We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Plovers Ridge when you are in Tasmania!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plovers Ridge Country Retreat
Reviewed 26 April 2013

As a family with two boys aged 10 and 11 we stayed at Plovers Ridge 3 nights and it was definitively the best stay during our trip trough Tasmania. We should have stayed longer, but we didn’t know that this is a hidden gem in Tasmania. We stayed at the Leatherwood cottage which is a fully furnished accommodation with 2 bedrooms, laundry, big kitchen and last but not least a wonderful terrace with spectacular views. We were amazed by the peace and quietness: this is the most perfect getaway and B&B that we had during our 7 week trip trough Australia. And here you feel the Tassie spirit at its best! It is the perfect place to relax. The views are just gorgeous, the grounds and laws are lovely and the breakfast is excellent. Trough the whole propriety you feel the love for the little details and the devotion of the owners Jeni and Pete. The breakfast is excellent with fresh fruits and eggs that change every day. Jeni and Pete are lovely hosts and they made us feel at home very far away from our home in Switzerland and this means a lot to us. Plovers Ridge is just 20 minutes from Launceston and if you need some beach, Bridport is 1 hour drive. Lilydale is a charming little town. They have a nice pool for families (a bigger one is in Scottsdale). We visited the Bridestowe lavender farm and the Hollybank Treetops Adventure which is a lot of fun for the kids. The Cataract Gorge & First Basin in Launceston is worth a trip with the kids. In Scottsdale we can recommend the Cottage bakery and in Launceston Levee food for dinner waterside. When you are in Tasmania, don’t miss the excellent hospitality of Jeni and Pete at Plovers Ridge!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mittelwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Had an excellent time here. Two boys had a great time with chilli, the deaf dog - used this as a base between Launceston and Bridport as Bridport was fully booked, but this turned out to be just as pleasant, with the beaches only a half an hour drive away. Acommodation was very homely - great stereo and kitchen facilities. All in all one of the best places we have stayed in Tas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgritzHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

A truly memorable experience! This became our home away from home. A great base from which to venture out and see all the beauty of Tassie. Then come home to beautiful, peaceful mountain views, a georgeous cottage garden and wonderful, caring host and hostess. Will definitely be booking myself in again, next time I visit. Thanks for everything Jeni & Pete.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Peace and quiet, gaze out over the rolling hills, platapus in the dam and gourmet cooking served to your table.

Located fifteen minutes drive from Launceston - see the Lillydale falls.

This is my second stay at Plovers Ridge and i will be back.

Brett O"Maley

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Plovers Ridge should be a must-stay on any Tassie itinerary. Idylically located in a rural setting, the welcome, the standard of accommodation, the attention to detail, Jeni's superb cooking, Pete's beautiful lawns and gardens, the plovers, the platypus in the dam all come together to make a stay at Plovers Ridge a truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: The brick cottage is beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Jeni, Pete and Chili made us feel very welcome on their beautiful property which even has resident platypus. My husband and I stayed in Myrtle Cottage which has all the amenities to make it a truly comfortable place from which to view the cottage garden, cattle feeding in green paddocks and hills in the distance. Not only were breakfasts delicious, but dinner was fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeetaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni N, Manager at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

We loved your little poem in the visitors book and I'm sure it will continue to entertain the many guests who have followed you. Thank you Leeta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is the best B&B accommodation I have ever stayed. Located in a beautiful valley with fantastic view. We lived in the Leatherwood cottage. It's perfect for family with comfy vintage interior decoration. Jeni and Pete are very nice hosts. They made delicious gourmet food as well as gave us a lot of good suggestions for travel around. This is a great place to relax and enjoy the country life. We will come back again, definitely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilydale
12.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
930 reviews
13.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
13.5 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,577 reviews
13.6 mi away
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
12.9 mi away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 32 in Launceston
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plovers Ridge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plovers Ridge Country Retreat

Address: 132 Lalla Rd | Launceston, Lilydale, Launceston, Tasmania 7268, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Lilydale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lilydale
Price Range: £81 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes north of Launceston, Plovers Ridge has comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom cottages overlooking the peaceful Lilydale valley. Tariff includes a full cooked breakfast served in the privacy of your accommodation. Nearby beaches, Hollybank Treetops Adventure, mountain bike tracks, Bridestowe Lavender Farm, bushwalking and on the Wine Route, You can be as active (or as inactive) as you please. Wholesome, fresh & tasty dinners available by prior arrangement. Retreat to the countryside at Plovers Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plovers Ridge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing