We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved this place, wish we stayed longer!”
Review of Brickendon Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brickendon Estate
Ranked #4 of 5 Longford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a great place to stay for families with kids and for animal lovers. We stayed in Sweetcorn cottage, very cozy, comfortable furniture, good beds. The cottage is quite big, there is enough space for a big family or two couples. We stayed here for two nights, the last two of our holiday before flying back, really wished we could stay longer!
When we arrived we were greeted by some chickens and their chicks, scratching around. Staff very warm and friendly, very helpful. Excellent kitchen with good supplies, even our breakfast was taken care of (fridge full of milk, jams, butter, orange juice, jars with muesli and several breakfast cereals, coffee and tea supplied as sugar, honey and peanut butter), gas bbq outside, but also enough tools (pots pans etc) inside to prepare a nice meal. Make sure you buy some fresh farm eggs (25c each)!
Of course we joined the feeding of the animals in the morning, kids absolutely loved it they could help feeding. Very interesting site, with lot of history. Beautiful gardens to stroll trough. Very peaceful in the evening, gorgeous views from veranda. Loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Sweetcorn cottage: two spacious bedrooms (first: double bed and one single bed; second...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tikitaka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Brickendon Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

This property is absolutely beautiful. For us, it is why we love Tasmania. A bit wild, rough, but beautiful. My boys LOVED the animals. We spent 2 days petting and running around after shep, ducks, chickens, and even the cat that liked to visit our cabin. Excellent views off our back porch too, and a nice little back yard. We stayed in the Corn cabin which is a 2 bedroom. As a mom there are just a couple things I wanted to note for other moms, although they weren't by any means huge problems. The walls in this cabin are not solid. Usually we get 2 bedrooms so my husband and I can stay up after we put them to bed and not have to worry about waking them. The walls here are basically boards with wide gaps, so light and sound go right through - so it's not actually really like a separate room. Also, the cabins are close together and have thin walls, so keep your fingers crossed you have quiet neighbors. We actually had to go out and tell our neighbors who were talking loudly outside, that they kept waking up the baby and to please be more quiet. I was embarrassed but nobody wants a sleepy baby to keep crying! The only other thing was that the water was slightly tinted, so i was a little unsure of giving it to the kids to drink. ? Could be normal? Expect cozy but slightly rustic and you'll be happy.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank l2trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We recently spent a night in Pumpkin Cottage. After years of driving past Brickendon , my partner booked us in for a night here instead of staying in Launceston as we usually do when we need a bed in the north of the state.
We loved it. The cottage is cute, comfortable, and cosy- the view from the back verandah across the fields is stunning. We sat out there before dinner, just enjoying "being ". We were pleased that we had brought food to cook with us and didnt have to go back to Longford to eat.
We explored the farm - the buildings and surrounds.... and the next morning wandered round the gardens at the Main House. Wonderful. We are planning a return visit - two nights at least!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We have stayed 3 times already over the past 2 years - Pumpkin cottage once and Coachmans twice. We have loved every minute of it. We come to relax, not answer phones and take in the beauty that is provided for us. Louise is just wonderful and both cottages are very different to each other but we love them both. We found the cottages to be very clean and welcoming. We loved the farm and the huge rabbit. We will definitely return. Thank you for letting us share your home

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenslanders0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed in the Gardeners Cottage which was wonderful. However, pretty much everything else was closed at the farm. If you want to taste farm living this is perfect, but dont expect anything more than a nice cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCrawford1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brickarc, Owner at Brickendon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

We love having guest during the winter months and we often find them curled up in front of the fire, just enjoying the atmoshphere.
We have our Heritage Gardens and Farm Village open however as we are a temperate climate, the gardens are not in bloom but we do have some amazing trees that are over 180 years old.
The Farm Village has a guide map so you can wander and explore the convict built buildings at your leisure and you will quite often have it to yourselves - what a change from a hectic city life !
We feed the farm animals each morning and guests are welcome to join in.
Reception during winter is located at the Main House where we can be contacted in person or by phone at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Our family of 4, being one child aged 5 and the other 14 yrs enjoyed everyhting about Brickendon. I knew exactly what we wanted, a farm stay with animals that you could feed, a log cabin with a cosy feel and a log fire. Easy enough to find you would think in Tasmania, but after alot of research Brickendon was the only one that sounded perfect for us and it definately didn't disappoint. When we arrived, the owner was not there to greet us, instead she left a lovely note explaining exactly how to get to our cabin and a few details about how to get around Brickendon. When inside there were breakfast provisions for the next morning homemade biscuits, bread,2 types of jam, butter, orange juice, butter, milk, museli, weetbix, tea coffee and sugar. The fire was prepared with kindling, firelighters and wood with matches on hand so it could be started easily whenever we were ready. Additional firewood was stored just outside the back door within easy reach. One bedroom contained a bunk bed and double size bed with a lovely tin trunk full of toys and oil filled heater. The main bedroom contained a queen and single bed. The lounge had a small TV and DVD player with a selection of DVD's. The farm animals included sheep with a few lambs, a couple of goats, chickens, turkeys, a rabbit, a pig, a couple of donkeys, and cows.
We would definately visit again, loved it all, very historic and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We stayed here with our race team in 'Sweetcorn Cottage" for three nights. Very helpful and freindly hosts. Our cottage was one of the larger on the estate with two bedrooms which can sleep 7 with another two if required on the sofa bed in the lounge. The lounge had a great open fire and the kitchen fully stocked with homemade jams and biscuits, fresh juice and bread with cereals for breakfast. They also supplied a barbeque which we used one night for dinner. Really rustic and beautiful with a verandah looking out over the fields. Wooden rustic walls with hessian wallpaper making you feel that you have stepped back in time. The remainder of the property with the old grainery and barn, chapel etc also charming. This estate would be great for holding a wedding, something that Brickendon holds quite often I hear. Many animals roaming the grounds, from Turkey's. chooks, donkeys and horses, sheep and a pig, not to mention the resident cat Moddy that took our cittage as home. Nothing quite so nice as to come home from a day car racing than to light the open fire, cook tea on the barbeque and stove and sit back on the verandah watching the beautiful sunset with a cold drink.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o5brock2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
11.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,528 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#6 of 30 in Launceston
745 reviews
1.3 mi away
Woolmers Estate
Woolmers Estate
#2 of 3 in Longford
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Racecourse Inn
The Racecourse Inn
#2 of 5 in Longford
40 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aggie's Bed and Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickendon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickendon Estate

Address: Wellington Street, Longford, Tasmania 7301, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Longford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Longford
Price Range: £110 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickendon Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brickendon is a magnificent family owned farming estate offering a unique insight into Australia's colonial history. With numerous convict built farm buildings, beautiful heritage gardens surrounding the main Georgian homestead, friendly farm animals, 3km of river frontage and delightful self contained historic and farm cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Brickendon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickendon Estate Longford, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing