rest of our stay. When we found our Optus mobile didn’t work at Coles Bay, Alan phoned the penguin tours to make a booking for us. We have no complaints about Rumah Kita or Margaret and Alan as hosts and will stay there again. It really was a terrific break. There are always 2 sides to any story. Why did it take the guests from Zurich till July to complain about their February visit if it was that bad?

Room Tip: We stayed at Rumah Kita, not Sheoaks (one of us has had several delightful stays at Sheoaks). Rumah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed two nights in Rumah Kita, a property managed by the owners of Sheoaks. Despite the property having a magnificent location, the experience was ruined by the uncleanliness of the house and the appallingly rude hosts. It seems the hosts had little concern for this property, and we felt like third rate guests. Our initial email correspondence isolated between very helpful and detailed information and some very curt responses. When we arrived the place was dirty and unkempt. The windows were simply filthy, obscuring the great views, and the house was filled with dust and cobwebs. We felt we had to clean everything before we could use it.

When I complained to Allen (Owner of Sheoak) the next day. He was outright rude and belligerent. He refused to believe that there was anything wrong with the property, and when I suggested that we look at the house together (a 50m walk on the same street) he said he didn't have time. He began ranting at my wife and I as we stood there stunned, saying how hard-working the cleaning woman is and how long he and his wife had been managing properties. It was a shocking experience.

The next day Allan sent me an email to apologise and offer a discount on our rate. I appreciated the gesture, but it did little to wipe out the experience from the previous day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCB188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Lonsdale
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Friends and I stayed in Currawong House recently, a self contained property managed by the Sheoaks owners. It was a beautifully made and cared for A-Frame house, with three lovely bedrooms and a gorgeous looking bathroom. Had no issue whilst we were there - the kitchen and living room both had small gas heaters which did the job and beds had electric blankets to keep the chill away. The kitchen was very spacious and well equipped for long term stays (big stove/oven/fridge/bench etc). I only wish that we could have stayed longer in Coles Bay as the place was simply gorgeous. I would highly recommend staying at Currawong, there is a spacious backyard too, so very family friendly. If the weather is sunny and warm (it wasnt whilst we were there!) there are some lovely spots in the garden to sit and enjoy. The Sheoaks managers were away but posted me a map of Coles Bay and to get there, attractions etc and seemed very helpful. If I ever visit Coles Bay again (and I hope I will), Currawong House will be the place to stay! Thought it was a very good price too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cathy17Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here with my brother in law and his wife when we spent a week touring Tasmania in mid March 2013. This is a B&B of the highest standard; purpose designed, immaculately clean, excellent facilities and great food. We had dinner with Margaret and Alan, thoroughly enjoyable with very good local wine. A superb breakfast the next morning set us up for the climb to view wineglass bay. And Alan's a Harper Adams man too, naturally!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crookedbillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We rented a house under their management for 2 days in January. The friendly demeanor we had grown accustomed to from the people of Tasmania was nowhere to be found when we checked in with this facility: Upon entering the house upon arrival, the first thing the owner said was "you are 10 minutes early!" (check in time was 3 pm and I came in at 2.50 pm). No "welcome" or a million other things one could say. I was tempted to turn around. Other than this, the location was perfect and the rental unit had everything we needed. As it turned out, this was the only blemish during our Tasmania experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamlet2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sheoaks. You couldn't ask for a better location - it's a quick ride to Freycinet Park and after a day of hiking, it was relaxing to take a walk out the back deck to a quiet beach and watch the sunset. Just perfect!

Alan and Margaret were gracious hosts - always willing to make a recommendation and point us in the right direction. Margaret is an impressive cook. Some B&B provide skimpy breakfast and you're hungry by 10am. Not here - the breakfast was plenty ample and very tasty. We loved it so much that we stayed in one evening and signed up for a home cooked dinner with our hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigg166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
9.3 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
392 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
554 reviews
3.3 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malting Lagoon Guest House
Malting Lagoon Guest House
#3 of 5 in Coles Bay
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast
Address: 47 Oyster Bay Ct, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sheoaks Bed And Breakfast Freycinet, Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing