We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lilydale, Launceston, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cate O
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at Pinners for six nights over the New Year period. We wanted a place where we could explore the Tamar Valley and Launceston but relax in peaceful surroundings at the end of the day. Pinners was perfect for this. Hosts, Lyndy and David, have provided comfortable accomodation with many special touches. Everything is included for self catering, including a spotlessly clean bar-b-q. Very,very generous provisions for breakfast, the best I have ever come across!! Organic eggs, homemade bread and jam, berries,bacon plus a treat each day homemade by Lyndy. And it didn't stop there. Toiletries provided were beautiful. Locally made soaps and lovely hair products. Lyndy and David are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Their organic farm is a credit to their hard work and committment. It was wonderful to share it for awhile. Thank you. We hope to revisit one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a great time.”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The newly built cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. Setup for wheelchair access.
Hospitality has been excellent, kids have met Henry the sheep, watched milking, fed chooks and gone mushrooming.
The food supplies were fresh and generous. Organic of course and straight off the farm. Everyone loved the homemade muffins for afternoon tea.
If you're a big kid bring the MTB along and head to Hollybank MTB park, or head for Hollybank Treetops Adventure.
Otherwise you might have to tour a vineyard or two.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azzezza
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Without a doubt the highlight of our Tassie Holiday”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Where do you start? The location is beautiful. A wonderful sense of real remoteness while being less than an hour from Launceston.

From the start of our stay when Lindy came out to great us till when we left everything was perfect. Lindy and David are amazing hosts, having perfected the art of being always available but never intrusive. Their tour of their organic farm was fascinating, as was learning about all the different crops they grew and techniques they used.

Farm activities were a highlight for the kids and adults! We loved milking the cows, searching for eggs, feeding the chickens and lamb and appreciated the fact that these activities took place at the tourist friendly time of 8am (and were completely optional). We loved having our own veggie patch to raid for fresh veggies and strawberries. The farm was also beautiful to walk around and enjoy.

The food was amazing. Award winning bacon and home grown eggs were supplemented with homemade bread, jam and a good selection of cereal, juice. Everything was topped up daily. If you go order the BBQ pack. It was delicious, contained everything you needed for a meal and lasted us two nights (and we dont have dainty appetites. The magically refilling biscuit jar was also a highlight.

The cottage itself was lovely. It was thoughtfully equipped with everything you needed, had great quality linen and towels, lovely toiletries and was cosy and comfortable. Even though we were there in December it was stocked with firewood in case we needed it. It had a gorgeous view over the paddock and was nicely separated from the farm house.

We stayed for a week and found plenty to do in the local area (when we could tear ourselves away!)

The only draw back was that we stayed here early in our holiday and nothing else came close to matching it. We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky1001
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Need to unwind? Here's the place.”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Pinners late September 2014 on our first trip to Tasmania. When booking we were looking for a relaxing 'farm stay' type accommodation which we could use as a base from which to explore, or just to sit back and enjoy the scenery. Pinners website seemed to suggest they had both, so we booked 5 nights.

On arrival we were greeted by a couple of curious chickens and Errol the rooster, followed very quickly by David and Lyndy, our hosts. After a chat and a quick introductory tour of our accommodation we were left to enjoy the beautiful view over the surrounding farmland.

Our provisions on arrival were ample and tasty, including Lyndy's beautiful bread and jams. The cottage is plenty big enough and comfortably furnished. Although we could have made do with what was provided, a very quick (~7 minutes) trip down the road to the Lilydale IGA allowed us to stock up a little more.

Pinners is only about 15 minutes NE of Launceston and over the next few days we found it to be a terrific base to explore north east Tasmania (hire car).

Later in the week Lyndy kindly showed us round their organic farm. It was fascinating to learn how an organic farm becomes and stays 'organic', and yes, very fun to feed the chooks and lambs and milk Saudi, the house cow. The farm is very much a working farm, and the time taken by both Lyndy and David to patiently explain how it works was very much appreciated.

The cottage was clean, beds were comfy. Our provisions were restocked regularly throughout our stay, including possibly the tastiest smoked bacon we've ever had, and farm fresh eggs.

We've pondered for a while on what rating to give Pinners. 4 stars seemed about right for the accommodation and location, but the extra star / excellent rating belongs to our hosts. Although on some days we didn't see them at all, when we did we felt the warmest of country hospitality. In fact we felt treated like (almost) part of the family. Combined with the therapeutic views, yummy food, comfy cottage and great location, it made for a wonderful holiday and we will definitely return.

Oh, and the stars at night with no street lights to hide them? Wow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the hosts
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J5691DSSc...
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Looking for a peaceful getaway, this is it!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lyndy and David are the perfect hosts of this self contained, private cabin in the Tamar Valley. The views overlooking the valley below are simply stunning.
Well equipped with everything you could want including Lyndies personal touches of homemade biscuits, sauces, jams etc.
Great value........not to be missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabienneC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous hidden gem!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Lyndy and David are genuine and lovely welcoming people. They made you feel at home immediately. The cottage/bungalow is immaculate and has stunning views all around. It's tastefully decorated with attention to detail. Lots of personal touches such as home made biscuits and jams. Anyone being in this area should make a stop here. Best place of our entire holiday in Tasmania!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kateshir
Hobart Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Superb holiday rental”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Nicely furbished cottage with everything you might need although the cooking facilities are slightly challenging (plug in hot plates). Unfortunately we did not have good weather so couldn't use the alternative BBQ facility which looked impressive. The views from the deck are outstanding, a sweeping valley vista with the appropriate no. of cows etc. to gladden the heart. What sets this property apart is the lovely fresh farm provisions from the Pinner organic farm. We had ordered a BBQ platter for the first night and this was ample for both nights. The breakfast provisions likewise fed us for lunch as well! Fresh bread, fresh strawberries and fresh raspberries were delivered to us each day of our stay and they were all delicious. We were offered a tour of the farm but decided against it (weather) but were entertained by the very large bull in the paddock behind the cottage. We have stayed in many holiday rentals but this is surely one of the best. The cottage will comfortably sleep four but can take five. Couches and beds very comfy. Strongly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fresh provisions from the organic farm
Liked least: the plug in hot plates
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
We are happy to advise that we now have a brand new stove and oven in our kitchen for easy meal cooking on any rainy days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing