We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Explorers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Explorers Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

What a delightful stay we had at this beautiful home. The hosts were fabulous with an easy-going manner. My only warning is that our room was located up a long flight of stairs which made carrying several heavy suitcases (our fault) a bit tricky. If climbing is a problem for you, perhaps ask if there is a room on the ground floor. All-in-all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liztas, Owner at Explorers Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review about our lodge and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
A few points about the staircase for other possible guests:
1. It is only one storey up.
2. It is of regular width with railings on either side and a landing three quarters up.
3. There is always someone to assist with bags, no matter how heavy! Don’t be shy to ask.
4. We do find that these days most guests travel light, even in winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My daughters and I had gathered for my Dad's 80th birthday and stayed in the self-contained accommodation. It was lovely! Master bedroom (and bed) is huge and the extra bedroom provided more than enough room for the four of us. We had our own lovely sunroom with a little balcony overlooking the pretty gardens. Liz and Nigel were most accommodating in allowing a small gathering for Dad's birthday lunch. We utilized the gorgeous sunroom and gardens and had a perfect day. Just be aware of any noises you make later in the evenings, as it can be heard by everyone!

Room Tip: Self contained accommodation has the advantage of sunroom and balcony overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liztas, Owner at Explorers Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Many thanks for your report back on the Tasman Unit. It was a compliment to host your family’s second visit and we are pleased that you enjoyed the garden and the rooms.
There is a soundproof fire door between the unit and the B&B section which was inadvertently left open during your visit. We do apologise for the disturbance that occurred and we will endeavour to keep it closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We needed somewhere close to the agrarian kitchen in Lachlan and chose Explorers Lodge. Our hosts were lovely and very helpful.

Clean, neat older style room, beautiful gardens and very good value for money for a comfy B&B and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooboyarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I can't recommend Explorers Lodge highly enough. We had the Balcony En Suite B & B accommodation.
The sun room, gardens and lounge area with complimentary Port were much appreciated.
Breakfast was especially enjoyable with fresh fruit and home cooked bread to die for.
New Norfolk is such a pretty place and so close to Mt Field National Park, so many things to do and see. Unfortunately, I pulled a muscle in my back on the second day and had to return to bed for the afternoon. Our hosts Liz and Nigel were wonderful, providing me with heat packs and even crutches!!! Our lovely sunny room had balconies,TV and our own tea/coffee making facilities, so my enforced rest time was so much easier to bear. I hope to come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liztas, Owner at Explorers Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you very much, certainly appreciated. We were glad that we were able to help you out in a small way and enjoyed meeting the four of you. Hope to see all of you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

11/10 for hospitality - Liz and Nigel went out of their way to make us feel welcome, lent guide books and umbrellas and provided for us fussy Brits e.g. leaf tea and a teapot in our room!!

8/10 for cleanliness - room was clean but a little dusty

We thought the price was a little high (we stayed at Freycinet for similar price).

We recommend Explorers Lodge which is an ideal base to visit Hobart and surrounding area.

Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hathersage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Explorers Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
About time we replied!!

Tim and Deborah many thanks for your kind words and we take note of all you have written!
A point about the price: we are sure you must have had a very special rate at Freycinet Lodge as the full tariff for their cheaper accommodation is almost 3 times that of our rooms.
Although we rate our Lodge very highly, we do not aspire to compare ourselves with Freycinet Lodge!
We enjoyed having you to stay and hope you return to Tassie oneday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I'm a senior lady who prefers to travel solo. Tasmania is my passion, and I've been spending my annual vacations there for the past 8 years. I'm fussy about my accommodation, and although I have to holiday within a budget, I also like to be comfortable. The fact that I've returned to Explorers' Lodge for the past 4 years, says a great deal about the quality of this lovely B&B in New Norfolk. Over the years I've stayed in each of the four guest rooms, and one day plan to book the self-contained unit - except then I would miss the hearty breakfast served by hosts Liz and Nigel Ashby. Unlike many B&Bs who tell you breakfast is served strictly between 7.30am and 8.30am, and that's that, at Explorers' Lodge there is a degree of flexibility offered to travellers who might have to get away early, or who have arrived late the night before and don't want to front up too early the next morning. The rooms, and beds, are all very comfortable; all have ensuites, and one room has a bath as well. Another attraction is the lovely sunroom, that offers the facility of a refrigerator for guest use, and the sunken lounge/TV room - with a decanter of port for guests to help themselves. The garden, too, is a delight, and is also available for guest use. This B&B offers great value for money, and is a place where a traveller can truly relax and feel genuinely welcome.

Room Tip: It's best to speak to owners, or email them, with your requirements. If they can help you, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This B&B was located on wotif but I decided to phone ahead and see if I could book the room direct, was told the specific room was already booked, I queried that it was still available on the web site, was told that it wasn't, but could have another room at $10 more. decided to go back via web and booked it at original price, either owners were telling porky's or shifted other quests around, I have my suspicions!!! The room was small for a queen bed, did have a ensuite and continential breakfast. free port was offered. we retired to our room for an early night. I think that the B&B was over priced and would have thought $70 - $85 would be fair. the room had a strange smell, couldn't put my finger on it! The bed was comfy...but no room for suitcases.

Room Tip: choose a room with private bathroom, but this comes at a cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellejeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liztas, Owner at Explorers Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We had no ulterior motive and no clandestine plot was intended. This is not our nature. The other guests in the B&B section on Friday were staying with us for their fourth time, and in the room which they had booked months before. So nobody was “shifted around”. Another party had already booked the reviewer's room by telephone (half an hour before the reviewer’s call) but we did not register this on the internet soon enough. These people failed to arrive; we have since heard from them and they apologised for not cancelling. Had these guests arrived we would have given them the Balcony Room; this is our prerogative. We have the name and phone number if verification is needed.

The rubber covering on the flat roof adjacent to that room does sometimes emit a rubbery odour when rain is followed by warmer weather. We will try to devise a means of dealing with the matter. The large built-in cupboard in the room is recognised by Triple A ratings as suitable for luggage.

The guests who wrote the previous review on Tripadvisor stayed in the same room for two days. Their review indicates that they were satisfied with the room and that they appreciated the other facilities such as the large sitting room, sunroom, and the garden, all in a peaceful location.

All of our rooms have private bathrooms, including the room the reviewer occupied. We have 4 rooms in the B&B section: 2 small at $110 double and 2 larger at $125 double.

The price includes a substantial continental breakfast (with homemade bread), complimentary port and free wi-fi. There is more to an overnight stay than the size of a room. The quality of the mattress, the double pillows, the extra towels, the linen, hairdryer, electric blankets, heater and fan, soap and shampoo, as well as good quality toilet tissue all go towards a pleasant overnight stay. This would not be available at Pub rates: ($70- $85).

We regret that the reviewer was not pleased with what we offer. We take serious note of any dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
#6 of 12 in New Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Derwent Valley Resort
Derwent Valley Resort
#10 of 12 in New Norfolk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Colony Inn B&B
Old Colony Inn B&B
#3 of 12 in New Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Lodge

Property: Explorers Lodge
Address: 105 Derwent Tce, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Explorers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Lodge is a charming New England style house set in lovely gardens in a quiet area of New Norfolk only 30 minutes from Hobart. The lodge offers a comfortable and affordable self catering apartment with a separate entrance, as well as four traditional Bed and Breakfast rooms in the main house. The self catering apartment has a king bed and a single bed in one ensuite bedroom and twin beds with a dedicated bathroom in the second bedroom. A sitting area with digital TV/DVD and an attached kitchenette, together with a small verandah (and a BBQ)which overlooks the garden and surrounding hills, make this the perfect place to relax after a day’s touring. The apartment is ideal for two people (one bedroom option) or for four people (two bedroom two bathroom option.) A welcoming breakfast basket with homemade bread is provided for the first morning.The bed and breakfast section has four ensuite rooms each with its own digital TV, with a choice of twin/king or queen beds. Tariff includes continental breakfast which is served in the baywindowed breakfast room or in the lovely sunroom. There is a large welcoming television lounge for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Explorers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Lodge New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing