We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding flourless mud cake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mole Creek
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had lunch in the cafe/restaurant here after visiting Solomon's Cave (definitely worth a visit). The service was uneven - slow, even though the place was almost empty, and dirty dishes left on empty tables. But all was forgiven when the truly exceptional Flourless Mud Cake arrived, accompanied by chocolate sauce and a little pot of very indulgent cream. It's worth a detour - a long detour - for a dessert this good. I would rate it one of the best I've ever had.

I digress - but I fully agree with the previous reviewer on how bad Agoda is: avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Annerly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Mole Creek Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Mole Creek Guest House was excellent. We found the owners very helpful and they made sure our stay was great, This place has beautiful gardens with a creek at the back which has platypus living there. It is well located for a day trip to Cradle Mountain and Deloraine is close by. The restaurant food was excellent as was the breakfast (included in price). It was also very quiet which we liked. I would recommend this guest house to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked through Agoda, not a service I ever intend to use again. We had to cancel the first night and although Agoda promise free cancellation if 48 hours notice is given, in practice it is rarely possible to get hold of them when travelling and our host was unable to contact them for us. I have since seen in reviews that up to 24 minutes on the phone may be required.
Ownership changed hands last October and the young couple who run it now were pleasant and welcoming but have much to learn.
They gave us a family suite (Alice's room) taking us back to a former age which was fine except for shallow steps between each room proved a hazard on a number of occasions. We did not try out the children's beds which were iron framed a reminder of childhood.. Renovation work was in progress and we met a delightful ex Queenslander who was in charge who remarked that there was plenty to do.
The refrigerator in our room needed defrosting and there was no milk of any kind to make a cup of tea in the morning. We had not been informed that we should have asked for milk on the Private side. (Why have a fridge?) On the first morning we paid $41 our breakfast which was average and poor value including a pot of tea and which was average and poor value costing $41 for the two of us; on the second morning we left early and had a much better breakfast in the House of Anvers Chocolate factory at Latrobe with superb hot chocolate. The bill was just $40.
The restaurant is not currently open so we had our evening meal at the nearby hotel which together with another Mole Creek B&B will be providing stiff competition.
This establishment has a lovely garden and Mole Creek is an excellent centre for the nearby caves, the Honey shop at Chudleigh and the animal sanctuary. We hope that the new proprietors will make rapid progress and learn their lessons as we have done over Agoda!
We wish them well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SergeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights shortly after New Year's Eve. The guesthouse had been recommended by a friend who had stayed here a couple of years earlier.

Positives: friendly hosts, clean rooms, quiet and peaceful location, beautiful garden with a resident Platypus! (we were lucky enough to see him for about half an hour at the end of the day - amazing).

Areas for improvement: rooms were a little tired and old fashioned, breakfast whilst nice was inconsistent; one morning beautiful breakfasts were made to order whilst the next day it was a fairly standard buffet. We cannot comment on the on-site cafe or restaurant as they were closed whilst we were there which was disappointing (due to staff shortages/illness).

All in all a pleasant guest house, but not the best we have stayed in. If the breakfast on the second day had been as good as the first, and if the on-site cafe and restaurant had been open, it might have pushed my review to a 4/5.

Mole creek itself: a lovely quiet little village. The local pub served good traditional pub food. The first afternoon we were there we went on a local walk which was very pretty, and the following day we drove to Cradle Mountain (approx 90 mins by car, but then need to leave your car at the rangers hut, buy the entry ticket, and get a shuttle bus - so allow 2 hours). On leaving to our next location we visited the local Tasmanian Devil Wildlife sanctuary which was mixed - we enjoyed feeding the kangaroos and holding a wombat, and the staff were very friendly and enthusiastic, but we felt it was a little run down.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank londongirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had a three night stay and very much enjoyed the olde worlde atmosphere of the guesthouse. The breakfast in the cafe was very good and we saw the platypus in the creek which was a huge bonus. We found the room quite charming, the bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and the linen looked fine to us. The new managers were pleasant and friendly. Our only advice to future guests would be to check if the restaurant is serving guests dinner. The first night they did and we had a very nice meal but we were caught out the next two nights. This turned out to be an opportunity to try the Deloraine Hotel where we had a terrific meal. It was busy, no doubt because the food is really good! If you come here, we recommend you visit the honey place in Chudleigh and do some of the excellent walks in the area. Arum Cliffs and Devils Gullet are easy walks and worth the time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welovenewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Previous reviews on this site give no indication of the deterioration this property has experienced. Rooms are tired, linen shabby and current proprietors lack understanding of customer service. Website promised more than what was delivered.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorraine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed for a couple of days here. A delightful establishment. Historic, comfy,friendly,comfortable and the food is superb. Unusual breakfast choices and excellent evening menu. Also has a nice wee gift shop. Well worth a visit if you ate in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binaduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mole Creek
24.1 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,007 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
16.7 mi away
Forest Walks Lodge
Forest Walks Lodge
#1 of 1 in Jackeys Marsh
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,369 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mole Creek Cabins
Mole Creek Cabins
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mole Creek Hotel
Mole Creek Hotel
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mole Creek Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mole Creek Guesthouse

Address: 100 Pioneer Dr, Mole Creek, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Mole Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mole Creek
Price Range: £73 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mole Creek Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original bush-boarding house, this beautiful bed and breakfast offers the real Tasmanian country experience. Nestled at the foothills of the Great Western Tiers and the gateway to Cradle Mountain, take in the most gorgeous valley in Tassie and enjoy fine food and warm hospitality in the way life was meant to be. Creekside garden, duck bill platypus, lovely en-suite rooms, delicious country food and free WiFi go to make this an unforgettable stay in rural Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mole Creek Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mole Creek Guesthouse Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing