We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent trip, worth doing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freycinet Air - Tours

Freycinet Air - Tours
Ranked #7 of 11 things to do in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Freycinet Air offers scenic and charter flights around the stunningly beautiful Freycinet peninsula and entire east coast of Tasmania, most notably, Wine Glass Bay. Let one of our knowledgeable pilots take you on a breathtaking scenic flight today.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent trip, worth doing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We tinkered with the idea of a light plane trip over the Freycinet Peninsula but the day started out grey and gloomy and the walk to the Wineglass Bay lookout a bit of a disappointment as the water was a dull grey/blue, not the brilliant blue we expected.

As we drove towards Bicheno, we decided to see "Friendly Beaches" and what a great piece of coastline this is...see it if you can.
On the way there we passed the airstip and made a spur of the moment decision to take the flight over the Peninsula.

The sun came out, there was a spot for us an hour later, so we booked and never regretted our decision. The views are spectacular and our pilot most competent and friendly.

A memorable tour worth doing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hajie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Safety number one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I were looking forward to the scenic flight with Freycinet air after we were recommended by a Tassie local during a hike. Mitchell was polite and informative over the phone. Unfortunately the wind had picked up a lot on the day when we wanted to go and Mitchell warned about the turbelence and a rough flight if we decide to go, so ended up making the decision not to take the risk. Thankyou for being so honest. It's not all about money. We would definitely go back next time we are in Tassie. :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessmsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Flight around Freycinet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

A great way to see Freycinet from above. Pilot Mitchell was great, very informative. Was a bit windy when we went up so a bit nervousness going through some turbulence. So glad we did it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeatherN142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Flight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

It was a beautiful morning so decided to take our 45 minute flight before lunch, and as the weather changed just after lunch, made the right decision. A little windy but the pilot Mitchell assured us it would be fine - which it was. Had a great flight - take camera - we took lots of terrific photos. Highly recommend for that unique view of Wineglass Bay and Freycinet National Park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKI51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinglake, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Flight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I did the 45 minute flight back in April 2013 and it has been in my mind for a while to do a review of the flight. The pilot was Hayden, young but a great pilot and he put my mind to rest straight away.
Take off was smooth and soon we were cruising at about 1500 feet. The view was incredible, especially over Wineglass Bay and The Hazards and Haydens commentary was very good all the way. The flight took in just over 45 minutes. The landing was excellent, hardly felt the wheels touch the ground. All in all money very well spent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freycinet Air - Tours also viewed

 
Coles Bay, Freycinet
 

Been to Freycinet Air - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing