We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
96
17
4
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
17
4
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssheep shearingloaf of breadaccommodation experiencethe cottagesbbq dinnerrice cookerbreakfast provideddeck areatake photosself drivebbq facilitiescoffee plungercity dwellerslarge jacuzzibreakfast suppliesrelaxing staywashing machine
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely place for farm stay, friendly and helpful owner. Facilities are fully equipped, nice room.. almost perfect. Love the huge window that's like a moving picture every sec.
But do try to reach there early as road n farm area are not well lighted at night.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank MsChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CurringaFarm, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hi MsChong
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Sound advice to future travellers to arrive early to maximise your wonderful stay at Curringa and alleviate difficult nighttime driving conditions.
Cheers
Tim and Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Although this is promoted as a farm stay accommodation, the quality and features of the cottage definitely reach and in some aspects exceed the standards of your typical hotel. My family and I stayed at the Wombat Cottage which was really spacious and had everything from cutlery to towels all looking clean and really nicely presented. This accommodation definitely has a significant level of thoughtfulness put into it by Tim and Jane as they provided us with a full loaf of bread, two bottles of orange juice and milk respectively for breakfast. The Wombat Cottage also had a washing machine and even a small amount of DVDs like Mamma Mia! Musical Film for some stay-in entertainment.

For potential travelers considering Curringa Farm, here are some of my suggestions:
1. If you are thinking of cooking at your respective cottages and as suggested by other TripAdvisor reviewers, drop by the IGA X-press at the town of Ouse which does have a small selection of vegetables, fruits and some cold meats. However it does have a reasonable amount of microwave or ready-to-eat meals from breaded frozen fish to Continental's "Cup A Soup" products. Here's the address for the IGA supermarket: 6941 Lyell Highway, Ouse, Tas, 7140
2. White rice and pasta are provided in sealed containers in the Wombat Cottage along with the necessary cooking equipment like rice cookers or pots, so if you are staying in this accommodation you may want to take the opportunity to cook a more substantial meal. However we could not find any cooking oil in the cottage, so do take note of that.
3. The minimum amount of participants for the farm tour to go ahead is 4 people and it requires advanced notification, so do take note of that if you are keen for the farm tour.

I would definitely love to stay at this accommodation again and would recommend it if you like to have hotel quality accommodations while having a close-to-nature experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Jane was very welcoming from the first moment we called to book and even more so when we arrived. Our drive through the property just on dusk was magnificent.

We arrived at our cottage and were very overwhelmed. It was certainly more than we were expecting.

Our only disappointment was we arrived late in the day and missed a beautiful sunset on the deck.....

Would happily stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

Don't drive past....

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Today, I visited Curringa Farm just outside of Hamilton, Tasmania.I was on a coach with 20 other Carers. After being greeted by Jane and Tim, we had a tour of the farm, (750 acres), Next we watched their sheep dog round up the sheep. We then headed back to the visitor centre for a barbecue lunch cooked by Tim. After lunch we then watched sheep shearing.
We only came for the day, but they do have self contained cottages on site.
If you want to get out of the city, relax, no noise, then this is the place to come to.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Curringa Farm is an authentic farm, unlike those commercial farms. Hence, the cottages are far apart from each other giving you absolute privacy. I like it that the sheep can be outside your cottage.

Is the experience authentic, yes it is.
Is the feeling at night tranquil, yes it is.
Is it unique indescribable feeling, yes it is.
Is it expensive, yes it is too.

It is odd that the dinner costs US$45 as it's not value for money. Yes, we were given some meet ( one piece per person), pasta, sauces etc, clearly, that does not command US$45 per person. A good alternative is to go to the supermarket and buy all the meet/pasta etc you wish and cook instead of ordering the dinner set. Can probably save you a fair bit of cash.

Furthermore, we had to cook and wash up by ourselves. We were so scared of the warning that there will be an additional charge if we didn't wash the dishes to standard.

But the cottage has it charm. It brings you back to nature, back to reality. Imagine sitting down reading a book looking at the beautiful pastures. Imagine looking into the sky at night with no lights. Imagine sheep greeting you in the morning.

A perfect sight. If Curringa were to tweak the dinner and adjust the pricing a little, it'll deserve 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hock Boon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews