We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of Huon Bush Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Huon Bush Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

As soon as we arrived at our Big Tree Cabin at Huan Bush Retreats, I was thinking when can we come back here? The cabins are clean, bright & cozy with everything you need to be comfortable. We cooked our own food, went for some amazing hikes, had a bath under the stars and relaxed. It's a place to get back in touch with nature and yourself, I could stay there for weeks and can't wait for our next bush retreat!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    51
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
125
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in the Clifftop Cabin for two nights with our two children. As complete city kids this was one of the best experiences of our Tasmanian holiday - no TV, no wifi, log fire, bush walks....a real treat for them and the grown ups. We saw some amazing wildlife right outside the door. The cabin was clean, well equipped and so wonderfully quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bobo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My Fiance and I stayed 2 nights in the streamside cabin and it was relaxing, quiet and absolutely awesome. You feel as though you are the only ones for miles around. Paul was welcoming and accommodating and we came and went as we pleased. If you want TV and WIFI then this is not the place for you, but if you want privacy and relaxation then book this place!
Great place to base yourself for exploring the Huon Valley. The log fire was a great (and needed) addition (it was even made for us on arrival)

Room Tip: Streamside cabin is private but very cold down in the valley, definitely need to make use of the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elks1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for your visit and the review.

Yes, our wood fired heaters give a lovely cosy atmosphere. Arriving from Papua New Guinea, I guess autumn in Tassie is going to feel a bit cold. Glad the fire took the chill off for you.

For people who seek seclusion, Streamside Cabin provides complete privacy, surrounded by tree ferns next to a small stream. Acacia Grove Cabin is in a more open setting and trades absolute privacy for a sunny outlook. Big Tree Cabin is a happy mix of the two.

Cheers
Paul D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Streamside cabin for a couple of nights and we enjoyed it immensely. So quiet and private and the cabin was clean, cosy and well equipped.

Wood fire, outside bath and the visiting widlife were the highlights.

Room Tip: Streamside is the most private cabin, others are visible from the main drieway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Dave,

Thanks for your visit. It sounds like Streamside Cabin provided the tranquillity that you were seeking.

Cheers

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Girlfriend and I stayed in the streamside cabin for two nights - it was ridiculously rad.

We searched every hotel/motel/camping option "near" Hobart via wotif and stumbled across Huon Bush Retreats. The outdoor bathtub was the drawcard and it did not disappoint. We read all the reviews on tripadvisor in regards to what cabin would be best suited for us. There were a few comments about the stream side being the most secluded and it definitely was. Reality felt a long long way away at this cabin.

The carbon neutral aspect of the cabin is awesome and made the bush experience much more authentic - the drop toilet was no different to a normal toilet (no smells, no hassles), our phones were off/flat the entire time we were at the cabin, we bought a few cd's for the cd player and had drinks on the deck/in front of the fire place. Unreal experience being off the grid that we will definitely do again this year - but for much longer!

The service was magic. We had a huge delicious platter delivered by the staff on the second night, the fire was rocking by the time we checked in at 830/900 pm the first night, the cabin was clean and had epic attention to detail. The bed was super comfy too!

The walks out the back of the retreats are a must as well.

I'll be recommending it to everyone I know, and we will definitely be back this year - hopefully for the winter experience!

Room Tip: Stream side is the most secluded/private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi James B,

Thanks for your comprehensive review. It will help prospective guests decide if Huon Bush Retreats is the right experience for them.

It takes a lot of extra effort to run an accommodation property in an environmentally responsible way. We go much further than changing light blubs and washing towels only each second day. We are glad that you appreciated the compost toilets, chemical free water supply, protected forest and wildlife etc.

Also glad you enjoyed your dinner platter. (A note to people reading your praise for our Gourmet Platter and considering trying the same. As we get the ingredients in fresh, meal service does need to be pre booked and the exact ingredients are subject to slight availability variations.)

Watch out for out $10 second night special that we run over winter. Great for a weekend escape from Melbourne. See the Specials page on our website.

Paul D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the moment we enquired all the way through to our departure it was as good as it could be, far exceeded expectations. The guys run it well and have chosen a fabulous location and ensured that their footprint on the environment is minimal.

We upgraded from a Tee Pee to a cabin as we were a family of four and it was a good move. That said the Tee Pees were really cool and would be perfect for a couple. They also have great really private campsites. The Kitchen area is one of the best I have seen at a camp site and is always clean. They also have games and puzzles and we managed to build a 1000 piece puzzle in the 3 nights we were there... very relaxing. Lots of wallabies at Sunset.

Lots to do in the area, recommend the Tahune Air Walk (45 minute drive) but there are also some really good walks from the property. Down the hill on the way to Huonville is a bakery I would recommend for good coffee and their Wallaby Pies are a must, if you are not vegetarian :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DazzLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
G'day DazzLoyd,

Glad you enjoyed your family stay in one of our cabins. As you identify, the tipees are great for a couple or maybe single parent and child but the cabins are better for a whole family. Glad we were able to upgrade you to a cabin and that you appreciated the eco facilities.

Cheers

Paul D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

No better place to relax and take time out from the world. We stayed in the Big Tree Cabin, couldn't believe my partner had found such a perfect place for our stay of 10 nights! An eco friendly stay in cosy comfort, especially the wood fire. Stunning walks, views and visiting wildlife. I loved the fact that we were close enough to all in the Huon Valley, but able to escape each evening to our paradise in the woods!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHVE, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Marilyn,

Looks like Big Tree Cabin provided you with the perfect balance of convenience and amenity. As you point out, our location is central to Hobart and the Huon Valley and Bruny Island. Nearby everything but once you settle into your cabin, you feel a million miles from anywhere.

Thanks for the perfect score on all aspects

Paul D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huonville
18.4 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hillside at Woodstock Bed & Breakfast
12.1 mi away
The Port Huon Cottages
The Port Huon Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Huon
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
House on the Hill Country Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Huonville Guesthouse
Huonville Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Huonville
69 reviews
23.1 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huon Bush Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huon Bush Retreats

Property: Huon Bush Retreats
Address: 300 Browns Rd | Ranelagh, Huonville, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Huonville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Huonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huon Bush Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained cabins, tipees and campground in an extensive private habitat reserve, 50 minutes south from Hobart. Relax, explore, experience, nature. We live up to our name as a true retreat. Privacy is protected by 4km winding gravel road, 12 volt solar electricity, interpreted bushwalks and wildlife onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Huon Bush Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huon Bush Retreats Huonville, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing