We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
41
21
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
21
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm animals orange juice gardeners cottage fresh eggs worth a visit archer family pumpkin bedroom jam stories wood accommodation supplies baby pig house delight
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This property is absolutely beautiful. For us, it is why we love Tasmania. A bit wild, rough, but beautiful. My boys LOVED the animals. We spent 2 days petting and running around after shep, ducks, chickens, and even the cat that liked to visit our cabin. Excellent views off our back porch too, and a nice little back yard. We stayed in the Corn cabin which is a 2 bedroom. As a mom there are just a couple things I wanted to note for other moms, although they weren't by any means huge problems. The walls in this cabin are not solid. Usually we get 2 bedrooms so my husband and I can stay up after we put them to bed and not have to worry about waking them. The walls here are basically boards with wide gaps, so light and sound go right through - so it's not actually really like a separate room. Also, the cabins are close together and have thin walls, so keep your fingers crossed you have quiet neighbors. We actually had to go out and tell our neighbors who were talking loudly outside, that they kept waking up the baby and to please be more quiet. I was embarrassed but nobody wants a sleepy baby to keep crying! The only other thing was that the water was slightly tinted, so i was a little unsure of giving it to the kids to drink. ? Could be normal? Expect cozy but slightly rustic and you'll be happy.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank l2trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We recently spent a night in Pumpkin Cottage. After years of driving past Brickendon , my partner booked us in for a night here instead of staying in Launceston as we usually do when we need a bed in the north of the state.
We loved it. The cottage is cute, comfortable, and cosy- the view from the back verandah across the fields is stunning. We sat out there before dinner, just enjoying "being ". We were pleased that we had brought food to cook with us and didnt have to go back to Longford to eat.
We explored the farm - the buildings and surrounds.... and the next morning wandered round the gardens at the Main House. Wonderful. We are planning a return visit - two nights at least!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We have stayed 3 times already over the past 2 years - Pumpkin cottage once and Coachmans twice. We have loved every minute of it. We come to relax, not answer phones and take in the beauty that is provided for us. Louise is just wonderful and both cottages are very different to each other but we love them both. We found the cottages to be very clean and welcoming. We loved the farm and the huge rabbit. We will definitely return. Thank you for letting us share your home

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenslanders0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed in the Gardeners Cottage which was wonderful. However, pretty much everything else was closed at the farm. If you want to taste farm living this is perfect, but dont expect anything more than a nice cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCrawford1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brickarc, Owner at Brickendon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

We love having guest during the winter months and we often find them curled up in front of the fire, just enjoying the atmoshphere.
We have our Heritage Gardens and Farm Village open however as we are a temperate climate, the gardens are not in bloom but we do have some amazing trees that are over 180 years old.
The Farm Village has a guide map so you can wander and explore the convict built buildings at your leisure and you will quite often have it to yourselves - what a change from a hectic city life !
We feed the farm animals each morning and guests are welcome to join in.
Reception during winter is located at the Main House where we can be contacted in person or by phone at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Our family of 4, being one child aged 5 and the other 14 yrs enjoyed everyhting about Brickendon. I knew exactly what we wanted, a farm stay with animals that you could feed, a log cabin with a cosy feel and a log fire. Easy enough to find you would think in Tasmania, but after alot of research Brickendon was the only one that sounded perfect for us and it definately didn't disappoint. When we arrived, the owner was not there to greet us, instead she left a lovely note explaining exactly how to get to our cabin and a few details about how to get around Brickendon. When inside there were breakfast provisions for the next morning homemade biscuits, bread,2 types of jam, butter, orange juice, butter, milk, museli, weetbix, tea coffee and sugar. The fire was prepared with kindling, firelighters and wood with matches on hand so it could be started easily whenever we were ready. Additional firewood was stored just outside the back door within easy reach. One bedroom contained a bunk bed and double size bed with a lovely tin trunk full of toys and oil filled heater. The main bedroom contained a queen and single bed. The lounge had a small TV and DVD player with a selection of DVD's. The farm animals included sheep with a few lambs, a couple of goats, chickens, turkeys, a rabbit, a pig, a couple of donkeys, and cows.
We would definately visit again, loved it all, very historic and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews