We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
National Park Hotel(Mount Field National Park)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Junction Motel(New Norfolk)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Claremont Hotel Motel(Claremont)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mona Pavilions(Berriedale)
US$517
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$486
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
90
16
4
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
16
4
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssheep shearingloaf of breadhotel qualitybbq dinnerone nightaccommodation experiencethe cottageshot bathmain bathroomtake photosself drivebreakfast providedbreakfast provisionsbbq facilitiescity dwellerslovely hostsdirt road
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

All 3 chalets were filled up but no farm tour. No one to greet us when we got there, just a key hanging on the notice board with a note explaining how to find our room. choosing to stay at a farm... obviously coming from the city we would have wanted to learn something about it... unfortunately we were just left wandering around. it's very different from what it says on their website. The room was fantastic and the views were great. But they were not at all ready to serve and deliver an experience.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
10  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Good Morning Joseph.
Obviously you are not happy with your experience at Curringa Farm which is contrary to many other reviews we have. To this I apologise if your personal experience wasn't up to your own expectations.
This month we have been filled to capacity with over a thousand visitors from Hong Kong and elsewhere enjoying their CNY vacation. We and our staff have done an outstanding job with servicing both customers and apartments. This certainly isn't a valid excuse if any of our customers aren't satisfied with their experience. We do have an extensive email process to advise ALL customers who book about tours, dinner availability and travel instructions. Please advise your full name and date you stayed with us and we will be able to verify your experience at our end. We would have advised you of minimum numbers and date availability required for a farm tour and offered you alternate times if it was possible. The farm tour has always been an optional extra. Not an inclusion to our accommodation business as many customers choose just to enjoy the peace and tranquillity and beautiful views that you mention. They choose to wander around the farm to take in the space and freedom and take photos on their own. Our policy is to meet and greet all customers who come and stay and if for some reason we are away from reception or not on the farm we leave a notice with key and clear instructions on how to access your cottage and contact us if need be. There is a rare possibility that Jane and I were both away from the farm overnight tending to our own personal needs and business. If this was the case, then someone most certainly would have contacted you before, during or after your stay.
We are almost certain you made your booking through a travel agent in Hong Kong , who we advise all the things as mentioned above. If they did not pass these on to you or provide us with your contact details then we had no way of communicating our personal information to you.
We are sorry about this and hope it is a message to future travellers to contact us in advance if they have any specific queries about their stay at Curringa Farm.
Upon receiving your name and date of stay, to verify your experience we will consider offering you a refund on your accommodation at Curringa Farm. Yours sincerely Tim and Jane Parsons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Wow!! We had the pleasure of staying at Curringa Cottages for three nights in December. What an amazing place. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage and it was just beautiful. The furnishings were lovely, very spacious and perfectly clean. Kitchen well equipped, great BBQ on the deck, lovely coffee! Have stayed (and worked) in many five star properties and I really was impressed with this place. Plenty of books games and dvd's to keep the kids entertained! As well as amazing views and peace and quiet! The farm is beautiful and the hosts very friendly and accommodating. I believe the cottage is very well priced and certainly worth the money. Would certainly recommend and will hopefully visit again!

Room Tip: Two bedroom cottage was perfect with two children, but I believe there are cottages for larger groups.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi Cath
So nice to hear from you and your lovely review. Thanks so much.
Yes we really enjoy sharing our beautiful farm with visitors and we ensure that they are furnished just the way we would like to experience when we stay in other places ourselves.
Would love to see you again. ( and your friends of course) Please remind us when you come again and we will get the children to collect some eggs for their breakfast just like last time.
Once again thank you so much for your review. I'm sure you enjoyed your total Tasmanian holiday.
Cheers
Tim P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Curringa farm. We stayed in the four bedroom house and loved it. We were mixed group of 6 ranging in ages from 20- 55 and we all agreed we would love to stay here again. The other 5 opted for a shower after a long day sightseeing but I loved being able to soak in the awesome hot bath (there's ample hot water). The complimentary breakfast basket was full of fresh produce, the house is well equipped and the owners and their family are very hospitable. We are sorry we didn't stay longer but we will be back and recommend it to anyone.

We also had a great meal at the Oust pub (just a few kms down the road)

Room Tip: They are all good rooms wit quality bedding
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very beautiful farm. We stayed in the 4 bedroom unit. Unit was decent. Feels homely. You can cook in the house or bbq outside. The owner gaves us complimentary breakfast basket (eggs, bread, juice, milk, bacon and jam). Unit has complimentary tea, coffee, and cereals! There is a washing machine in there so complimentary washing, all good. Bad points: no wifi, some windows are unlockable (uncomfortable for international customers used to lock and key). One bedroom door was unlockable (connects to outside), hot water is limited we were told (good luck to the last person to shower). Otherwise, great stay! I was happy with the view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The tour was expensive - Adults A$75 Child A$35, but to be fair, there is always a choice one can make...

We had arrived early at 9.30am (as recommended by Jane) but had skipped breakfast to make the drive from Hobart. Jane said we could catch a quick bite at a nearby cafe and be back by 10 or 10.10am. By the time we arrived back, on time at 10am, we were told that there were no more seats left in their cars (a truck and another 4WD) and we had to drive our own car around the place. I was a little peeved as I felt that we should have been told upfront about the space constraints (I had called a day ahead to check on availability).

Nevertheless, I put that aside, determined to enjoy our (last) day in beautiful Tasmania. It was an enjoyable farm tour, especially for the kids and city dwellers/urbanites like us. The only downside I felt was that, for that exorbitant price, the tour was very rushed because we had to make 4 stops in 2 hours. In particular, it was a little stressful for us trying to catch up with Tim driving very fast upfront whilst we struggled to drive through the rocky, unfamiliar (to us) and occasionally very steep terrain (we did not have a 4WD) and trying not to damage our rental car! They have a beautiful piece of land, and there was a nice serene lake. I just wished we could have had more time at each stop to enjoy the scenery etc. It was like, ok - get down, snap snap pics (for each of the different groups) and then ok move on... except for the last stop of sheep shearing and scones where we could stay in the lodge where we dined till we were done. I dunno - maybe it was just us feeling a bit frantic because of the driving the terrain and catching up... The scones and tea were a nice end though (and the scones were delicious).

In summary, except for that glitch with the self drive rush which marred things a little (so check specifically on this in advance if you want to avoid that), it was an enjoyable farm tour and farm experience. Naturally, the kids enjoyed it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank KarenWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews