We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Must do Marakoopa!

Such a beautiful and unique cave. Well worth a visit. Guides were very informative and the groups... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
MazzamcBrisbane
,
Narangba, Australia
via mobile
Great Cathedral and Glow-worms Tour

This Great Cathedral and Glow-worms Tour would be the second tour you attend if planning all 3... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2021
CodyMav
,
Gold Coast, Australia
Read all 306 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Mole Creek
from US$94.21
More Info
from US$104.51
More Info
from US$312.77
More Info
from US$109.28
More Info
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
188
98
15
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
98
15
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms mole ticket office ranger station we arrived early take pictures beautiful formations king solomon great cathedral great tour degrees inside rainy day informative guide his knowledge an amazing experience well worth the visit minute tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We visited Marakoopa Cave on our drive from Sheffield to Cradle Mountain. It was a bit of a lucky dip time-wise but we were extremely happy to have a personal tour for two of Marakoopa with Aaron, a passionate Mole Creek Caves tour guide. There are two tour guided options at Marakoopa - Underground Rivers and Glow-worms or the Great Cathedral and Glow-worms Tour. We parked in the visitor centre carpark and took the 10min Fern Glade Walk up to the assembly point. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and the walk through our geological history. The crystalline formations were magnificent and the glow worms (aka lava) were evident. A thoroughly fascinating and informative tour!
Notes:
You can park and walk to the cave via the Fern Glade Walk or drive to the tour assembly point
Amenities are located at the visitor centre
Admission charges help fund maintenance, ground improvement and general upkeep

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank JMR926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

This is the bigger of the two caves. With heaps of steps. Should be fine for everyone.

The guide didn't explain much about formation in this cave. The guide at the other smaller cave was much better at explaining it.

At the entrance there's a section with glow worms, but photography not allowed as they're sensitive to lights (other parts of the caves are ok to photograph)

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank RyanS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We had planned on hiking to some falls this day but it was raining so the car was a good alternative. You buy your ticket at a visitor center then either walk or drive to the cave. It is pretty chilling in the cave so wear a coat. Our guide was just average and could have been better. It was something to see once.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Our guide (Dave) was calm - always good, in a cave - enthusiastic and knowledgeable. There were 31 people in our group but we were all able to hear and see the wonders in the depths of the cave. The glow worms glowed; the cave formations were sensational; the time went by very quickly. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank 647margueriteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Tours are on the hour, check times. Duration is a bit more than an hour, so getting to King Solomon's Cave could be tight. About 0 minute walk from ticket office to upper car park just before cave is very pretty.
Tour guide was very knowledgeable, both of cave formation and local history plus the other factors that influence cave development.
Constant 9C temperature, so dress appropriately.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Becks1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews