We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Be Scared Off, It's Good!”
Review of Junction Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Junction Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Be Scared Off, It's Good!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

As we didn't book sufficiently early, this hotel was the closest we could find to Hobart in early January. Some reviews I read about the manager, Tim, were quite offputting. Tim might well come across as abrupt to some people (can't we all?), but I found him to be very hospitable & a really interesting individual. Just ask him about some of the flags flying around the motel or better still, ask him about Vietnam (the beautiful country, not the pointless war).

The motel itself is of maybe a 1950s vintage. The dining room has been completely renovated & is a thing to behold. The rooms are clean, comfortable & it appears that they are being renovated, bit by bit, as budget allows. eg the sink unit in our bathroom had been upgraded to a modern unit. The carpets & paint in our room were immaculate. I found the beds a bit hard, but my wife would say that I make this complaint about just about any motel, anywhere on the planet.

New Norfolk is a nice little town & if you visit New Norfolk you must stop in for a drink & a feed at The Bush Inn. So much history & beautiful home cooked style meals. Probably the best food we ate in Tassie. We didn't eat at the Junction Motel's restaurant (only because we fell madly in love with the Bush Inn), but we will next time we stay. The menu looked great!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThirstyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
many thanks ...Hmm I think... Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    35
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
68
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stopped here for one night on the way through. Firstly Tim, the owner was very knowledgable and helpful with suggestions on places to see and things to do. On his recommendation we went to the Salmon Ponds which were breathtaking, very glad he told us to go or we might have missed it.

Our room on the ground level directly facing the entrance was small but clean and had all the mod cons, minibar, TV etc. It was also extremely quiet despite it looking near capacity and being in close proximity to two busy roads. The only reason I couldn't give full 5 stars was the bed was very bad, the springs were prominent and whole bed saggy. My husband has a slipped disc and had to sleep on the floor.

In hindsight I should have said something but it was very late. I would imagine it's an isolated problem with one specific room/bed which is why I would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownVillaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hi there, many thanks for your kind words. we try hard to give our guests value,service and a descent room for a far price. Im would love to know what room were you in ? I will replace the bed. There they are only new too ! I never sleep in them..so your feed back is great...Fix now no stress later is my thing. Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to our Beautiful Island , we do appreciate your business from our northern cousins on the "Big Island"
cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Been there during X'mas busy time. Hotel owner Tim was truly helpful and friendly all the time, he got so much passion running the place, and you can't get it wrong with such owner.
Rooms are nice and tidy, there are countless information booklet around the place, and if you are still confused, Tim and the staff are always more than welcome to give you a hand for trip advise, so here is a big hand for you Tim! Thanks! You are the star in our Tassie trip!
Ambrose L

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambrose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thanks Ambrose you can come back again anytime ! Its your life when you run a motel , great people make for good times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2013

It was getting towards the end of my holiday and it was peak season in Tasmania. I was directed by a local to this motel and was pleasantly surprised. Staff were courteous and helpful and the accomodation was very reasonably priced. The buffet dinner was also exceptoonal value at $25 for a three course good qulity buffet meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Great -many thanks for your reveiw. yes the Carvery - Buffet is great value and Krisnas food is simple, packed full of flovour, locally grown and being able to help yourself to what you want when you want is a great after a few days on the road . Once again thanks for your kind words
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I was amazed at the standard of this motel. Rooms are gorgeous and the food served in the restaurant was the best. The staff were superb and Tim the owner does a lot to make sure guests are happy. New Norfolk is a convenient location to stay overnight if you are travelling to Hobart.

Room Tip: I didnt see a pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
A lot of people say that !! Amazed being such a daggy old style looking motel from out side the entrance to entering into quirky rooms and restaurant areas. After cooking for 30 odd years its great to have an unpretenious restaurant serving real food with flavour... being only 30 mins from Hobart we are now getting the "City Folk" travelling up the river for Dinner
Once again many thanks for your reveiw
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Excellent friendly and helpful staff in the motel. Rooms comfortable and good value for money. Food and service in the restaurant absolutely AMAZING!
Would recommend it to anyone going to or staying in Hobart.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Many thanks for your reveiw on us at the Junction, we do try hard to consitantly maintain a value for money and quality service experience. We aint the Hilton but we try to do the best with what we have. This year we are retiling all Bathrooms areas in each of the 30 room, so hopefully next time when your "down in these parts" you will be able to see that we are at then
once again thanks for reveiwing the Junction
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We have stayed a few times now and find it a great place to stay. Clean rooms and the friendly owner Tim is very helpful. We have family not far away and this place is a great find as rooms are very affordable. Love the town itself great place for shopping, food and browsing for antiques.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thansk Ingrid on reveiwing us here at the Junction. yes New Norfolk is a very pretty town situated on the river Derwent, now with Redlands Estate opening to the public(original Convict built Estate of the valley) and being right next to the Salmon ponds its a going ahead place again ( 200 years its taken)...and yes thoooooooooose antique shops....thats why I be workin to the day I die..
Once again , many thanks for your reveiw
tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Norfolk
0.6 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
80 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.9 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derwent Valley Resort
Derwent Valley Resort
#10 of 12 in New Norfolk
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Colony Inn B&B
Old Colony Inn B&B
#3 of 12 in New Norfolk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Motel

Property: Junction Motel
Address: 50 Pioneer Avenue | Cnr Lyell Hwy & Pioneer Avenue, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Junction Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Junction... Where country vibe and prices- meets city service.. The Junction Motel is a clean, value for money 30 room, Motel and Function Centre situated in the picturesque town of New Norfolk, the gateway to the West Coast and Wilderness National Parks- Mt Field,Styx Valley and Lake Pedder.The "Best Food experience" awarding winning Agarian Kitchen is in Lachlan 10 mins away. Whilst also being just 30 minutes from Tasmania's capital city - Hobart or what the locals call Slobart. Also only 15 minutes away from the much controversial Mona Museum of Old and New Art at Moorilla Estate Vineyard (Berridale). Port Arthur and the HuonValley are about one and a half hours drive from New Norfolk.Lounge-Bar is only open Monday - Friday for HouseGuests and PreBooked Out side Guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Junction Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junction Motel New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing