We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Explorers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Explorers Lodge
Ranked #5 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Stayed in Explorer's Lodge for 3 nights, lovely rooms and fantastic brekkie, we both got a cooked breakfast on our last day. Plenty to see in the New Norfolk area, the owners were too helpful to be honest and took quite a bit of our time telling us where to visit! Apart from that, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed with 3 adult daughters over new year. Liz and Nigel were so welcoming and made us all feel very at home. It was like staying with friends but in such a clever way that you still had your privacy. I don't know how they managed it. Guests have use of a fridge a large sitting room with TV and DVD player, and a slightly cold outdoor swimming pool. Rooms tea and coffee. Low key breakfast. We had a BBQ on new years eve which was fun. It's a bit of a walk to any restaurants but do able. Liz and Nigel very knowledgable, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

My wife and I just left Tasmania and we loved it. We tried to pick a B&B that was outside Hobart and away from the hustle of the city - we found the perfect one in New Norfolk at Explorers Lodge. The B&B is on a quiet street close to the Derwent River - quite close to the Mt Field park. It is a great jumping off point for exploring the park and all that wild Tasmania has to offer. The days we spent in and around the park, which is a short drive from New Norfolk, were amazing - dry fly fishing for Tasmania's native Brown trout, seeing a platypus, pademelons, and lots of beautiful birds have us wanting to go back! The B&B is set in an old home that was built for executives of the local paper mill and it is very welcoming. Nothing extravagant just relaxing - from its gardens to the sitting rooms to the rooms themselves. The very best part of the stay had to be the hosts - Liz and Nigel made us feel like family while there - we truly did not want to leave. Liz is a real sweetheart and Nigel is a true gentleman. If you are interested in trout fishing, I am sure he will help point you to the trout waters as he did for me. If you want to explore the World Heritage wilderness or Mt Field River Route I suggest this as your home base.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbuffTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We satyed 5 nights at Explorers' Lodge in New Norfolk, a great location from which to visit the surrounding areas. Explorers' Lodge is comfortable, friendly and the owners, Nigel and Liz are full of knowledge and enthusiasm about the area. We found it lovely and peaceful and appreciated the homemade bread, museli and jams available for breakfast, and also the yummy Tassie honey. The Mount Field National Park is not to be missed, magnificient swamp gums, Russel Falls and lake Dobson. Strathgordon and Mount Anne, on the edge of the Southwest National Park was also a highlight; stunning views from Mt.Anne and it was a bonus to have the place to ourselves - amazing to have this relatively unspoiled wilderness just an easy drive away. There is just so much to do; as well as being close to Hobart, there are lots of other interesting places within easy driving distance. Would recommend 3 days in New Norfolk. We definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The minute I arrived, I was reminded of previous holidays in England, and of charming, English cottages that I've been to. Pretty as a picture..

From there, one could drive easily to Mt. Field National Park, which is not to be missed - great hikes with wonderful views of the lakes.

If you are looking for a nice B&B, then this is the place for you. The place was quiet when we were there, and we had the refreshing pool in the garden to ourselves at the end of the day when we came back hot and tired from the hike, surrounded by a pretty garden.

Breakfast, although simple, was nicely laid out, with a view looking out from the bay window. The lovely hosts can make it a point to schedule the timings of the guests breakfasts so that there would not be a clash with others if one prefers it that way.

At nights,one can take a walk or drive to the local pub and have fish and chips, over looking the river.

Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed the one night at Explorers Lodge (in room 4) and would have liked to have stayed more. The room had a very comfortable bed and access to two balconies. The continental breakfast was good and we liked the visitors lounge area, which had an open fireplace and complimentary sherry. The hosts are very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LookingToUnwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Overall experience at Explorer's was ok - good location in terms of visiting the surrounds - Mt Field National Park was the highlight.
Attentive hosts - overly at some stages - however it was clearly their intention to ensure the guests were comfortable, knew they were welcome to use the facilities and had sufficient information to enjoy the area.
Room was clean although there were a few cobwebs about, the ensuite was functional - had a clinical rather than warm feel to it, the breakfast was basic but more than sufficient, open fire worked well....a bit more attention to detail and this could be a great B&B as the hosts clearly enjoy what they do.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Insect_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Norfolk
0.6 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
80 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
#6 of 12 in New Norfolk
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Lodge

Property: Explorers Lodge
Address: 105 Derwent Tce, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Explorers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Lodge is a charming New England style house set in lovely gardens in a quiet area of New Norfolk only 30 minutes from Hobart. The lodge offers a comfortable and affordable self catering apartment with a separate entrance, as well as four traditional Bed and Breakfast rooms in the main house. The self catering apartment has a king bed and a single bed in one ensuite bedroom and twin beds with a dedicated bathroom in the second bedroom. A sitting area with digital TV/DVD and an attached kitchenette, together with a small verandah (and a BBQ)which overlooks the garden and surrounding hills, make this the perfect place to relax after a day’s touring. The apartment is ideal for two people (one bedroom option) or for four people (two bedroom two bathroom option.) A welcoming breakfast basket with homemade bread is provided for the first morning.The bed and breakfast section has four ensuite rooms each with its own digital TV, with a choice of twin/king or queen beds. Tariff includes continental breakfast which is served in the baywindowed breakfast room or in the lovely sunroom. There is a large welcoming television lounge for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Explorers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Lodge New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing