We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very quaint!”
Review of Old Colony Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Colony Inn B&B
Ranked #5 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Some of the rooms that form the ground floor area of this lovely old Inn are dated to convict construction in 1815 and others also convict built in 1835.
There are artefacts from this time in Tasmanian history adorning the comfortable and warm dining area.

Lydia is an exceptional cook and the Menu is varied, very appetising and generous and delivered to your table by a very competent Alayna.

The rooms are large, clean and the décor speaks to the very charming decorative taste of Lydia, mine host.
There is complimentary sherry and port for the weary traveller in your room.
Thank you for a lovely two days!

Room Tip: Some of rooms have windows to the gardens and river views, magical..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

we had two nights at the inn wish we could have had longer. so comfortable, pleasant atmospher, gracious hosts with Lydia and James always willing to help with things. Lydia's cooking is superb .
we will going back to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife & I just had to make another return trip this year in June to this Wonderful B & B - was akin to be back home again .! To describe our stay second time round I/we will say was of outstanding quality right down to every last detail , yet again our hosts in Lydia & James gave us the warmest of welcomes throughout our entire stay . Yes in terms of the whole package inc. rooms , building {History}, antiques, gardens & of course Lydia’s stunning cuisine served in the restaurant were all of the highest order & quality . The Old Colony Inn is a must to stay at & enjoy when visiting Tasmania , you will not be disappointed . Smile Smile

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for a night but would have loved to stay longer. Lydia cooked us a superb meal after we called saying we wouldn't get there until 8pm & mentioned we hadn't had dinner.
The history of the buildings is preserved & complemented by the interior and the quirky furnishings. The antiques, crockery, photographs, historical accounts all add to a real experience. There are genuine convict shackles & balls with chains in the display - something we didn't even see at Port Arthur. We have stayed in other places after Old Colony Inn and they seemed sterile by comparison.
Don't be fooled however - the room was very comfortable & heating was on before we arrived. The bed was really comfortable (and we both suffer from bad backs if the bed is dodgy).
Breakfast was delivered exactly as we ordered and the fire was lit & roaring before we got to the dining room.
Lydia is a friendly, wonderful hostess & really helpful. Again a stark contrast to other establishments we have stayed in during our Tasmanian trip.
Places we stay in the future will have to meet these high standards because we will be comparing them to the wonderful experience at Old Colony Inn.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This Inn provides excellent value accommodation in an authentic historic building that was convict built. We stayed on a weeknight in August in the Courtney Suite, situated at the rear of the building. The Inn is easily located just below the shopping area of the town. Montagu Street is a main access road but where the Inn is located is on a lower level of the road with the heavier traffic on a higher road above it. Parking is on the street.
We were warmly welcomed, shown to our room where breakfast arrangements were discussed and entrance/exits shown. The Courtney Suite was attractively furnished with triple aspect windows. The drapes and blinds were of excellent quality. There were two easy chairs, a single and queen bed with a generous choice of pillows. We found the queen bed to be very comfortable and slept very well. This spacious suite was well heated. The bathroom had a reasonable size shower and the hot water arrived quickly and flow was very good. There was shelf storage for your toiletries. The heat lamps were excellent as was the steam extraction system. As other Reviewers have mentioned the port and sherry are complementary and welcome. Yes the tea cups are small but in keeping with the colonial décor.
The breakfast, that was included in the room charge, was prompt, hot, tasty and a big serving. It was served in the downstairs dining room that has a wood fire and was full of interesting historic memorabilia. In fact the entire downstairs has a wonderful antique collection spread over three rooms.
We were the only guests the night we stayed. We took a peep at the other two suites and they were equally attractive and well appointed. The short drive from New Norfolk to Hobart is easy and picturesque following the river.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtStarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife & I have just had a totally enjoyable stay at the Old Colony Inn B&B, staying for just over two weeks we can say that this B&B first & foremost gave us the most enjoyable holiday since our honeymoon .! :) :) The location is stunning & well situated [easy access for all, inc disabled], we can both attest to this B&B as we actually stayed an extra week than planned & were reluctant to leave as was of such a high standard of quality. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by our gracious hostess Lydia and felt immediately comfy & at home, our room was The Courtney suite which overlooked The Derwent River & within a short walk. bedding, linen, and all amenities were of a high standard with a finite attention to detail which surpassed our expectations at all levels, highly impressed as both room & whole Inn exulted in both character & old world charm. The breakfasts included in the most reasonable costing's were a treat , fully cooked with all the trimmings [Yummy]. The details are so important, & was humbled by, when Lydia & her husband James presented me with a birthday cake apropos of our evening meal on our first day there = a very nice thought & gesture. Regarding dining with a log fire, memorabilia & antiques surrounding you at all turns it was a pleasure as Lydia's cuisine was amongst the best we have eaten at reasonable cost yet moreover of a stunning flavour & quality [Better than many meals we have had at so called high-end restaurants]. Lydia also was very kind in sourcing ingredients for some specialty requests in meals inc venison, also prawns [Superb] etc., the regular bill of fare was of equal standard inc fine roasts, + of course a signature dish of eye fillet steak in which was the best steak we mutually enjoyed & agreed upon, all served with warm dinner rolls of coerce + an excellent selection of fine wines,beer, + soft drinks. The gardens were sheer serenity in the courtyard where spent allot of time also just soaking up the beauty,peace and quiet whilst having the uncommon privilege-nowadays to smoke with disturbing other guests at all. Interaction with Lydia and James was always welcomed, resulting many a nice conversation with such pleasant company including many of their local special friends - thank you as was a an extra pleasantry not expected. All in all to sum up, firstly we are already planning a return trip to The Old Colony which most should find to be a true hidden treasure as we most definitely did.! All that anyone could ask for is here & will happily recommend to one and all, A Must place to stay & enjoy, we know you will > for sure ..!! 10/10 M & V . :) :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Nicely painted up and new bathroom, but the cooked breakfast is no more.

The side tables were very dusty in the bedroom, and the bed, although looking luxurious with polyester silk sheets, was so uncomfortable, neither of us got much sleep. I think we may have had the same bed as CarolY!! I aslo wondered if the sheets were clean as the fitted sheet was not flattened and tucked in properly.

The plugin scented thing quickly caused me to reach for my Asthma puffer. Then I unplugged it and slept with my face close to the open window. It was quite a nauseating cheap smell.

Another worry for me in such an old building was the lack of a smoke alarm.

For the price, and we do go to many Tas B&B's, we expected more; it was way too high.

Room Tip: Choose one down the street if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2oldhobartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
#7 of 12 in New Norfolk
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Derwent Valley Resort
Derwent Valley Resort
#10 of 12 in New Norfolk
29 reviews
15.7 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 8 in New Norfolk
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colony Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn B&B

Address: 21 Montagu St, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range: £63 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Colony Inn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Old Colony Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Colony Inn B&B New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing