We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience”
Review of Red Feather Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Feather Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hadspen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The charm of this place is the quality experience without the pretension that usually comes with places of this standard. We stayed for three wonderful nights and one night seven of us ate in the converted stables. Totally charming. The staff went to extra lengths to make sure everything went smoothly. We were bowled over by the many little touches - fresh flowers from the garden throughout the property, curious sculptures and other artefacts stumbled upon by chance, fresh fruit from the orchard, magnificent bed linen, special requests fulfilled as though it was no extra trouble. We had two rooms for the two couples, and we moved into one of the cottages when the party grew to seven. The cottage was well equipped for self-catering; what a joy to have sharp knives, adequate carving boards and quality equipment. And of course they were more than happy to let us take fresh herbs from the garden. A very memorable and enchanting experience.

Room Tip: I don't think I would want to overlap with a wedding party - the place just isn't big enough...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Red Feather Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

There's something about the Red Feather Inn that oozes class and sophistication while also giving guests a quaint, cosy heritage experience.
I was there just for one night, mid-week, recently and had a fantastic stay.

In The Loft, there's a large bathroom (both shower and bath) and upstairs is the bedroom. (Thought it was really thoughtful for the property to include a make up wipe sachet in the bathroom amenities.) My only complaint about the bedroom is that the TV is positioned in a funny corner of the room, but that's probably due to construction/signal needs as the room is inside a heritage listed building.
Onsite there's everything I could have wanted. I did have a few problems connecting to the WiFi, but think that was because I was on a new device I have not mastered yet.

While the property is set a little way out of the city - 15-20mins - do make the trip out, even just to eat the the restaurant. Chef Lewis prepared some sublime dishes using local Tasmanian produce, as well as fresh ingredients sourced from his and the Inn's garden.

Heard amazing things about the cooking classes from friends so hoping to come back with a group later this year, or bring my boyfriend as it's such a charming place for a weekend getaway, particularly if you want to just relax and enjoy a meal.

Free parking on site makes it a no brainer for those renting a car!

Room Tip: Loft room offers spacious bathrooms and quite a large, cosy upstairs away from the main house.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicoleTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We travelled from the Sunshine Coast recently to attend my niece's wedding at the historic and picturesque Red Feather Inn. Everything about the day was perfect, from the idyllic setting, the friendly and helpful staff, generous servings of yummy food and drinks, to the wonderful acoustic guitarist. Even the weather was a perfect 24 degrees. A beautiful occasion in a beautiful venue. Thanks Lydia for making this day so special for our family and Congratulations Bec and Justin for starting your life together in such a perfect way!
Bronwyn

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My daughter's wedding last weekend was the most beautiful and in the most romantic setting that I've attended. The Bride and Bridesmaids stayed the night before . The pre-wedding dinner for the bridal party and partners had a diverse menu and was superb. I arrived for a beautifully prepared breakfast on the wedding day which included fresh, warm raspberry muffins and croissants. The Library Room, with great spaces for hairdressers and make-up artists, was ideal for the five girls to be together to get ready.This made the day flow smoothly. The garden was lush and manicured with plenty of seating for guests prior to the ceremony.
Lydia and her staff were very accomodating and did all they could to make it a perfect day.The wedding dinner was delicious and desserts, served in their own candle lit room, were exquisite.Little things, from the chef offering to carry the big box of bouquets upstairs, to the waitress, respectfully and unobtrusively, bringing coffee and lunch all made for a really wonderful experience which I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

"Don't leave town til you've seen the country" was the adage ringing in my ears as we travelled cross country for a romantic getaway.
The Red Feather Inn didn't disappoint - we could have been in rural France, but no here we were holidaying in our own backyard, but it felt a million miles away.
Lydia effuses such a warmth that we felt welcomed from the moment we first arrived - loved our room, the décor and the garden.
The Red Feather Inn is set within a rare slice of Tasmanian history but has been fitted out in a contemporary manner that oozes style.
Our one regret was that we weren't staying longer! But, we can return as the Red Feather Inn is in our own backyard - cheaper than flying to rural France!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here for a wedding, the bridal party all stayed on site and we all had a terrible experience! The lady was outright rude to some of us and the accommodation was horrid! i was meat to be sleeping on the pull out sofa bed in the library suite but it had dips in it that made it impossible to sleep, the room was stuffy and only had one plug in fan for the whole room which had two beds in different areas. On arrival the Lady said we can not get any fake tan on the towels or sheets or anything, but we were to shower before we slept but how were we meant to dry ourselves if we cant use the towels. also i had to tell them constantly that i was lactose intolerant i would have thought once would have been enough but every meal they kept serving me food i couldn't eat. we also got charged an extra $100 for the room because there was "extra cleaning" we left the room next to spotless only dishes were there and they were the ones they brought up to the room and never took away. they also left cheeses in the room on a hot day while we were having the wedding and it made the room smell.

all out terrible service mostly from the owner the other people were lovely but the whole experience was not worth the money at all. I don't even know why this woman is running a inn she has no manners at all.

Room Tip: if you are going here... don't.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DeannaD95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFeatherInn, Owner at Red Feather Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We are sorry you felt it neccesary to give the Red Feather Inn a bad review.
It is our check in policy with all wedding guests to discuss the spray tan issue as its becoming a concern for the house keeping staff, we’d like to apologise for not providing darker towels.
There was no intention of sounding rude on the after hours phone call, the matter was to be confirmed with housekeeping and addressed the next day.
It was necessary to charge an extra cleaning fee as the bedclothes were badly soiled, there was a large amount of rubbish to be removed and a bathrobe was irreparably stained.
Access to the room on the day for clearing was not available as the bridal party were using it to get ready and asked not to be disturbed.
We have fans in the rooms and an extra one could have been provided if requested.
Fold out sofa beds were an option requested by the bride and groom for the weekend.
Kitchen staff were not informed of the dietary requirements until service started Friday night, this request was catered easily for both nights dinner but unfortunately was overlooked for the lunch, though quickly rectified at the time.
The Red Feather Inn team and management do everything they can to ensure weddings are perfect for the bride and groom and their associated guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Owner is disrespectful and rude to guests. the rooms were not that great and most of all nothing was cleaned over the two nights we were there and STAFF left dishes in our room but apparently we have to pay for extra cleaning. Only stay here if you wanted to be treated with disrespect and mediocre accommodation as well as extra expenses. If you ask me the manager needs to take some classes on customer service and phone manor.

Room Tip: Dont Pick one at all do yourself a favor
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melindamand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFeatherInn, Owner at Red Feather Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We are sorry you felt it neccesary to give the Red Feather Inn a bad review.
It is our check in policy with all wedding guests to discuss the spray tan issue as its becoming a concern for the house keeping staff, we’d like to apologise for not providing darker towels. There was no intention of sounding rude on the after hours phone call, the matter was to be confirmed with housekeeping and addressed the next day.
It was necessary to charge an extra cleaning fee as the bedclothes were badly soiled, there was a large amount of rubbish to be removed and a bathrobe was irreparably stained.
Access to the room on the day for clearing was not available as the bridal party were using it to get ready and asked not to be disturbed.
We have fans in the rooms and an extra one could have been provided if requested.
Fold out sofa beds were an option requested by the bride and groom for the weekend.
Kitchen staff were not informed of the dietary requirements until service started Friday night, this request was catered easily for both nights dinner but unfortunately was overlooked for the lunch, though quickly rectified at the time.
The Red Feather Inn team and management do everything they can to ensure weddings are perfect for the bride and groom and their associated guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadspen
6.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
902 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#6 of 30 in Launceston
745 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
6.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
5.6 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Inn

Address: 42 Main St | PO Box 1, Hadspen, Launceston, Tasmania 7290, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Hadspen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hadspen
Price Range: £129 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Feather Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Feather Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing