We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb tour”
Review of Curringa Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Curringa Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We took this tour from our Princess cruise and really enjoyed it. Fabulous presentation. The owner cooked a perfect steak luncheon, followed by a demonstration of shearing of sheep and roundup by sheepdog. Would have loved to have been able to stay in on of the cabins.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Curringa Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the over the back, lovely and warm place with fully equipped kitchen and a large spa bath tub. Also ordered the dinner pack with ready made salad, some steaks and more, perfect for a barbeque dinner! We also loved the farm tour, very close look at the sheep and great sharing. Dont miss out the homemade scones and jam!

Thanks Jane and Tim again for everything!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

All 3 chalets were filled up but no farm tour. No one to greet us when we got there, just a key hanging on the notice board with a note explaining how to find our room. choosing to stay at a farm... obviously coming from the city we would have wanted to learn something about it... unfortunately we were just left wandering around. it's very different from what it says on their website. The room was fantastic and the views were great. But they were not at all ready to serve and deliver an experience.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Good Morning Joseph.
Obviously you are not happy with your experience at Curringa Farm which is contrary to many other reviews we have. To this I apologise if your personal experience wasn't up to your own expectations.
This month we have been filled to capacity with over a thousand visitors from Hong Kong and elsewhere enjoying their CNY vacation. We and our staff have done an outstanding job with servicing both customers and apartments. This certainly isn't a valid excuse if any of our customers aren't satisfied with their experience. We do have an extensive email process to advise ALL customers who book about tours, dinner availability and travel instructions. Please advise your full name and date you stayed with us and we will be able to verify your experience at our end. We would have advised you of minimum numbers and date availability required for a farm tour and offered you alternate times if it was possible. The farm tour has always been an optional extra. Not an inclusion to our accommodation business as many customers choose just to enjoy the peace and tranquillity and beautiful views that you mention. They choose to wander around the farm to take in the space and freedom and take photos on their own. Our policy is to meet and greet all customers who come and stay and if for some reason we are away from reception or not on the farm we leave a notice with key and clear instructions on how to access your cottage and contact us if need be. There is a rare possibility that Jane and I were both away from the farm overnight tending to our own personal needs and business. If this was the case, then someone most certainly would have contacted you before, during or after your stay.
We are almost certain you made your booking through a travel agent in Hong Kong , who we advise all the things as mentioned above. If they did not pass these on to you or provide us with your contact details then we had no way of communicating our personal information to you.
We are sorry about this and hope it is a message to future travellers to contact us in advance if they have any specific queries about their stay at Curringa Farm.
Upon receiving your name and date of stay, to verify your experience we will consider offering you a refund on your accommodation at Curringa Farm. Yours sincerely Tim and Jane Parsons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Wow!! We had the pleasure of staying at Curringa Cottages for three nights in December. What an amazing place. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage and it was just beautiful. The furnishings were lovely, very spacious and perfectly clean. Kitchen well equipped, great BBQ on the deck, lovely coffee! Have stayed (and worked) in many five star properties and I really was impressed with this place. Plenty of books games and dvd's to keep the kids entertained! As well as amazing views and peace and quiet! The farm is beautiful and the hosts very friendly and accommodating. I believe the cottage is very well priced and certainly worth the money. Would certainly recommend and will hopefully visit again!

Room Tip: Two bedroom cottage was perfect with two children, but I believe there are cottages for larger group...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi Cath
So nice to hear from you and your lovely review. Thanks so much.
Yes we really enjoy sharing our beautiful farm with visitors and we ensure that they are furnished just the way we would like to experience when we stay in other places ourselves.
Would love to see you again. ( and your friends of course) Please remind us when you come again and we will get the children to collect some eggs for their breakfast just like last time.
Once again thank you so much for your review. I'm sure you enjoyed your total Tasmanian holiday.
Cheers
Tim P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Curringa farm. We stayed in the four bedroom house and loved it. We were mixed group of 6 ranging in ages from 20- 55 and we all agreed we would love to stay here again. The other 5 opted for a shower after a long day sightseeing but I loved being able to soak in the awesome hot bath (there's ample hot water). The complimentary breakfast basket was full of fresh produce, the house is well equipped and the owners and their family are very hospitable. We are sorry we didn't stay longer but we will be back and recommend it to anyone.

We also had a great meal at the Oust pub (just a few kms down the road)

Room Tip: They are all good rooms wit quality bedding
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very beautiful farm. We stayed in the 4 bedroom unit. Unit was decent. Feels homely. You can cook in the house or bbq outside. The owner gaves us complimentary breakfast basket (eggs, bread, juice, milk, bacon and jam). Unit has complimentary tea, coffee, and cereals! There is a washing machine in there so complimentary washing, all good. Bad points: no wifi, some windows are unlockable (uncomfortable for international customers used to lock and key). One bedroom door was unlockable (connects to outside), hot water is limited we were told (good luck to the last person to shower). Otherwise, great stay! I was happy with the view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The tour was expensive - Adults A$75 Child A$35, but to be fair, there is always a choice one can make...

We had arrived early at 9.30am (as recommended by Jane) but had skipped breakfast to make the drive from Hobart. Jane said we could catch a quick bite at a nearby cafe and be back by 10 or 10.10am. By the time we arrived back, on time at 10am, we were told that there were no more seats left in their cars (a truck and another 4WD) and we had to drive our own car around the place. I was a little peeved as I felt that we should have been told upfront about the space constraints (I had called a day ahead to check on availability).

Nevertheless, I put that aside, determined to enjoy our (last) day in beautiful Tasmania. It was an enjoyable farm tour, especially for the kids and city dwellers/urbanites like us. The only downside I felt was that, for that exorbitant price, the tour was very rushed because we had to make 4 stops in 2 hours. In particular, it was a little stressful for us trying to catch up with Tim driving very fast upfront whilst we struggled to drive through the rocky, unfamiliar (to us) and occasionally very steep terrain (we did not have a 4WD) and trying not to damage our rental car! They have a beautiful piece of land, and there was a nice serene lake. I just wished we could have had more time at each stop to enjoy the scenery etc. It was like, ok - get down, snap snap pics (for each of the different groups) and then ok move on... except for the last stop of sheep shearing and scones where we could stay in the lodge where we dined till we were done. I dunno - maybe it was just us feeling a bit frantic because of the driving the terrain and catching up... The scones and tea were a nice end though (and the scones were delicious).

In summary, except for that glitch with the self drive rush which marred things a little (so check specifically on this in advance if you want to avoid that), it was an enjoyable farm tour and farm experience. Naturally, the kids enjoyed it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank KarenWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
10.1 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
41 reviews
16.3 mi away
Ratho Farm
Ratho Farm
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
90 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
19.4 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
94 reviews
8.0 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curringa Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curringa Farm

Address: 5831 Lyell Hwy, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hamilton
Price Range: £133 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Curringa Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy three self contained luxury spa cottages set beside beautiful Lake Meadowbank at Hamilton, only 1 hr from Hobart. Curringa Farm is a fully working, eco certified farm, growing seedcrops, poppies and cereals, raising lambs and producing wool. Relax by the lake, enjoy a BBQ, walk around the 750 acre farm or ask about an organised farm tour to see sheep shearing, conservation works and the farm operations. Close to Mt Field National Park. 2014 Winner of Hosted Accommodation Category of Tasmanian Tourism Awards from runner up in 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Curringa Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing