We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curringa Farm Cottage offers country comfort in an authentic farm setting.”
Review of Curringa Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Curringa Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at Tim and Jane Parsons' Curringa Farm Cottage near Hamilton with two other friends on a girls'weekend. Curringa is a working farm geared for farm tours.Hamilton is only an hour from Hobart and a great base for visiting Mt Field and,Strathgordon or for a day trips to Derwent Bridge and Lake St Claire or Bothwell and Waddamana Power Sation.
The cottage is located beside a large dam. a habitat for swans and other water birds. The cottage was built on the site of a former farmhouse as evidenced by the older brick chimney and fire places of an otherwise more modern cottage. Two double bedrooms and two twin rooms provided plenty of sleeping space for three of us, and would lend itself to two families who wanted to share the cottage. A traditional clawfoot bathtub is in the main bathroom and one of the twin rooms has an en suite.
The kitchen is well kitted out, complete with rice cooker, but bring your own coffee plunger. The table easily seats six.There is ample seating on leather lounges in the sitting room, which includes a DVD player. We enjoyed sitting on the deck relaxing and enjoying the scenery. On our last morning Jane pointed us toward a wonderful swimming place along the shores of Meadowbank Lake on the property boundary. The swimming place was terrific on a warm morning. I look forward to returning for another visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LissFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Hello LissFin
Thank you so much for your delightful review. We regard The Farmhouse Cottage as an oldie but a goodie, we find that so many customers really enjoy the charm and nostalgia of a true farmhouse cottage with rambling country garden. Especially larger families travelling as a small group. Next time we would love you to experience the modern cottages over by the "Swimming Place" Lake Meadowbank. Looking forward to seeing you again and Yes we have replaced the elusive coffee plunger. Cheers Tim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at Curringa Farm, in Wedgetail Wings for one night on our honeymoon - splashing out a bit as we would be there the morning of my birthday/Valentine's day, as well as being on honeymoon.

We arrived at Curringa Farm and no-one was in reception to meet us, there were contact details available but without any phone reception it was difficult to get in contact with Tim or Jane. We waited for a while before wandering around and locating a patch of reception and getting hold of Jane and then waited another 10-15 minutes for her to arrive. Jane was friendly and drove us down (an unsealed, very rocky, bumpy road) to our cabin.

The Wedgetail Wings cabin was absolutely lovely, clean (except for a few bugs), spacious and had magnificent views. As we were only a couple the other room and bathroom were locked up but I can imagine it would be a lovely place to stay for a family with kids. We enjoyed the views from the patio, the BBQ, the lovely breakfast goodies included in our stay and the great spa for two.

We were however extremely disappointed to be woken at dawn by a herd of sheep running right past our cabin in the morning - not exactly the wake up call you want on your honeymoon/birthday/Valentine's day. While we were staying on a farm, farming activities were expected however we were not expecting to be woken up by sheep running within inches of our cabin, especially for the price we paid for the accommodation. If this is the norm on the farm then guests should be notified prior to booking.

As with most self-contained accommodation the cleaning of dishes is required prior to check-out, however the dish washing liquid provided for us to wash the dishes was empty which was not ideal. Luckily there was a dishwasher so we were able to meet the cleaning requirements without incurring an extra fee.

We arrived at check-out just before 10am, the check out time and once again there was no-one at reception to check us out. The cleaning lady arrived and called Jane while we were waiting to be checked out. She then informed us that we could give her the key and that Jane hoped we had a good stay and she was down at the shearing shed if we wanted to talk to her. We were quite disappointed by this lack of customer service, especially as the check-out time is set in stone.

Overall the accommodation was lovely, but we were disappointed that we were woken up by sheep with no prior warning and were disappointed by the customer service provided.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Hello Christine.
Thankyou for your review about your stay at Curringa Farm.
I am sorry that the farmstay experience that you booked did not meet your expectations during your holiday. In our advertising literature we state that we are a real working farm. There is an assumption here that we have dirt roads and sheep and " a few bugs". This is what most, if not 99% of our customers come to see. Something authentic and different to the norm of hotel or motel accommodation. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with our busiest month of the year, being Chinese New Year, where we had all 4 apartments booked solidly for 2.5 weeks with approximately 45 changeovers during this 14 day period. In addition to this we hosted quite a few speciality coach groups to our farm tour attraction business . We were present on the farm during your arrival and departure and it is unfortunate that we were tending to other customers needs without knowing that you were harbouring concerns about your own stay. Once again we apologise for that fact that your stay did not meet your overall expectations. Whilst dishwashing liquid is a minor oversight it is an inexcusable one and for this we will offer you a discount on your next stay to Curringa Farm if you wish to have another go at experiencing the pleasures that 99% of our customers come to embrace. Yours sincerely Tim Parsons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

We (2 adults, 2 kids and 1 baby) stayed at the Wedgetail Wings for 2 nights.

Very nice and comfortable stay. Well stocked kitchen with sandwich maker and rice cooker!

I liked that there were 2 bathrooms and we had a good sized deck with a BBQ grill.

Loved: great cottage. Wildlife came to our door. Daily visits by a kookaburra and we also saw an echidna. Great view of hills and river. Kids got a kick seeing the sheep each day as we drive back to the cottage. I personally liked being able to see the stars from the comfort of the master bedroom. Yummy home made bread which tastes really good the day we got it, but unfortunately (as it happens so often with bread), tasted less good as it got stale. But on the first day, it was divine. I was just picking at it and smearing jam onto it and snacking and snacking! Lovely hosts too.

True, there are bugs and flies around but you gotta expect that on a farm.

Great place for me and my city kids. You get the rural without having to forgo creature comforts.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Hi Meg,
Thank you so much for your kind words on here. We try to always make the bread on the morning of guests arrival and you are correct in saying after a few days it gets a bit crusty. Thats the downside of having home made bread without the long life preservatives that are added to commercial loaves. Im sorry about the bugs but when in the country they only have a few lights to zone into at night. They are at their worst on the really hot balmy nights and a tip for future travellers is to make sure you keep the screen doors closed whilst cooking your BBQ dinner and also whilst gazing at the stars at night. Its amazing how many can sneak in when your not watching for them. The good news is that they are only occasional moths, cockchafers and a small flying insect that gathers in hovering formation during the day. None of these will harm you in any way and the best way to clear them from a room is to turn all the inside lights off while you leave a door open and an outside light on, to attract them back to the outside of your cottage. :-)
Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Cheers
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This has been and is the best farm stay accommodation experience we had among all the other accommodation we had in Tasmania. We were traveling down from Cradle Mountain and it was a nice refreshing view to see the sheep up close and personal. We stayed at Seagle Nest and it is a great honeymoon accommodation. You have a fantastic view of the lake, the greenery, away from all the hussle, cook your own meals, even have a jacuzzi with your partner! It is really well maintained and the home made bread was yummy! Tim and Jane were great hosts and we were just so happy! We wished we could stay longer next time!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a honeymoon location, this is it! Seagle Nest is what you will go for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

High recommended! This was the first stop of our vacation in Tasmania and it was definitely a great start! We stayed at the Over The Back cottage, which was perched on a hilltop facing a nice lake - the view was breathtaking and almost surreal! The cottage was very spacious and clean, and well-stocked with provisions. The kids absolutely enjoyed frolicking on the fields outside the cottage. My 3 year old daughter even commented that she could stay here forever!

The best part of the stay has to be the owners of the farm, Tim and Jane. We had the misfortune of having our luggage mishandled by jetstar on the way into Tasmania. The jetstar staff were extremely unhelpful and refused to make arrangements to deliver our luggage on the same day, even though we had emphasised that we had essentials for the kids in the luggage. On hearing our predicament, Tim and Jane voluntarily offered to drive to the airport (3 hours round trip at 9pm!!!) to pick up our luggage! Jane had even bought baby formula for our kid in case we needed it in the meantime. Such exemplary service is what 5-star hotels cannot even offer! We just could not thank Tim and Jane enough for taking the extra mile (100 miles in fact) to help us.

Thumbs up for Curringa Farm (and thumbs down for jetstar!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here a few months back in "Wedgetail Wings".

It was a fantastic stay, and so nice to get into the country for a while.

Rooms were well presented, kitchen was clean and modern and you can't complain about a spa bath with an amazing view.

Thanks for having us!

Matt - TTIC

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thund3r_Down_Und3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the over the back accomodation for a night, during our stay it was absolutely wonderful! the owner of the farm Tim was very nice and friendly and very helpful! Couldn't thank him more for helping us with the fire place and with out vehicle tyres:) big breakfast provided! homemade loaf of bread and
Jam was delicious! during our stay we had a great experience of the farm. great view overseeing the river at the
Back of the farm, took lots of amazing photos and the accomodation was nice and clean and fully equipped kitchen and it even have a fully equipped laundry despite of been a bit old but it was good timber house and really enjoyed our stay at the farm and would definately recommend family and friends of this accommodation! Overall experience was very good and I would say worth a try even if the price may seem a but pricy but it is definately worth the great experience :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikiMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
10 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
42 reviews
20.7 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
81 reviews
7 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Ratho Farm
Ratho Farm
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
95 reviews
8 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 8 in New Norfolk
37 reviews
16.3 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curringa Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curringa Farm

Address: 5831 Lyell Hwy, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hamilton
Price Range: £124 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Curringa Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy three self contained luxury spa cottages set beside beautiful Lake Meadowbank at Hamilton, only 1 hr from Hobart. Curringa Farm is a fully working, eco certified farm, growing seedcrops, poppies and cereals, raising lambs and producing wool. Relax by the lake, enjoy a BBQ, walk around the 750 acre farm or ask about an organised farm tour to see sheep shearing, conservation works and the farm operations. Close to Mt Field National Park. 2014 Winner of Hosted Accommodation Category of Tasmanian Tourism Awards from runner up in 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Curringa Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing