We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would want to return again”
Review of Curringa Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Curringa Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We would want to return again”
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

We (2 adults, 2 kids and 1 baby) stayed at the Wedgetail Wings for 2 nights.

Very nice and comfortable stay. Well stocked kitchen with sandwich maker and rice cooker!

I liked that there were 2 bathrooms and we had a good sized deck with a BBQ grill.

Loved: great cottage. Wildlife came to our door. Daily visits by a kookaburra and we also saw an echidna. Great view of hills and river. Kids got a kick seeing the sheep each day as we drive back to the cottage. I personally liked being able to see the stars from the comfort of the master bedroom. Yummy home made bread which tastes really good the day we got it, but unfortunately (as it happens so often with bread), tasted less good as it got stale. But on the first day, it was divine. I was just picking at it and smearing jam onto it and snacking and snacking! Lovely hosts too.

True, there are bugs and flies around but you gotta expect that on a farm.

Great place for me and my city kids. You get the rural without having to forgo creature comforts.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Hi Meg,
Thank you so much for your kind words on here. We try to always make the bread on the morning of guests arrival and you are correct in saying after a few days it gets a bit crusty. Thats the downside of having home made bread without the long life preservatives that are added to commercial loaves. Im sorry about the bugs but when in the country they only have a few lights to zone into at night. They are at their worst on the really hot balmy nights and a tip for future travellers is to make sure you keep the screen doors closed whilst cooking your BBQ dinner and also whilst gazing at the stars at night. Its amazing how many can sneak in when your not watching for them. The good news is that they are only occasional moths, cockchafers and a small flying insect that gathers in hovering formation during the day. None of these will harm you in any way and the best way to clear them from a room is to turn all the inside lights off while you leave a door open and an outside light on, to attract them back to the outside of your cottage. :-)
Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
35
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This has been and is the best farm stay accommodation experience we had among all the other accommodation we had in Tasmania. We were traveling down from Cradle Mountain and it was a nice refreshing view to see the sheep up close and personal. We stayed at Seagle Nest and it is a great honeymoon accommodation. You have a fantastic view of the lake, the greenery, away from all the hussle, cook your own meals, even have a jacuzzi with your partner! It is really well maintained and the home made bread was yummy! Tim and Jane were great hosts and we were just so happy! We wished we could stay longer next time!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a honeymoon location, this is it! Seagle Nest is what you will go for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

High recommended! This was the first stop of our vacation in Tasmania and it was definitely a great start! We stayed at the Over The Back cottage, which was perched on a hilltop facing a nice lake - the view was breathtaking and almost surreal! The cottage was very spacious and clean, and well-stocked with provisions. The kids absolutely enjoyed frolicking on the fields outside the cottage. My 3 year old daughter even commented that she could stay here forever!

The best part of the stay has to be the owners of the farm, Tim and Jane. We had the misfortune of having our luggage mishandled by jetstar on the way into Tasmania. The jetstar staff were extremely unhelpful and refused to make arrangements to deliver our luggage on the same day, even though we had emphasised that we had essentials for the kids in the luggage. On hearing our predicament, Tim and Jane voluntarily offered to drive to the airport (3 hours round trip at 9pm!!!) to pick up our luggage! Jane had even bought baby formula for our kid in case we needed it in the meantime. Such exemplary service is what 5-star hotels cannot even offer! We just could not thank Tim and Jane enough for taking the extra mile (100 miles in fact) to help us.

Thumbs up for Curringa Farm (and thumbs down for jetstar!)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here a few months back in "Wedgetail Wings".

It was a fantastic stay, and so nice to get into the country for a while.

Rooms were well presented, kitchen was clean and modern and you can't complain about a spa bath with an amazing view.

Thanks for having us!

Matt - TTIC

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thund3r_Down_Und3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the over the back accomodation for a night, during our stay it was absolutely wonderful! the owner of the farm Tim was very nice and friendly and very helpful! Couldn't thank him more for helping us with the fire place and with out vehicle tyres:) big breakfast provided! homemade loaf of bread and
Jam was delicious! during our stay we had a great experience of the farm. great view overseeing the river at the
Back of the farm, took lots of amazing photos and the accomodation was nice and clean and fully equipped kitchen and it even have a fully equipped laundry despite of been a bit old but it was good timber house and really enjoyed our stay at the farm and would definately recommend family and friends of this accommodation! Overall experience was very good and I would say worth a try even if the price may seem a but pricy but it is definately worth the great experience :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Out of my 10 day stay in Tasmania with my family, I've got to admit that Curringa Farm was the best out of all the accommodations we resided in.

Well, the trip started on a high note, with Tim being very friendly towards us and Sandy, Jimmy and co. being extremely 'sociable'. We were then brought to Wedgetail Wings, the cottage my family and I stayed in and we were really impressed by the classy designs of the hut and how homely it seemed. Plus, we were allowed to venture near a lake ourselves and take some photos (there were supposedly many animals like wallabies and kangaroos around but we didn't manage to spot them though) .

The next morning, the farm tour started. We went to another lake to take photos and then we were brought to a reserved plot of land (Tim said they did not want to destroy the animals' homes) and he told us more about the trees, the animals there. Afterwards, while driving our rented car, we chased around 200 sheep to a designated area and even took pictures with them while Sandy and Jimmy were busy chasing them around. Tim then shore a sheep and explained to us the different quality of the wool produced in Curringa Farm.

At the end of the tour, Jane also treated us to coffee and tea plus scones which were really delectable. As there was a big group of tourists coming right after us, the tour was a little rushed so Tim discounted the price a little, much to my surprise.

In retrospect, I feel that Curringa Farm is a must-go if you are in Tasmania.

P.S However, do note that there were some unwelcome insects entering the cottage and there was no insecticide around. You may want to bring along some insecticide if you happen to go to Curringa Farm as it is, after all, in the wilderness. #justsaying

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willard17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is the sort of place that you choose to truly relax in idyllic Tasmanian countryside. Our cottage was clean, spacious and comfortable with amazing views over rolling pasture to the river. Enjoy a glass of wine on the large deck (with barbeque), loll in the spa bath while watching the lambs playing outside. We were amazed at the large number of platypus in the river and we also delighted to see an echidna amble by.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
10.1 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
41 reviews
16.3 mi away
Ratho Farm
Ratho Farm
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
87 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
16.4 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
12.2 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge
Hawthorn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bushy Park
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curringa Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curringa Farm

Property: Curringa Farm
Address: 5831 Lyell Hwy, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Curringa Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy three self contained luxury spa cottages set beside beautiful Lake Meadowbank at Hamilton, only 1 hr from Hobart. Curringa Farm is a fully working, eco certified farm, growing seedcrops, poppies and cereals, raising lambs and producing wool. Relax by the lake, enjoy a BBQ, walk around the 750 acre farm or ask about an organised farm tour to see sheep shearing, conservation works and the farm operations. Close to Mt Field National Park. 2014 Winner of Hosted Accommodation Category of Tasmanian Tourism Awards from runner up in 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Curringa Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing