We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than 5 stars!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curringa Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Curringa Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More than 5 stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

High recommended! This was the first stop of our vacation in Tasmania and it was definitely a great start! We stayed at the Over The Back cottage, which was perched on a hilltop facing a nice lake - the view was breathtaking and almost surreal! The cottage was very spacious and clean, and well-stocked with provisions. The kids absolutely enjoyed frolicking on the fields outside the cottage. My 3 year old daughter even commented that she could stay here forever!

The best part of the stay has to be the owners of the farm, Tim and Jane. We had the misfortune of having our luggage mishandled by jetstar on the way into Tasmania. The jetstar staff were extremely unhelpful and refused to make arrangements to deliver our luggage on the same day, even though we had emphasised that we had essentials for the kids in the luggage. On hearing our predicament, Tim and Jane voluntarily offered to drive to the airport (3 hours round trip at 9pm!!!) to pick up our luggage! Jane had even bought baby formula for our kid in case we needed it in the meantime. Such exemplary service is what 5-star hotels cannot even offer! We just could not thank Tim and Jane enough for taking the extra mile (100 miles in fact) to help us.

Thumbs up for Curringa Farm (and thumbs down for jetstar!)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here a few months back in "Wedgetail Wings".

It was a fantastic stay, and so nice to get into the country for a while.

Rooms were well presented, kitchen was clean and modern and you can't complain about a spa bath with an amazing view.

Thanks for having us!

Matt - TTIC

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thund3r_Down_Und3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the over the back accomodation for a night, during our stay it was absolutely wonderful! the owner of the farm Tim was very nice and friendly and very helpful! Couldn't thank him more for helping us with the fire place and with out vehicle tyres:) big breakfast provided! homemade loaf of bread and
Jam was delicious! during our stay we had a great experience of the farm. great view overseeing the river at the
Back of the farm, took lots of amazing photos and the accomodation was nice and clean and fully equipped kitchen and it even have a fully equipped laundry despite of been a bit old but it was good timber house and really enjoyed our stay at the farm and would definately recommend family and friends of this accommodation! Overall experience was very good and I would say worth a try even if the price may seem a but pricy but it is definately worth the great experience :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Out of my 10 day stay in Tasmania with my family, I've got to admit that Curringa Farm was the best out of all the accommodations we resided in.

Well, the trip started on a high note, with Tim being very friendly towards us and Sandy, Jimmy and co. being extremely 'sociable'. We were then brought to Wedgetail Wings, the cottage my family and I stayed in and we were really impressed by the classy designs of the hut and how homely it seemed. Plus, we were allowed to venture near a lake ourselves and take some photos (there were supposedly many animals like wallabies and kangaroos around but we didn't manage to spot them though) .

The next morning, the farm tour started. We went to another lake to take photos and then we were brought to a reserved plot of land (Tim said they did not want to destroy the animals' homes) and he told us more about the trees, the animals there. Afterwards, while driving our rented car, we chased around 200 sheep to a designated area and even took pictures with them while Sandy and Jimmy were busy chasing them around. Tim then shore a sheep and explained to us the different quality of the wool produced in Curringa Farm.

At the end of the tour, Jane also treated us to coffee and tea plus scones which were really delectable. As there was a big group of tourists coming right after us, the tour was a little rushed so Tim discounted the price a little, much to my surprise.

In retrospect, I feel that Curringa Farm is a must-go if you are in Tasmania.

P.S However, do note that there were some unwelcome insects entering the cottage and there was no insecticide around. You may want to bring along some insecticide if you happen to go to Curringa Farm as it is, after all, in the wilderness. #justsaying

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willard17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is the sort of place that you choose to truly relax in idyllic Tasmanian countryside. Our cottage was clean, spacious and comfortable with amazing views over rolling pasture to the river. Enjoy a glass of wine on the large deck (with barbeque), loll in the spa bath while watching the lambs playing outside. We were amazed at the large number of platypus in the river and we also delighted to see an echidna amble by.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

I really should not write this review. My family fell in love with this place and really would like to keep it a secret. Better yet, we would like Tim and Jane to adopt us so we could bring our Australian Shepard dogs to Australia to hang with Jimmy, Sammy, and their sheep buddies. The whole point of going to a place like Curringa is to relax and feel the tranquility of the early morning and evening. If you are looking for excitement, look elsewhere. If you want to really relax, come here.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in the "Curringa Cottage" which was conventional and spacious with a complete kitchen where we have made our great and delicious dinner. But, as that was my first time to go for a farmstay, I was expect more. However, what we experienced in the farm was just to drive around the very big farm area, to see the sheep, to visit the other cottages of the farm and that all. There was NO tree planting, sheep or cow feeding, conservation or farming activities except the farm tour for only 2 hours just to see the sheep shearing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wy_LO_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Hello Wy LO.
Thank you for reviewing Curringa Farm and please allow me to reply to your comments.
Staying on a farm is a different experience to living in the city. As mentioned in our promotional material, we are a real working farm not a hobby farm.

I do not know exactly which day you stayed on in February as we have many international guests staying. If you had a standard farm tour, your 2 hour tour included discussions on our export crops of onions and cabbages and production of opium poppies, we did a forest walk, we rounded up at least 200 sheep with the farm dogs and we shore a sheep. Then we enjoyed morning tea with fresh scones and jam and cream. ( I am concerned that you say your tour was boring and you only saw a sheep being shorn in the 2 hour period )
Many other guests go walking on their own to take photographs, sit by the lake to watch the sun set, enjoy some drinks while they relax and enjoy their holiday.
If there was any deviation to the standard tour we would have amended the fee or not charged you at all. Two factors could have been extremely wet weather meaning it is too difficult to shear the sheep for its own health and safety , also it may be too wet for you to experience the forrest walk in comfort without getting muddy and dirty. The other extreme was that, in mid February, our whole community was affected by an out of control bush fire that burnt out several nearby farms. During this time i was part of the volunteer fire brigade and may have been out working late into the night or during the day helping to contain this natural disaster. Either way i reiterate if this occurred we would have given you a full explanation for the deviation in the tour and waivered the cost of the tour component of your stay. Please mention this review and proof of your stay next time you visit Tasmania and we will offer 2 people a complete morning tea farm tour Free of Charge.
Yours sincerely,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
20.7 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
16.3 mi away
Ratho Farm
Ratho Farm
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge
Hawthorn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bushy Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sassafras Springs
Sassafras Springs
#1 of 1 in Ellendale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
16.4 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curringa Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curringa Farm

Property: Curringa Farm
Address: 5831 Lyell Hwy, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Curringa Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy three self contained luxury spa cottages set beside beautiful Lake Meadowbank at Hamilton, only 1 hr from Hobart. Curringa Farm is a fully working, eco certified farm, growing seedcrops, poppies and cereals, raising lambs and producing wool. Relax by the lake, enjoy a BBQ, walk around the 750 acre farm or ask about an organised farm tour to see sheep shearing, conservation works and the farm operations. Close to Mt Field National Park. 2014 Winner of Hosted Accommodation Category of Tasmanian Tourism Awards from runner up in 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Curringa Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing