We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
90
16
4
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
16
4
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssheep shearingloaf of breadhotel qualitybbq dinnerone nightaccommodation experiencethe cottageshot bathmain bathroomtake photosself drivebreakfast providedbreakfast provisionsbbq facilitiescity dwellerslovely hostsdirt road
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My partner and I booked a night here in the Seaglenest cottage. We were advised prior to our check in that there would be no one there, so we found the key at reception and made our way to the cottage. The cottage was beautifully presented and the views are amazing! We walked down to the river and had a small picnic. The only couple of things that I found that disappointed me were; The lack of wine glasses - there were two champagne flutes only, the heater on the wall was quite loud and slightly annoying to run (ruins the serenity that comes with the farm stay) and that there is no bathroom door. Even though it was only my partner and I, I still enjoy the privacy of using the bathroom with the door closed. Apart from those minor things, the stay was beautiful and thoroughly enjoyed. The provided breakfast was Beautiful and I would definitely consider going back for another night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

What a spectacular piece of landscape. We rented a log cabin overlooking a magnificent river,surrounded by gum trees. Upon waking, I looked out to see sheep silently grazing outside my window. Its an oasis of tranquility. The cabin we had was self contained, eggs & bacon ready in the fridge for breakfast, two bedrooms, one with 3 single beds, the other with a queen bed. This is a perfect place to go away for a retreat. It does cost a little more however if its within the budget, it's totally worthy and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlin_hairandmakeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Hello Smithers888
Thank you so much for your review of Curringa Farm.
We have always been in two minds about the entrance to the bathroom alcove. In sure you agree that the room is nicely sized as a romantic getaway for short stay couples being open plan with large spa bath . ( Quite a few stay for multiple nights as well.) The bathroom/ toilet alcove is nicely / discretely screened with the entrance being too wide for a conventional door and we feel that a curtain would look too tacky. Placement of windows and entry of natural light was also a deciding factor. It was a real quandary and after 3.5 years of operation we have only had 2 or 3 verbal ( constructive ) comments along with your written one from several hundred guests. Thank you for your comments as new customers can now be a little bit more informed before they arrive. We welcome reviews from other stayers to determine if we really do need to make some structural changes.
As for the wine glasses I can only apologise for this oversight during our absence. If you come back to stay again you may like to consider staying in Wedgetail Wings with 2 bedrooms and separate private bathrooms with locking doors for each. On your return please make mention of this review and I'm sure we can help you out with a bottle of wine to make sure the newly replaced wineglasses work properly.
Once again thank you so much for your input.
Cheers TimP
Tim P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at Tim and Jane Parsons' Curringa Farm Cottage near Hamilton with two other friends on a girls'weekend. Curringa is a working farm geared for farm tours.Hamilton is only an hour from Hobart and a great base for visiting Mt Field and,Strathgordon or for a day trips to Derwent Bridge and Lake St Claire or Bothwell and Waddamana Power Sation.
The cottage is located beside a large dam. a habitat for swans and other water birds. The cottage was built on the site of a former farmhouse as evidenced by the older brick chimney and fire places of an otherwise more modern cottage. Two double bedrooms and two twin rooms provided plenty of sleeping space for three of us, and would lend itself to two families who wanted to share the cottage. A traditional clawfoot bathtub is in the main bathroom and one of the twin rooms has an en suite.
The kitchen is well kitted out, complete with rice cooker, but bring your own coffee plunger. The table easily seats six.There is ample seating on leather lounges in the sitting room, which includes a DVD player. We enjoyed sitting on the deck relaxing and enjoying the scenery. On our last morning Jane pointed us toward a wonderful swimming place along the shores of Meadowbank Lake on the property boundary. The swimming place was terrific on a warm morning. I look forward to returning for another visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LissFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Hello LissFin
Thank you so much for your delightful review. We regard The Farmhouse Cottage as an oldie but a goodie, we find that so many customers really enjoy the charm and nostalgia of a true farmhouse cottage with rambling country garden. Especially larger families travelling as a small group. Next time we would love you to experience the modern cottages over by the "Swimming Place" Lake Meadowbank. Looking forward to seeing you again and Yes we have replaced the elusive coffee plunger. Cheers Tim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at Curringa Farm, in Wedgetail Wings for one night on our honeymoon - splashing out a bit as we would be there the morning of my birthday/Valentine's day, as well as being on honeymoon.

We arrived at Curringa Farm and no-one was in reception to meet us, there were contact details available but without any phone reception it was difficult to get in contact with Tim or Jane. We waited for a while before wandering around and locating a patch of reception and getting hold of Jane and then waited another 10-15 minutes for her to arrive. Jane was friendly and drove us down (an unsealed, very rocky, bumpy road) to our cabin.

The Wedgetail Wings cabin was absolutely lovely, clean (except for a few bugs), spacious and had magnificent views. As we were only a couple the other room and bathroom were locked up but I can imagine it would be a lovely place to stay for a family with kids. We enjoyed the views from the patio, the BBQ, the lovely breakfast goodies included in our stay and the great spa for two.

We were however extremely disappointed to be woken at dawn by a herd of sheep running right past our cabin in the morning - not exactly the wake up call you want on your honeymoon/birthday/Valentine's day. While we were staying on a farm, farming activities were expected however we were not expecting to be woken up by sheep running within inches of our cabin, especially for the price we paid for the accommodation. If this is the norm on the farm then guests should be notified prior to booking.

As with most self-contained accommodation the cleaning of dishes is required prior to check-out, however the dish washing liquid provided for us to wash the dishes was empty which was not ideal. Luckily there was a dishwasher so we were able to meet the cleaning requirements without incurring an extra fee.

We arrived at check-out just before 10am, the check out time and once again there was no-one at reception to check us out. The cleaning lady arrived and called Jane while we were waiting to be checked out. She then informed us that we could give her the key and that Jane hoped we had a good stay and she was down at the shearing shed if we wanted to talk to her. We were quite disappointed by this lack of customer service, especially as the check-out time is set in stone.

Overall the accommodation was lovely, but we were disappointed that we were woken up by sheep with no prior warning and were disappointed by the customer service provided.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Hello Christine.
Thankyou for your review about your stay at Curringa Farm.
I am sorry that the farmstay experience that you booked did not meet your expectations during your holiday. In our advertising literature we state that we are a real working farm. There is an assumption here that we have dirt roads and sheep and " a few bugs". This is what most, if not 99% of our customers come to see. Something authentic and different to the norm of hotel or motel accommodation. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with our busiest month of the year, being Chinese New Year, where we had all 4 apartments booked solidly for 2.5 weeks with approximately 45 changeovers during this 14 day period. In addition to this we hosted quite a few speciality coach groups to our farm tour attraction business . We were present on the farm during your arrival and departure and it is unfortunate that we were tending to other customers needs without knowing that you were harbouring concerns about your own stay. Once again we apologise for that fact that your stay did not meet your overall expectations. Whilst dishwashing liquid is a minor oversight it is an inexcusable one and for this we will offer you a discount on your next stay to Curringa Farm if you wish to have another go at experiencing the pleasures that 99% of our customers come to embrace. Yours sincerely Tim Parsons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

We (2 adults, 2 kids and 1 baby) stayed at the Wedgetail Wings for 2 nights.

Very nice and comfortable stay. Well stocked kitchen with sandwich maker and rice cooker!

I liked that there were 2 bathrooms and we had a good sized deck with a BBQ grill.

Loved: great cottage. Wildlife came to our door. Daily visits by a kookaburra and we also saw an echidna. Great view of hills and river. Kids got a kick seeing the sheep each day as we drive back to the cottage. I personally liked being able to see the stars from the comfort of the master bedroom. Yummy home made bread which tastes really good the day we got it, but unfortunately (as it happens so often with bread), tasted less good as it got stale. But on the first day, it was divine. I was just picking at it and smearing jam onto it and snacking and snacking! Lovely hosts too.

True, there are bugs and flies around but you gotta expect that on a farm.

Great place for me and my city kids. You get the rural without having to forgo creature comforts.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Hi Meg,
Thank you so much for your kind words on here. We try to always make the bread on the morning of guests arrival and you are correct in saying after a few days it gets a bit crusty. Thats the downside of having home made bread without the long life preservatives that are added to commercial loaves. Im sorry about the bugs but when in the country they only have a few lights to zone into at night. They are at their worst on the really hot balmy nights and a tip for future travellers is to make sure you keep the screen doors closed whilst cooking your BBQ dinner and also whilst gazing at the stars at night. Its amazing how many can sneak in when your not watching for them. The good news is that they are only occasional moths, cockchafers and a small flying insect that gathers in hovering formation during the day. None of these will harm you in any way and the best way to clear them from a room is to turn all the inside lights off while you leave a door open and an outside light on, to attract them back to the outside of your cottage. :-)
Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Cheers
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews