We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
91
16
4
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
16
4
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssheep shearingloaf of breadhotel qualitybbq dinnerone nightaccommodation experiencethe cottageshot bathmain bathroomtake photosself drivebreakfast providedbreakfast provisionsbbq facilitiescity dwellerslovely hostsdirt road
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Curringa farm. We stayed in the four bedroom house and loved it. We were mixed group of 6 ranging in ages from 20- 55 and we all agreed we would love to stay here again. The other 5 opted for a shower after a long day sightseeing but I loved being able to soak in the awesome hot bath (there's ample hot water). The complimentary breakfast basket was full of fresh produce, the house is well equipped and the owners and their family are very hospitable. We are sorry we didn't stay longer but we will be back and recommend it to anyone.

We also had a great meal at the Oust pub (just a few kms down the road)

Room Tip: They are all good rooms wit quality bedding
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very beautiful farm. We stayed in the 4 bedroom unit. Unit was decent. Feels homely. You can cook in the house or bbq outside. The owner gaves us complimentary breakfast basket (eggs, bread, juice, milk, bacon and jam). Unit has complimentary tea, coffee, and cereals! There is a washing machine in there so complimentary washing, all good. Bad points: no wifi, some windows are unlockable (uncomfortable for international customers used to lock and key). One bedroom door was unlockable (connects to outside), hot water is limited we were told (good luck to the last person to shower). Otherwise, great stay! I was happy with the view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The tour was expensive - Adults A$75 Child A$35, but to be fair, there is always a choice one can make...

We had arrived early at 9.30am (as recommended by Jane) but had skipped breakfast to make the drive from Hobart. Jane said we could catch a quick bite at a nearby cafe and be back by 10 or 10.10am. By the time we arrived back, on time at 10am, we were told that there were no more seats left in their cars (a truck and another 4WD) and we had to drive our own car around the place. I was a little peeved as I felt that we should have been told upfront about the space constraints (I had called a day ahead to check on availability).

Nevertheless, I put that aside, determined to enjoy our (last) day in beautiful Tasmania. It was an enjoyable farm tour, especially for the kids and city dwellers/urbanites like us. The only downside I felt was that, for that exorbitant price, the tour was very rushed because we had to make 4 stops in 2 hours. In particular, it was a little stressful for us trying to catch up with Tim driving very fast upfront whilst we struggled to drive through the rocky, unfamiliar (to us) and occasionally very steep terrain (we did not have a 4WD) and trying not to damage our rental car! They have a beautiful piece of land, and there was a nice serene lake. I just wished we could have had more time at each stop to enjoy the scenery etc. It was like, ok - get down, snap snap pics (for each of the different groups) and then ok move on... except for the last stop of sheep shearing and scones where we could stay in the lodge where we dined till we were done. I dunno - maybe it was just us feeling a bit frantic because of the driving the terrain and catching up... The scones and tea were a nice end though (and the scones were delicious).

In summary, except for that glitch with the self drive rush which marred things a little (so check specifically on this in advance if you want to avoid that), it was an enjoyable farm tour and farm experience. Naturally, the kids enjoyed it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank KarenWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you enjoy the nature, please stay at Curringa Farm for sure!

We enjoyed staying at the farm very much! It's our first time playing with the sheep so closely. They're the most lovely animal in Tasmania! We enjoyed staying at their workshop and see how they work with the sheepssss! Highly recommended!
Tim and Jane are very nice couple, they told us a lot about the farm. The scone from Jane was delicious!
The room is very clean and spacious! The spa is super relaxing. It was our first time using heater in such a "natural" way! Tim cut the wood for us, and burn the wood into the heater by ourselves. It was fun!
All the experience we had in Curringa Farm are memorable to our trip at Tasmania! For sure, I really recommend Curringa Farm when you decide a trip at Tasmania!

Room Tip: Be remember to prepare some food before heading to the Farm, there's no supermarket nearby. Or you could decide to ask Tim & Jane to prepare for you...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winnie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is my ever first farm stay. The cottage is spacious and nicely equipped. Modernized decoration with amazing view of large piece of grassland and we stay by the lakeside. There is actual fire place that you burn wood but also equipped with electric heater just in case no one gets up in the midnight to do the fire. The place is clean and the farm owner encourages visitors to do their share of work like washing all the dishes and take good care of the kitchenware etc, which I totally agree showing respect not only to the farm, the nature, also to one own self. Last but not least, the farm tour worth all the penny! Particular when you are surrounded by 600+ sheep. I enjoy the stay a lot!

Room Tip: Only 3 cottages, you have to book very advance!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AnnisaTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews