We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average breakfast at this B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coles Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Coles Bay B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not your average breakfast at this B&B!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We recently spent one night at Sheoaks on our travels around Tasmania & enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean & had everything we needed. We opted to have dinner with Alan & Margaret & were so pleased we did. The meal was delicious & excellent value. Margaret is a great cook and went out of her way to cater for dietary needs. If you do decide to eat there make sure you give them plenty of notice as they don't have supermarkets on their doorstep and need to prepare. There is a lounge area for guests with a fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, a wealth of books and free wi-fi. Wi-fi doesn't work in the bedrooms, I think due to the soundproofing. I loved having the bird books to hand so I could check which birds i'd spotted during the day. There are lovely ocean views from the lounge & balcony and from our room we had ocean glimpses. Breakfast orders are taken the night before so things run smoothly the next day. The food was again delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    24
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
7
74
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

A friend and I stayed at Sheoaks after I saw the accommodation listed on the long lunch co website. I highly recommend staying if you are a social person. For $40 Marg put on a beautiful dinner (3 courses, wine, tea and coffee) her and her husband Allan sat with us and other guests. We enjoyed great food and company!! The B and B has a gorgeous view of the beach and is very clean. The rooms are sound proof. I felt like it was a home away from home. You must meet the beautiful 20 year old cat .. Barney. Marg and Allan were so helpful with plans that they suggested a B and B further down the coast the next night as they try local accommodation. If you have a car in Tassie and love hiking, beaches or good food and wine.., vist Sheoaks!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barneyinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

After making the booking, further research of the reviews made us a little nervous about what to expect (reviews noted the hosts were rude and abrupt). Having stayed at sheoaks, we found the place itself lovely and, although the hosts are good business people (as can be seen by the website and effort to apply for tourism awards) they are not really people people (hence slightly awkward tensions coming from the kitchen as one waits for breakfast to be served and no introductions or polite queries as one would expect). Coles bay is lovely and the room was clean and comfortable. Hair dryer, spare razor blades, mirror and wardrobe. Nice view from balcony to bay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_MorganTasmania, Owner at Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Alix and Damon. We were disappointed that your stay at Sheoaks on Freycinet did not meet your expectations. It would be helpful to us if you could privately suggest some positive steps we might take to remedy the problems you found. We would welcome some direct feedback perhaps by email. I guess we work in an industry where the reality is "Most of the people, most of the time". Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sheoaks b&b for one night midweek, although in hindsight we would have liked to spend more time there. It is a beautiful building and is situated right above the beach.
Margaret and Alan were very friendly and helpful, promptly responding to our email enquiries and sending through a good selection of info about the area by mail and email to help us plan our trip accordingly.
When we arrived, Alan greeted us at the door and was more than happy to show us around and answer any questions. The communal guest area is comfortable with free wifi, as well as a fridge with cold bottles of water, books and tea/coffee facilities.
Our room was spotless, well presented and included an extensive compendium of information about how they run their bnb, and things to do all over tasmania. I was very impressed with this, it was hugely detailed and really helped us plan our days.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious, there is no faulting Margaret's cooking. There was so much wonderful food offered to us (fruit, yoghurt, cooked breakfasr, toast etc) that we definitely didnt need lunch that day!
The other guests were friendly and we felt very welcome in Margaret and Alan's home. They were more than happy to answer any of our questions, and were genuinely interested in our activities also. Some of the other guests were planning to do a long walk through the national park, and Margaret was exceptionally helpful, offering them backpacks, beach towels etc. They will even do your laundry for you if you've been travelling a while!
All in all, I was very impressed with Sheoaks. Do not be discouraged by the negative reviews, as we found the place to be absolutely lovely and the hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful.
We'll definitely be back again one day!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lmcd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Sheoaks for a few days over Christmas and had a wonderful time. The room was a good size and very clean with a lovely view. Margaret and Alan were great hosts and were more than happy to share their knowledge of Tasmania, which meant we were able to take an alterative route through the forest on our journey to Port Arthur with some great lookouts along the way. On Christmas day itself all of the guests, along with Margaret and Alan, had a fantastic brunch together to start the day and then a really yummy Christmas dinner in the evening following canapes out on the deck, which has amazing views over the bay. Small touches such as homemade treats in the guest fridge and a thoughtful gift for the guests on Christmas morning made the stay even more memorable. Never mind the amazing views, I'd recommend staying just for Margaret's fabulous cooking!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle3723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our family stayed in Dunwerkin, one of the self-catering properties in Coles Bay for four days over Christmas, and it must be said that the accommodation was key in making our Tassie Christmas a memorable one!

From the very beginning, Alan and Margaret displayed their comprehensive knowledge of Tasmania and consideration for their guests. Shortly after we made the booking, we received a useful information pack from Alan and Margaret including a map and touristy brochures, as well as directions for how to get there, interesting things to do on the way and places where we could replenish our food supply. (If you have time on the way, I concur with their recommendation of the Freycinet Marine Farm - the oysters were among the freshest I've tasted!)

We were completely spoiled by the generous Christmas welcome shown to us by Alan and Margaret, as well as the owners of the property, including a Christmas card, several delicious Christmas treats, and a complementary Christmas bottle of champagne! We were very happy indeed when we arrived at Dunwerkin - the view from the house is absolutely stunning, and sitting out on the front deck watching the boats come in with a glass of champagne and an oyster certainly felt very luxurious.

Dunwerkin had fantastic cooking facilities, including a barbecue which we put to good use on Christmas day. The house was spotless when we arrived, the furniture good quality (and the bean bags were incredibly comfy), and the beds were absolutely massive. Locationwise, it was ideal for visitng Freycinet National Park, and also almost right on the doorstep of the local convenience store (which is small, but stocks anything you might have forgotten to buy on the way for a reasonable price, including fresh fruit, veg, and most importantly for us, ice cream!).

Overall, we had a fantastic Christmas at Dunwerkin. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to explore Freycinet!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Clean, comfortable, well furnished B&B with amazing views of Coles Bay. The location is fantastic, just a walk away from the beach . Alan and Margaret were great hosts - friendly and very informative. After booking, they sent a Tasmania guide through the post and directions via email.

The breakfast was delicious. Next time I'll stay I would certainly eat there for dinner!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
9.3 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,036 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
546 reviews
3.3 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast
Address: 47 Oyster Bay Ct, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sheoaks Bed And Breakfast Freycinet, Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing