We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel California??”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamilton Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel California??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I had read the reviews on this gem before we left on our trip around Tasmania, and was very interested to check out this historic inn.
We arrived on a Sunday afternoon after driving from Strahan.
After meeting our hosts, John and Gina, and enjoying an informal afternoon we decided to stay the night and booked in. The rooms have been renovated and were fresh and comfortable with their own ensuites. Being on the third floor under the angled roof, I found myself banging my head a few times, but it was well worth it to experience this charm of a time gone by.
We enjoyed their hospitality so much we decided to book another night and enjoy New Years Eve in this quaint hotel, rather than drive on to Hobart. Good decision as we enjoyed a great night with many of the locals until the early hours.
In the morning we helped clean up as we already felt like we were part of the family. It was such a relaxing break that we booked a couple of nights for our return journey.
On our return journey, Tasmania was experiencing its worst bushfires, and Hamilton was under some threat. The Inn had been taken over by Victorian fire-fighters, including our room. We still wanted to spend a few days with John and Gina, so John found us a mattress and set us up in the breakfast room. Just like camping out as a kid. It was great.
Our hosts tried to convince us to stay longer, but alas, we had a ferry to catch back to the mainland.
We met others who regularly come back to this Inn, and we joked it was like the Hotel California, from the Eagles great hit song...."you can check out any time you like.......but you can never leave..."
John and Gina are slowly renovating this great old Inn; a mammoth job, but it has such great charm and is run by two very friendly and charming hosts. It will always be on our must stop list.

Room Tip: If you are tall you may find the angled roof on the top floor rooms a tiny bit of a problem. But it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 450TonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed for one night in January ($95 double room inc breakfast)
The inn had a really warm and friendly atmosphere , staff were more than helpfull and the owner exceptionally acomadating and went out of his way to help me with travel plans.
The rooms are very cosy, some great views, with thoughful touches - like electric blankets, great little en-suites too. Breakfast was continental 'serve yourself' with a good choice of quality, fresh products .
Highly recommend this inn as a stopover.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_Fluffbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stopped here for lunch with a party of eight, honestly not expecting too much given the small country town etc. We were very pleasantly surprised by the warm service, accommodating our various special requests, and by the delicious food. The grilled salmon was the best fish we ate during our week touring Tasmania, really delicious, chips were highly recommended, as was the salad. One of our group loved the beer on tap. We came with four little kids who were made to feel comfortable and welcome and overall we were very pleased to have stopped there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Best little antiques and collectables at this 1826 quaint hotel.
Had the fluffiest scones ever!
The owner/cook was amazing, so helpful and welcoming and very stylish.
The hotel has the most gorgeous little dog who stands on her back feet and begs for attention. I didn't want to leave!
The service was incredible. I really felt at home. We had one of the best sleeps ever and each room has it's own ensuite. Everything was very clean and tidy. Loved it! If you ever go past Hamilton you must make sure you stop off at the Hamilton inn

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had an unexpected stop over at this unique and marvellous hotel it had such a warm and friendly feel as soon as we were greeted by the owners John and Gina what lovely people...the prawn and mango pizza was to die for and the entertainment by Alec shay a young talented guitarist was so spontaneous but magnificent!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelynvloutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Wow, what a gorgeous old sandstone hotel.

A real treat to relax back in time at the historic Hamilton Inn.

With friendly staff, lovely food and well priced accommodation (all rooms have en-suites) it really was a delight to stay and relax in the countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

After a long day of driving and sight seeing the lights were on and the $85 p/double suited the budget. We opened the door and were greeted by a very strange statute holding a beer along with 3 dogs and 2 cats. We must have been the only people to enter the door all day as I believe we startled the owner.... the establishment appears to be under going a MAJOR renovation after doors were hurriedly shut we were shown the room which was clean and tidy it had an en-suite. Down for a nice dinner in the bar/dinning room along side the open fire, the bar was not functioning and refreshments (what was left) was only available in cans/bottles. Overall the experience was interesting - birds nesting in the roof scratching all night (one in the hall way in the morning crashing into everything trying to get out). Breakfast was offered in the price but only during a 1hr window...... As it was late when we arrived we planned to settle the account on check out. There was no one to be found anywhere we stood in the foyer yelling for 45min even bashed on the residents door!!!!! NOTHING we had to rummage through paper work to locate the phone number ring to get someone down to settle the account. As a result of this delay we missed our planned tour at the next stop. NOT HAPPY :(

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiggle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
10.4 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
19.1 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.0 mi away
Curringa Farm
Curringa Farm
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Roslyn House B&B
Roslyn House B&B
#1 of 1 in Bushy Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge
Hawthorn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bushy Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ratho Farm
Ratho Farm
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Hotel

Property: Hamilton Inn Hotel
Address: 10 Tarleton St, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing